We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bizarre check out process” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sarann

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Sarann to your Saves list
The Sarann
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   95-96 Moo 3, Chaweng Noi Beach, Tambol Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 101 Hotels in Chaweng
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bizarre check out process”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at The Sarann for our honeymoon just a few weeks ago in the Jacuzzi suite. We were a bit underwhelmed. The location is nice, close to the beach. The drinks around the pool were reasonably priced and the restaurant was pretty good.
The checkout process is a bit strange. The man at the front desk made us wait at the desk so he could actually go and check the room for damages. He then asked for my credit card info again, although I had provided that at check in. The system seems outdated, they had physical files instead of electronic. I happened to glance down at our folder and saw that they had a photocopy of my credit card from check in. This made me very uneasy and I asked him to rip it up, I didn't want my credit card to be visible to anyone who was around the desk.
All in all, it was an okay stay.

Room Tip: Ask for Jacuzzi villas, more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    112
    32
    28
    10
See reviews for
29
144
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Sarann for 6 nights, for our honeymoon. We booked the Jacuzzi Villa, which was beautiful. Very clean, well maintained & luxurious! The Sarann is located on the cleaner part of Chaweng. Would recommend to stay here if you're looking at a cleaner, less crowded beach. You can rent a bike during your stay, which makes it simpler to travel around. There are lovely massage shacks on the beach. Getting a back massage by the sea is blissful! The breakfast spread was not very innovative though, not was the room service menu. Would not recommend the food there. Full marks otherwise.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in this resort. The location is not that good as you cannot swim in the beach its full of rocks. The pool is not that big compared to other resorts. The restaurant is not that good. An average stay to sum up our holiday stay in samui.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Sarann seems to be a once great place which has sort of lost it's luster. We arrived and were shown our jacuzzi suite room which matched the pictures and descriptions. The rooms are the open bungalow type, with a big jacuzzi tub and small terrace, large bed in the middle of the room and the open concept bathroom behind it. There is nothing disappointing about the room until we went for a walk then later in the evening we were sitting in the room and it started to stink of raw sewage. The smell just got worse and worse. I went down to reception to see about moving rooms. It's not really possible to leave doors/windows open without screens or mosquito nets (neither of which are in the room). After explaining the problem, they did agree to find another room. The staff was polite but not friendly, and it would almost seem like they knew that room had problems and just hope people don't complain. We moved rooms but were moved to the last row which backs on to the main street. There are cars, trucks and motorbikes travelling on it at all hours. On top of that it was raining and wet and would make the traffic even louder. The hotel is sandwiched between the ocean and the main road, so the 14 or so ocean view bungalows have a great view and no noise, the second row behind (which we were first located) has no view and no noise, the 3rd row of course has no view and road noise. If you are booking in a lower fee class, they you would have 50% chance or greater of getting a room that backs on to the road. The hotel did seem empty but yet they put us in a room which was much noisier then our original room. The 2nd night there was again a bit of the sewage smell starting to come into the room so this time we closed all the drains (sink and tubs), and covered the open ones with wet towels and it seemed to stop it. The rest of the time was uneventful but the first days really soured the mood. The staff was accommodating but seemed very cold, especially for Thailand. It seems the Sarann has lost a lot of what former glory and prestige it once had. The quiet location at the end of the beach is a big plus but there isn't much beach chairs or pool chairs if the hotel is busy. I don't usually write bad reviews after all a hotel is a hotel but the price point for this hotel leaves a lot to be improved upon. For starters if they know they have a sewage gas problem, have it properly fixed rather than passing off the rooms in hopes the guests don't say anything.

Room Tip: Room 214 has a problem with sewage smell entering the room. Rooms in the 300 block back on to the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We came here for a 3 nights stay. The rooms are well cleaned and maintained. The resto is not that big but stylish. The view from the swimming pool is good though. The location is not that bad, its not too far from amenities in the island which is helpful in any ways.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were there in Aug 2013 for 2 nights. We stayed in Jacuzzi Villa. Upon arrival at the hotel, we were greeted with friendly smiles. The staff brought us to the room (you actually need that as you might be lost) and explained each details of the facilities in the room. very good effort on that. We were very satisfied of the room size, very spacious, and the ambiance was very very cosy and romantic for 2. we had fun time in the Jacuzzi. Room was cleaned and polished too.

The only thing we were not happy was the breakfast. It was quite limited selection and same options repeated for 3 days in a row. I'm hopeful if the breakfast selection is improved, else this hotel will be the perfect place for romantic getaway!

Room Tip: Jacuzzi Villas on the ground floor is super nice, felt like you're entering your own house as yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Our ten night stay in October has lived up to expectations in every way. The Sarann delivers in a typically quiet, efficient and unassuming Thai manner, discreet, charming and smiley, nothing is too much trouble and the staff are a delight. Our sea front private pool Villa is perfect. Amazing view, lovely bedroom with comfortable king size bed, ensuite with shower and huge bath, additional sitting room, covered terrace and our own infinity pool. Very private and everything we had hoped for, excellent, thank you The Sarann. The location is ideal for Chaweng Noi beach with direct access and getting into town could not be easier, either by hotel minibuses or the abundant taxis passing by the main entrance. It is not until you start nit picking the very few minor faults such as no proper mirror in the room, or a lack of bedside table for morning coffee that you realise just how good The Sarann is and how unimportant such things are in the context of a superb Koh Samui experience that comes highly recommended. Thank you The Sarann, see you again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sarann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sarann

Address: 95-96 Moo 3, Chaweng Noi Beach, Tambol Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#24 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sarann 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sarann, Koh Samui is a sublime blend of luxury and nature where is located on the tip of the beautiful and serene Chaweng Noi Beach, just 20 minutes from Samui Int'l Airport. The short drive from the airport is a dazzling introduction to the eclectic spirit of Koh Samui, winding through small villages and passing through a lively emergent quarter, before arriving at the resort's scenic surroundings of a lush tropical forest backdrop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your The Sarann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sarann Hotel Chaweng
Sarann Hotel Chaweng
The Sarann Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sarann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.