We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sarann

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Sarann to your Saves list
The Sarann
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   95-96 Moo 3, Chaweng Noi Beach, Tambol Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Not in the crazy heart of chaweng, but easily accesible. Wonderful spa (and great deals) hubby and i got a 3 hr spa day each for a total of a liitle over $100. Not much of a beach which is unfortunate, but can easily rent a moped or take the hotel shuttle to town. Gorgeous huge rooms. Excellent breakfast and hotel restaurant with happy hour. Would definately stay again. Affordable too.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    111
    32
    28
    10
See reviews for
29
144
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Basically me & my partner stayed at this hotel at the very end of our holiday for a bit of luxury, in all fairness I did pay alot of money considering it is in Thailand for the Hotel for 3 days. But i thought, hey why not, a bit of luxury to the end of a fab holiday.

Well there were a few things about the Hotel which really annoyed me to be honest and was not very happy about.

Arrival and check in was fine, first impressions you think WOW very stunning and beautiful, and we stayed in the Jacuzzi Suite/Villa, we really loved the room, very large and spacious, massive bathroom, was pretty cool, and then the Jacuzzi was pretty cool. ALTHOUGH this was the biggest problem...

The Jacuzzi takes a while to fill up, so we pottered about, did bits and bobs until the Jacuzzi filled up, once we turned on the bubbles/pump the whole Jacuzzi filled up completely with lots and LOTS of black grimey dirt!!! There was loooads of it, I really am not kidding you it was a lot, me and my partner couldnt believe it! we emptied the jacuzzi out and filled it again, not wanting to be annoying moany guests we thought we'd give it another go, once it filled we tried again and again it did the same thing, just not as much this time. But still we were rather annoyed and called reception to come and have a look at it. It was an absolute nightmare to be honest, about 4 male workers, and 4 female workers including receptionist all came to the room eventually, prodding, and doing the exact same thing my partner was doing which was cleaning the pumps out with one of the hotel tooth brushes!! they were all in silence and my partner tried explaining again and again and again to each of the different people that kept coming to the room and none of them said a word, just stared at the tub! Was a joke, they didnt offer to upgrade us or anything, and must say they were coming in and out more people then different people for a good few hours! joke!

while they were in the room, we had a complaint also about the shower, it was a lovely stunning shower with an enormous shower head, really lovely, BUT when using it, it would take forever to wash as the water just went BOILING BURNING HOT TO FREEZING COLD on its own accord without touching it! i got very angry and just filled the bath up from then on! They tested it, but again lots of different people had to keep explaining it to and nothing happened about it AT ALL, they just forgot about it.

The hot tub/round bath in the bathroom was nice but was a bit grubby i think, had candle burn marks or funny coloured stains, and quite chipped and cracked rounnd the edges.

The pool is lovely, but it is very dangerous to get in and out of i think?! didnt have any steps, just had a strange lip that same up and could easily trip over?! really odd, no grippy floor. bit weird we thought.

The beach isnt where the hotel is, but that didnt really bother us, we spent most of our time chilling or traveling round really.

Is ok, but i dont think i would go here again really purely for this reason, as we were only there 3 nights and 2 days, as we left very early in the morning when we left, so was annoyed that 1 of those days was pretty much spent with lots of people coming in and out of the room. There really are some stunning places around, so i would look around if i were you, and i think that maybe some of the bad reviews you should listen to, to be honest as most are right, and AIR CON DID SMELL, was a very eggy smell, that was also very off putting.

SPA IS GREAT THOUGH!!!! IF THAT HELPS! HONEYMOON PACKAGE IS AWSOME!!!!!

BREAKFAST IS FINE.

Was quite dissapointed which is a real shame.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

but it could be if it makes improvements. Positives: a very good room rate with free upgrades to two Jacuzzi Suites for 5 nights over the New Year holiday. Access to the beach through Restaurant Buco next door. Privacy in very spacious, well-designed suite layouts/floorplans. Child-friendly staff. Negatives: A really lousy breakfast--they provide a wide variety of foods but it's all pretty much at the fast-food/take out level of quality: buy it from Tesco, slap it on a tray, serve it to the guests. This is a hotel that has prioritized quantity over quality. This all-you-can-eat supermarket-food approach was applied to the mandatory New Year's Eve Gala Dinner, a very sad affair where seafood, sushi and Thai curries were served as if for 20 bus loads of tourists, definitely not fine dining, more like KFC serving seafood and sushi... simply not appealing. Additional negatives included poor housekeeping, we were never sure if we would get fresh towels even as our old ones would be removed. Over five nights, my room might have been swept once. Staff are friendly but this masks a consistent failure to follow-through. I asked for an airport transfer three times and the front desk left me on my departure date frantically waiting for an outside taxi because no one had actually bothered to do anything with my requests. And finally, and most importantly: while nice, the hotel's pool is a death trap: the underwater electrical lights are hanging loosely from their sockets, the stone tiles around the pool get slippery and when a guest falls, there are no staff who offer assistance. Beware.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The hotel was spectacular and very relaxing. It is however a little expensive but the service does compensates. For example, they forgot to collect us from the airport so as a compensation, they upgraded us to a jacuzzi suite. We really enjoyed our stay there but it is a little far out from the main attractions of koh samui.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwanza Region, Tanzania
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is situated right at the southern end of Chaweng beach where it runs into a headland. Although it is somewhat away from the big hotels on Chaweng beach, it provides a great jumping off point for leisurely up-and back beach bar crawls, with plenty of places to stop off, eat or drink on the way.
My wife and I took a jacuzzi villa room on the inshore side as no beachfront rooms were available - the latter looked fabulous. Nevertheless, the room was very pleasant and well-appointed, with a very cool colonial-tropical style. The enclosed outdoor terrace was a very nice private place to sit and enjoy a cool drink - although see the tip below!.
The villas are quite crammed into what is a fairly constricted piece of land but somehow the luxuriant vegetation offset that downside.
The food and wines in the restaurant were excellent and the whole staff from top to bottom were among the friendliest we have ever encountered.

Room Tip: If outside on private terrace at night without much clothing, be aware that you can be easily overse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Oceanfront Pool Villa I stayed was amazing. It was one of the best ones I've ever stayed and given the price I've paid for, it was out of my expectation. Of course you cannot expect everything 5-star but the sea view was magnificent, albeit the beach in front was filled with rocks not sands, but this was acceptable.

The "mini" living room was separated from the bedroom, which means you need to go pass 2 doors via outdoor to get there thus it was rarely used as you got another TV in the bedroom anyway.

Location: Perfect for those who wants somewhere quiet but not too remote. It's about 10 mins drive from Chaweng beach.

Swimming Pool: Great sea view. Whilst it was not a mega one, the size was OK and it should be good enough for most people.

Breakfast: Not a lot of choices and I started to get bored with the same food every day. Fried eggs/omelet only available on request which should be told to guests in advance upon sitting.

Services: Overall OK but they sometimes missed the "tiny details" e.g. lights in my room were not working when arrived, but they were able to fix it quickly. Out of my expectation, the private villa dinner I requested was very well organised and all my "additional requests" were very carefully looked after. The price was very reasonable and I recommend to those who want to propose/celebrate anniversaries with their significant others.

WiFi: Agree with others that it was terrible. They need to put it on #1 priority to improve.

P.S. Dr Frog was quite walkable (10 mins walk from hotel) but quite dangerous to me when I did so in the dark along the hard shoulder of a main road...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We really enjoyed staying there, the room was very big. It has a small deck with a table and chairs.
We were there only a few days.

Things to do;
1) Pool; It is very small. It's an infinity pool, it looks nice from the dining area.
2) Beach, it's not in front of hotel. You would have to walk down about 10-15 minutes to enjoy the beach. There are rocks and a cliff in front of the hotel.


Vibe;
Not sure how to explain this, it's was a bit uptight for us. Food was good, they have both western and Thai. It's not far from Chawaeng beach. You can walk to, but it was very crowded.
We enjoyed driving around the island, it takes about 1:30 hours if not stopping. We stopped at lookouts, Hin Ta Hin Yai, Shopping and tried local food. It made the trip different.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sarann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sarann

Address: 95-96 Moo 3, Chaweng Noi Beach, Tambol Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#24 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sarann 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sarann, Koh Samui is a sublime blend of luxury and nature where is located on the tip of the beautiful and serene Chaweng Noi Beach, just 20 minutes from Samui Int'l Airport. The short drive from the airport is a dazzling introduction to the eclectic spirit of Koh Samui, winding through small villages and passing through a lively emergent quarter, before arriving at the resort's scenic surroundings of a lush tropical forest backdrop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Sarann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sarann Hotel Chaweng
Sarann Hotel Chaweng
The Sarann Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sarann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.