We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but worth it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sarann

Save Saved
You added The Sarann to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sarann
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   95-96 Moo 3, Chaweng Noi Beach, Tambol Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 100 Hotels in Chaweng
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The hotel was spectacular and very relaxing. It is however a little expensive but the service does compensates. For example, they forgot to collect us from the airport so as a compensation, they upgraded us to a jacuzzi suite. We really enjoyed our stay there but it is a little far out from the main attractions of koh samui.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    96
    25
    24
    9
See reviews for
23
124
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vientiane, Laos
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is situated right at the southern end of Chaweng beach where it runs into a headland. Although it is somewhat away from the big hotels on Chaweng beach, it provides a great jumping off point for leisurely up-and back beach bar crawls, with plenty of places to stop off, eat or drink on the way.
My wife and I took a jacuzzi villa room on the inshore side as no beachfront rooms were available - the latter looked fabulous. Nevertheless, the room was very pleasant and well-appointed, with a very cool colonial-tropical style. The enclosed outdoor terrace was a very nice private place to sit and enjoy a cool drink - although see the tip below!.
The villas are quite crammed into what is a fairly constricted piece of land but somehow the luxuriant vegetation offset that downside.
The food and wines in the restaurant were excellent and the whole staff from top to bottom were among the friendliest we have ever encountered.

Room Tip: If outside on private terrace at night without much clothing, be aware that you can be easily overse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Oceanfront Pool Villa I stayed was amazing. It was one of the best ones I've ever stayed and given the price I've paid for, it was out of my expectation. Of course you cannot expect everything 5-star but the sea view was magnificent, albeit the beach in front was filled with rocks not sands, but this was acceptable.

The "mini" living room was separated from the bedroom, which means you need to go pass 2 doors via outdoor to get there thus it was rarely used as you got another TV in the bedroom anyway.

Location: Perfect for those who wants somewhere quiet but not too remote. It's about 10 mins drive from Chaweng beach.

Swimming Pool: Great sea view. Whilst it was not a mega one, the size was OK and it should be good enough for most people.

Breakfast: Not a lot of choices and I started to get bored with the same food every day. Fried eggs/omelet only available on request which should be told to guests in advance upon sitting.

Services: Overall OK but they sometimes missed the "tiny details" e.g. lights in my room were not working when arrived, but they were able to fix it quickly. Out of my expectation, the private villa dinner I requested was very well organised and all my "additional requests" were very carefully looked after. The price was very reasonable and I recommend to those who want to propose/celebrate anniversaries with their significant others.

WiFi: Agree with others that it was terrible. They need to put it on #1 priority to improve.

P.S. Dr Frog was quite walkable (10 mins walk from hotel) but quite dangerous to me when I did so in the dark along the hard shoulder of a main road...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We really enjoyed staying there, the room was very big. It has a small deck with a table and chairs.
We were there only a few days.

Things to do;
1) Pool; It is very small. It's an infinity pool, it looks nice from the dining area.
2) Beach, it's not in front of hotel. You would have to walk down about 10-15 minutes to enjoy the beach. There are rocks and a cliff in front of the hotel.


Vibe;
Not sure how to explain this, it's was a bit uptight for us. Food was good, they have both western and Thai. It's not far from Chawaeng beach. You can walk to, but it was very crowded.
We enjoyed driving around the island, it takes about 1:30 hours if not stopping. We stopped at lookouts, Hin Ta Hin Yai, Shopping and tried local food. It made the trip different.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

As the name suggests, "Sarann" promises relaxation and peace of mind.We wnet there for our honeymoon and stayed at the "Jacuzzi Suites" Room No 214 and it what more when you have a big bath tub(in the room) and jacuzzi in open .. !!!!
Location : It is not in the main chawang area where you have all the nightlife but just 10 minutes to the main area. We actually enjoyed driving down to the "'happening area" and after the day's fun when we came back it was amazing to enjoy the serene , beautiful landscape that Sarann offered.
Morning Buffets are good overlooking the ocean. Since The Saran is on the beach you might want to take up an early morning stroll on the beach.
Hotel Staff and amenities : I must complement the maintenance staff, the room and washroom was absolutely clean.
You might have some language problems as they don't understand english that well. we did have communication issues with the receptionist and there was no internet in our room though we requested for it many times(it was part of the facilities that were offered in our room)... don't hire bikes from the hotel they are 5 times the cost in the market.

And most importantly you have to prioritize what you want from the trip one in which you just want to party hard or the one in which you want to rejuvinate. In the latter case, Stay at the Sarann. (or just party hard and then come back to this quite calm place)

Do not miss the Full Moon Party at Koh Phangan.. it happens once a month ... !!!

Room Tip: If budget suits needless to say go for the ocean view.. and rest all the rooms are the same.. Take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The Hotel room was very one of the nicest I have stayed in anywhere in the world. It had a really nice balcony and an open plan bathroom. The location is good on a quieter beach but only a short trip to busier bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Clean room with full amenities. Relaxing atmosphere. Love the swimming pool overlooking the sea! Breakfast buffet needs some improvements though. Less selection compared to other hotels in the area. The restaurant was so busy in the morning we couldnt find a table. The waiters and waitresses were talking to each other loudly. Some of them stood there doing nothing while a little boy was trying to ask for a glass. Not up to standard service, I would say.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sarann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sarann

Address: 95-96 Moo 3, Chaweng Noi Beach, Tambol Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#24 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sarann 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Sarann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sarann Hotel Chaweng
Sarann Hotel Chaweng
The Sarann Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sarann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;