We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but some faults” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sarann

Save Saved
You added The Sarann to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sarann
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   95-96 Moo 3, Chaweng Noi Beach, Tambol Bophut, Chaweng, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 61 hotels in Chaweng
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good but some faults”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

The room is lovely and the pool is nice as well, but the flaws of the hotel are: you are on a busy road if you get a room on the back row ( then you can hear the cars)
And the drains stank really badly! As well as the water pressure was terrible, so it was hard to flush the toilet and use the bath and shower.
The breakfast has a nice variety and the staff wet really kind :) the pool is chilled so it's a nice cool down and the hotel provides a rental motorbike place with old, sucky motorbikes ( the ones we were given anyway) and they gave us broken helmets. Apart from all that, it was a somewhat pleasant stay :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    91
    24
    23
    7
See reviews for
23
115
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This villa type boutique hotel was great pleasure for my family...
But but for solo travellers, this is a real romantic spot.

Sea side villas or middle row big villas are so beautiful...

Very good value for money...

From the pool You have huge view to Chaweng beach.

Clean accom. and friendly stuff.

Road side rooms have a bit traffic loud, but sea side is so silent.

You can reach to every point of Koh Samui easly...

Briefly, a design hotel, for art lovers...

Room Tip: middle row or sea side villas are like a dream... In the middle row big villas, You have also a sep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The Sarann is a very beautiful resort on Ko Samui. It is located near to the Chaweng Noi beach, but unfortunately it has no own beach. So if you want to get a chair on the beach you need to make a deal with one of the beach boys from the other hotels.

The service personelle is very kind and helpful. The restaurant has very good food and the prices are - compared to Thai standards - high.

The only things that were not pleasant, were the very bad WLAN signal and the shower.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This Samui trip was a birthday getaway for my wife, despite of the negative comments but we booked The Sarann anyway. Long before we arrived at Samui, I requested the FO Manager Ms. Phrueksa to arrange a birthday dinner at the hotel’s Wild Ginger restaurant and she managed it perfectly, she and the entire restaurant’s staff were reliable. The food was so good and the service was smooth, the price is good too.

Arrived at the hotel with warm welcome from the front office staff, they are smiley, polite and friendly. They care for their guests too especially Ms. Ann, my palm got a couple minor cuts and bleeding from the rocks on the beach, she put some antiseptic and when I walked pass the lobby later that day, she offered me to re-apply the antiseptic.

The jacuzzi suite was big, spacious and clean, huge bathroom area with big sink, round bath tub, rain-shower area and separate jacuzzi. Free, good speed wi-fi in room. The room is not far from the main road but can hardly hear the vehicles passed and sleep was very good. The infinity pool is awesome and relaxing, it looks small but once you are in, it’s more than enough. Parking was quite limited but never had a problem with car parking.

One afternoon we came back from an island tour, I just realized that I completely forgot to lock the safe deposit box before we left the room in the morning but everything was still there: passport, laptop, jewelries, watch and all other valuable stuffs. We really valued the integrity and the honesty of the housekeeping staffs.

Our Samui trip and my wife’s birthday getaway have been so wonderful and big part of it contributed by the hotel we stayed and all the staffs. Thank you from both of us and for sure, we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

* Welcomed at the lobby with a wet towel and drink. Air-conditioning was already switched on and there was a pleasant scent from aromatherapy oil when we got to the room.

* The jacuzzi suite was spacious and clean. Flat screen TV with many channels, dvd player. Mini bar well-stocked. Nice little walk-in wardrobe with in-room safe. Big desk behind the bed. Big basin with many toiletries provided. Big bathroom with big round bath-tub. Chair upholstery stained, could do with a change.

* Sleep was good. Although the main road was behind us, there wasn't much noise and wooden blinds provided privacy.

* Jacuzzi was clean and worked well. Just used bath foam from the bathroom, didn't know that the little shop with mini library sold bath salts until the last day. Bath-tub in bathroom took too long to fill-up and we gave up. The rain shower didn't leak as some had commented but the water pressure was most disappointing and it fluctuated between hot and cold. Wasn't satisfied there.

* Buffet breakfast up to 10.30am. Good selection, more than enough to eat, nice coffee, food was changed slightly each day.

* Far and rather crazy to walk to Chaweng beach but we managed to do it one day. On another day, took the 1pm free shuttle that stopped outside McD and returned by the 5.30pm shuttle. The service was reliable; they took just the 2 of us both ways and the drivers were very careful with the vans.

* Staff were friendly and polite, especially those at the restaurant.

* There were steps by the restaurant to get to the sandy beach of Chaweng Noi. Didn't mind the rocky beach too as we were not planning to swim or sun-bathe. View of the Chaweng Noi and Chaweng bays was gorgeous.

* To eat out, there were several nice places within easy walking distance - Dr.Frog's, Buco, Tara and Twisted Thai at the Imperial, and others. Tried Tamarind at Impiana, don't recommend it (see my separate review of it). Enjoyed Buco's seafood.

* To summarize, it was a nice and comfortable stay at the Sarann. If only the shower / water pressure had been better.....

Room Tip: Go for a villa with a gorgeous seaview if you can afford it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had visisted Koh Samui during our honeymoon a couple of months back and stayed at The Sarann.
Location: -
It is ideally situated on the Chaweng Noi Beach which is right on the edge of the main chaweng beach, hence comfortably away from the bustling streets of chaweng and easily accessible. Lamai beach is also about 7 - 8 min drive away and so is chaweng.

Rooms: -
The rooms were an absolute delight, big and spacious, it had an outdoor jacuzzi and inside had a hot tub as well. Ample privacy was provided and the rooms had all the facilites you should expect from any 5 star hotel rooms. Only negative part was there was no direct view of the beach or sea from our room as we had opted for a jacuzzi suite which is located on the rear side of the hotel area, thus providing no outside views apart from the hotel walkway and surrouding trees.

Wine/Dine: -
The breakfast was wholesome and good variety of options were provided, though there was littlle change in the menu which we had for 4 days.

Overall it was a great experience...

PS: - The hotel is situated right on chaweng noi thus the beach access is pretty much that of rocks and barely any sand. However one can visit nearby beaches less than 100 - 200 mtrs away.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

The hotel is chosen by price-quality relationship and because of its secluded location, since went to rest, and not to hang out.
The hotel is the latest on Chaweng Noi beach on the rocky hill. Consists of individual cottages, villas, standing in three rows along the ring road and the sea on the other side. The cheapest rooms are on the line closest to the highway, including they can be noisy. We lived in a villa on the median line - machine was sometimes heard, but not much and we did not pay attention to it. The beach begins right at the hotel, but at this point the solid rocks and makes a lot of rubbish surf. Need to pass 30 meters away and can swim very well. Lounges at the hotel enough (near the swimming pool and wooden decking overlooking the sea), even in the busiest days of the half was free. There is a pool 15h3m with water slightly cooler sea. Too all the time empty.
The hotel has one restaurant. Standard breakfast: muesli, yogurts, salads, noodles, soups, toast or pancakes, muffins, fruit. Additionally, eggs cooked to your choice: omelets with fillings, eggs, just cook, etc. A little tired from the lack of diversity in 2 weeks, but it's not a big problem. For lunch and dinner served on the menu and prepare a very tasty and good. Italian tomato soup - above all praise!
On the beach near the hotel has three decent restaurants that are cheaper and also very tasty.
Own houses rather large, quite comfortable. However, furniture is not new, the walls are not very clear: there are stains and traces of paint. Maids cleaned fairly concentrated I guess, in spite of a decent tip. Very noisy air conditioner. Pleased with an excellent TV with a huge selection of channels and works fine online.
The hotel has a small fitness room with a nice new gym, a mini library, a lot of free information on the island. Maintenance staff has very little in English, but try to help on all issues.
Nearest store and pharmacy - to 10-minute walk.
Overall - despite a handful of minor flaws, the hotel left a pleasant impression.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sarann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sarann

Address: 95-96 Moo 3, Chaweng Noi Beach, Tambol Bophut, Chaweng, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sarann 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Sarann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sarann Hotel Chaweng
Sarann Hotel Chaweng
The Sarann Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sarann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.