We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sarann

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Sarann to your Saves list
The Sarann
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   95-96 Moo 3, Chaweng Noi Beach, Tambol Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location, at end of nice beach with good restaurants and night spots. Awesome pool looking onto sea, good service from staff, access to Internet etc. Rooms are very nice although don't get the point of the verandas if you're in he second row of villas as view is closed in courtyard and heat does nt allow you to sit outside. Aircon was broken in two rooms but we were moved. The hotel is very nice and the breakfast on patio overlooking pool is very enjoyable. I will stay here again but I would suggest for couples etc. Rooms setup is very well thought and modern with Thai twist.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    102
    28
    25
    8
See reviews for
26
131
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We had one of the plunge pool villas. Firstly the pool is great, the view is great and if the weather is good, this a must-go property. However they dont have heated pools (apparently all over thailand) which meant in december weather, its not possible to be in the pool at night. We did it anyways after a few drinks but the water was cold. They were pretty much sold out hence the service was not at par. Location was ok, about a 400bht cab ride each way to chaweng. For the amount we spent, i would have rather stayed at the W. but overall we had a great trip hence the 4 stars.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

To begin with: The Rooms...out of this world. Well appointed, comfortable, spacious, peaceful...this place is just what you need after a violent party at the Chaweng beach or a day trek to the hoax (and the real) attractions of the Samui island. Conveniently, it is removed from Chaweng town lending it an extra ounce of peace and comfort. The staff are brilliant as long as you can see them (in the restaurant, around the pool) but the moment you step out of sight, its difficult to get their attention. The food and the spa are decent, the bar though is not the best. I'd recommend looking for deals before booking directly since we got a pretty decent one on one of the websites.

Ps. Yui's Massage on your left when you head to CHaweng town. The brackish young woman is an artiste. By the time you leave you'd have stretched muscles you didn't know you had. Highly recommended. She also rents out bikes by the way.

Room Tip: VIllas. Expensive but heavenly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner had looked forward to this break all year - going to thailand for Xmas and New Year, lets just say we had paid alot of money and from looking at The Sarann we were looking forward to having a luxury suite located on a stretch of beach to enable us to relax and enjoy some sun. When we arrived at the hotel to our disapointment there was a small pool located at the back of reception with only 6 sunbeds (the hotel has over 50 guests per day) and the pool was shaded. We thought that was a disapointment but we assumed we could chill on the beach but to our dismay there was no access to the beach from our hotel. We had to exit the hotel and walk to the restaurant next door to access the beach which was full of rubbish which had drifted in from the sea. There was no place to even rent a sunbed to sunbath or enjoy the beach and the sun. I understand not everyone wants to go on holiday and only sunbathe but the option of doing so in a £100 a night hotel should be avaliable. We ended up having to pay £8 in a taxi each day we wanted to sunbathe to a beach club. I just found this really disapointing after hoping to have a relaxing christmas holiday. We also found that the room wasnt as clean as a 5 star hotel should be and we had to call for toilet roll almost everyday. We upgraded to a jazuzzi suite which we never used as it looked like it had not been cleaned in a long time. I cannot say i would advise anyone to travel to this hotel - it is not worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We booked at the Sarann for our whole wedding party and we were all taken care of extremely well. The whole experience was amazing. Loved that we were at the quieter end of the beach which made it feel like it was all ours... I can't wait to go back... usually I would choose a new destination but the Sarann was bliss.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

OK, I will start with the good things:

- The airport pick up charge is very reasonable in comparison with some other hotels in Asia
- The rooms are spacious, clean, well maintained and comfortable
- The staff made a real effort to make the New Years celebration fun
- Staff around the resort are very friendly and helpful, reception staff are a little less.

Now the bad things:

- The rain shower in the room (205) did not work as the rubber square on top was loose so more leaked out the top as opposed to coming through the shower head, making showering only really possible using the handheld shower head
- The water was warm at best, so having a hot jacuzzi or shower wasn't possible
- The Jacuzzi sounded like there was a jet engine hidden somewhere underneath, which didn't really do much for creating a relaxing and ambient mood
- The doors that opened into the patio from the jacuzzi were so warped by weather that you needed to lift them over the warped floor to open them, which my girlfriend was simply not strong enough to do
- The air conditioning units in the rooms made so much noise that during the night I was forced to get out of bed and turn them off to allow us both to sleep, however this meant that in the morning you woke up feeling like you were in a sauna. It is also worth pointing out I live in Hong Kong overlooking 7 lanes of traffic on a busy road and my room in HK is quieter!
- Wifi is free in the resort which is nice, as I hate it when hotels charge for wifi, however in the rooms it is very slow (to the point web pages time out) and regularly drops. If you go to the bar area it's fine but browsing in the rooms can be a little frustrating

Outside the room itself:

- IF YOU LIKE TO SUNBATHE: The swimming pool has nowhere to actually lie in the sun as the hotel shades the sun and the lounges are situated such that they never receive any sun therefore if you want a resort where you can lie down in the sun by the pool this is not the place during the December period at least
- Whilst we have read about noise coming from the road, we were actually kept more awake by the techno bass coming from nightclubs and bars the other side of the bay. This may well be more prevalent during the Christmas/New year period but was every night well into the early hours
- The staff needed to be asked at least twice before they actually did anything: Can you please restock the towels by the pool, could you please fix the door to the jacuzzi which is stuck, can we have some coffee in the room as it wasn't replaced when the room was cleaned all were asked for then asked for again some time later when they had clearly forgotten. The icing on the cake was when we asked for the bar tab of the previous night as we needed to split with friends. We asked and were pretty much ignored as the staff did other things, when our taxi arrived we asked if it could instead be sent to our room for when we returned which they agreed to, yet when we returned still nothing.

Overall, it isn't a bad place if you are looking for a 3 star resort but if it is trying to compete in the mid/high end boutique resort category then it is falling way short of the mark. The good news is that with a bit of care and attention a lot of what we felt let the resort down could easily be rectified, but at the moment the resort is outdated and in need of some TLC plus some staff training on customer service. We didn't hate it, but we were frustrated by some of the basics just not being right.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gobabis, Omaheke, Namibia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We loved the Sarann! The staff is very friendly and helpful, we stayed in the beach villa, it is the best one to stay in, it is further away from the main road and is nice and private, the view is also spectacular!

The food was good, you must just be very specific about what you want!
We had massages at the spa, they made us felt like royalty and the massages was excellent!
We will definitely go back!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sarann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sarann

Address: 95-96 Moo 3, Chaweng Noi Beach, Tambol Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#24 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sarann 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sarann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sarann Hotel Chaweng
Sarann Hotel Chaweng
The Sarann Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sarann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.