We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of OceanKiss

OceanKiss
Anantara Lawana Resort &Spa | 92/1 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand
077960333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 137 Restaurants in Chaweng
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Experience Koh Samui dining at its finest with OceanKiss, our all-day open-air restaurant right beside the ocean. Wake up to a fresh cup of coffee and a sumptuous buffet breakfast of Asian and Western favorites. Sit either indoors or out on the beachside deck for lunch and dinner, where an impressive a la carte menu and well stocked wine cellar have you well taken care of. Regular themed beach side buffets are available too.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Kick of the day with a huge breakfast variety overlooking the ocean made my days. Fresh baked pastry like in France, live waffles & my daily egg creation this is how vacation should be. The service is very attentive and goes the extra mile, they even remember my favorite ice tea and seemed to me they do waiting every day with a new flavor for me :-)
We stayed over the Xmas period & watched the transformation into a tropical winter wonder land. Wow I could not imagine to get in Christmas mood with sun, beach & 30 degrees but these guys have created a magical ambiance on the 24th. Again an amazing buffet was set up with plenty of western festive traditions, live BBQ, sea food market and fine pastry around gingerbread houses....
Santa shown up with live singing Santalinas bringing presents to the kids & spend time for photo shootings. Compliments to the team this was an unique night & probably my best Xmas apart from my childhood....
During our stay, Ocean Kiss is the main restaurant of the Anantara hotel, we tried the Italian menu & the Thai food. Yummy pasta & pizza, tasty Thai food even when more pricy then in some road side places outside the hotel. They do beach BBQ with fire show & live music, again something not to be missed dining bare feed in the beach.
We felt ocean kissed in this place & the whole team made our stay just perfect

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at OceanKiss, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear FaF,

Thank you for being such a loyal patronage in OceanKiss during your stay on Samui and sharing your praise here on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that the different dinners and also our a la carte options were appreciated that much by you.

Hopefully we will be able welcoming you back to OceanKiss soon.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    19
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Great food. Kate gives great service! the Thai food is fresh and authentic, the breakfast gives a great variety.who wouldn't live a view of the ocean during every meal?!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at OceanKiss, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Cassandrae21,

Thank you very much for your visit to OceanKiss and taking the time to post your very positive feedback here on TripAdvisor. We will ensure that Kate receives the recognition and can assure you that she will be delighted to read your feedback.

Kate and the team are looking forward welcoming you back to OceanKiss, enjoying the beautiful view over the ocean.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
751 reviews 751 reviews
410 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 248 cities Reviews in 248 cities
1,204 helpful votes 1,204 helpful votes
“Very good hotel restaurant at the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We've stayed at the Anantara for about a week. Therefore we had a perfect breakfast at the Oceankiss every morning.

Since the breakfast was so good we decided to try Oceankiss for dinner. Due to Halloween they served a set Halloween dinner at approx.1000 Baht including taxes.

The new Chef of this Anantara Resort served a very creative mixture of Thai- and International food, Som Tam with duck breast, crispy clams and a fish main course. The highlight was the dessert, a chocolate-strawberry surprise. He came himself and created the dessert on the table, with strawberry sauce 'blood', fire for melting the marshmallows etc. All-in-all it was a very nice experience, especially at the price.

This evening also there was a special dinner served right at the beach. We were told that this could be ordered in advance. They do place a hut directly at the sea, fire etc. Not cheap but very romantic.

The service staff was very friendly and didn't give you this typical feel of 'fake Thai friendliness'. So I totally have to disagree with the other review posted.

They also do a cooking class which we tried. It was very interesting and we had great fun. We went to a typical Thai market where we got an explanation of Thai ingredients. Afterwards we drove to a beautiful temple where we were feeding fishes. The cooking class at the open kitchen of the Oceankiss was the right mixture of cooking, fun and eating. Now we know how to prepare Som Tam etc.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Early dinner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Greek Salad good dish for starter. Try one time with a good view. I went there when was low tide. It was beautiful location before sunset.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at OceanKiss, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear LPTSME,

Great to hear that you enjoyed your dinner with us and that you enjoyed the beautiful scenery just before sunset. It most certainly adds to the special atmosphere when the sky turns purple and you watch over the peaceful beach at the end of a day.

Hopefully we will be able welcoming you back, trying some of our Italian and Thai dishes too.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Had dinner and breakfast at OceanKiss. Breakfast is amazing, possibly one of the largest buffet breakfast's you will ever encounter (they even have fresh honey on offer, dripping from the honeycomb from the hive and a smoothie bar). Dinner was lovely too, really nice atmosphere overlooking the water and while we were there we got a free show watching the local fisherman squid fishing. Staff are incredibly personable and have a great knowledge of the menus.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at OceanKiss, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Amyhallhill,

Great to hear that you had such fantastic experiences at OceanKiss.

My team is working hard to ensure all guests are leaving with a unique and wonderful experience and they will be very motivated to hear that they succeeded in your case.

If I get the chance I will certainly let the fishermen now as well that you enjoyed watching them doing their work.

Thanks again for your review and we are looking forward welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OceanKiss also viewed

Chaweng, Bophut
Chaweng, Bophut
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to OceanKiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage OceanKiss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.