We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location for our purposes” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chaweng Beach Hotel

Chaweng Beach Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chaweng Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Chaweng Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   160/31 North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 101 Hotels in Chaweng
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good location for our purposes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

we were in Samui for a wedding. We opted for a cheaper hotel to teh rest of the wedding party in order to afford a longer stay in thailand.

The Chaweng Beach Hotel was ok, clean rooms and friendly staff. Although breakfast wasn't included with our rate the breakfasts were cheap and quite delicious. The staff were also very nice and helpful.

There is a free safe in each room however ours kept breaking through no fault of our own and we were forced to pay for an engineer to come out. Having already alerted the staff to the fact our safe wouldn't close we felt like we had to pay for the safe to be fixed. It broke again on our 2nd last night so we kept quiet and hoped for the best, thankfully nothing was stolen!

There are computers in reception which you can pay to use, the internet was slow if it was working at all. I would suggest you visit a cafe if you need to get online as there is no free wifi.

The location was great for us as our friends were staying in another hotel just a few minutes away so we used their pool each day. That said the beach is not far away and is very pretty.

I didn't really find that i settled in Chaweng, i felt like there was someone always out to rip me off and was on guard all the time. I didn't see any trouble though a friend was robbed on a night out.
It's what you would expect for such a touristy location i suppose.

Overall the rooms were clean, the staff were friendly but it's an average hotel. Our room looked out onto the main street which was quite noisy but we were hardly there so it didn't matter that much.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
12
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Arrived late from the airport staff helpfull on check in with one caveat. I was told if I wan't to bring a girl back its ok just give us 200 baht.

Needless to say this does not make one feel they are in upscale establishment.

On the upside for the money excellet size room OK shower (although i did jet was a very dusy vent.) .

Good qulaity room safe.

A breakfast was provided which was in my view good considering what I was paying.

Location in Chaweng short walks to restaurants and countless Tailors offering you cheap suit deals.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

We had a short stay at the Cheweng Beach Hotel as when we arrived extensive building work was in progress and ultimately we moved to the Melati hotel. For the two nights we were here we stayed in individual bungalows. These are poorly lit and a bit dingy although are very secluded and not overlooked.
The Cheweng Beach hotel does sit on the busiest road on Koh Samui complete with tacky shops and fake Rolexes, Pizza Express and Starbucks. If you want bustling, hot sweaty stalls selling clothes, food and other items you’ll love this location.
The beach was disappointing as it is sectioned off and you can wade out a long way and still be up to your knees. No waves or swimming here. For that you would have to walk down to the busier public part of the beach. The beach attached to the hotel is marked off so that guests are not harassed by sellers although they still try their best.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarra Glen, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

We found the resort to be a great place to stay. It was an easy place to relax, and when you want to take advantage of bargains the shops are right out the front of the resort, (just don't try to shop for your bargains before noon). Another great thing about the resort is that it is situated right on the beach so in the evenings the beach is covered with restaurants with fresh sea food and of course Happy Hour :)

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Good place near the beach. Not really perfect but it could be used for a short stay, Be well informed about the right price befiore you agree with your room rate.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

The rooms were good value but there are a lot nicer places in the area to stay for the same price or cheaper. The delux rooms are incredible if you are staying in them, not too expensive, in a new part of the hotel. The old rooms are clean but very basic. Good location but no pool and a few minutes walk to the beach. Overall it is an ok place to stay but there are cheaper places closer to the beach!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK, South Yorks
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

only stayed 2 nights, that was plenty! no window in room, most of the bulbs were out so it was very dark. Clean enough though. You dont get brekki. non descript hotel in chaweng. Bo Phut is much nicer

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaweng Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Beach Hotel

Address: 160/31 North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 101 Hotels in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chaweng Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Chaweng Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Beach Hotel Ko Samui, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaweng Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.