We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samui Institute of Thai Culinary Arts

Samui Institute of Thai Culinary Arts
46/6 Moo 3, Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
+66 (077) 413-172
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Greater Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Extremely professional and well run cooking class! The instructor Wit was very professional, easy to understand and fun

We had a great time and will be recommend to friends

If you are in Koh Samui and looking to do a cooking class, this is the one for you!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    12
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent cooking experience and feast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We decided to try SITCA, but took the class with the chu chi fish curry - which is a thai dish neither of us had heard of - but am thrilled we did - Sooooo delicious.
This was simply the best cooking class (and Thai food eating) experience we've ever had. Under the guidance of the very attentive staff we semi-prepared the meals and ingredients (adding elements/sizes to suit each persons taste eg chilli), cooked the dishes on our own cooking station, and then feasted on the fruits of our labour - I had no idea I was such an excellent thai cook (with everyone else for that matter).
Whilst the premises first appear somewhat less impressive as the name suggests - they did the job. Wit (instructor) was fantastic and the team was incredibly patient and well organised. The instruction booklet and techniques are easy and simple to follow.
What's even better, the serves are for 2-3 people, and they encourage friends and family to come by afterwards to share in the subsequent feast.
Great stuff all round.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauniainen, Finland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Camilla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Very positive experience! Good food, great staff, easy instructions! Nice to buy some ingredients home, too! Loved it, will come back next year!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Superb experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Although we hadn't intended to attend a cooking class in Koh Samui, boy am I glad we did! The staff were amazing and Roongfa was sensational. Not only an amazing teacher, but she adapted the class for our group of 4 (3 vegetarians) including a dish not on the class list, and a couple of extra dishes which we watched her prepare. She was careful to substitute any ingredients for vegetarian versions. We also had to postpone our class by a couple of days and she was very accommodating. If you love thai food, I strongly recommend you attend a class - your appreciation will only increase! An awesome, world class experience.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great learning experience and lots of fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and I came here on our honeymoon, at the recommendation of the staff at our hotel. When we arrived everyone was very friendly. They sat us down to watch a video detailing the Thai art of fruit and vegetable carving while they prepared, and once we got underway it was very informative! We learned a lot about our ingredients, techniques, tools, everything. Our dishes for that day were Green Curry chicken, Tom Yum soup with chicken, and shrimp Pad Thai. Under the direction of our instructor everything we made turned out better than any restaurant I've eaten at which is saying a lot because I've eaten at some pretty good Thai restaurants! The place is nice and clean, everyone very professional and there's a dining room upstairs where you can sit and eat your finished product. We couldn't eat it all and it ended up being our dinner the next night!

Going to SITCA was one of our favourite experiences of all during our honeymoon and we would love to come back for more! We highly recommend it to anyone.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samui Institute of Thai Culinary Arts also viewed

 

Been to Samui Institute of Thai Culinary Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samui Institute of Thai Culinary Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.