We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Star Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added New Star Beach Resort to your Saves list
New Star Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   83 Moo 3 Koh Samui | Chaweng Noi, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Rate Ever!
Ranked #20 of 101 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Riehen, Switzerland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I was there for two weeks and it was very nice. By the arrival, the staff was welcome us warm hearted (friendly staff, welcome drink, ...). The check-in was relaxing and with a nice view. There were flowers in the room and 10 min. after we arrived there, we get a young coconut. The room was nice and clean (we stayed at a Balcony Deluxe Room). The food was delicious and alwyas looked so nice. I rented a motorbike and saw many beaches, but honestly,he beach in front of New Star was the most relaxing and nicest in Samui.
For sure I'll come back in december for a couple of weeks!

and by the way, there was a realy friendly swiss staff, who helped us a lot with all the tours and bookings!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    97
    29
    17
    4
See reviews for
72
199
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel a few times and definitely prefer to stay in the beach cottages, we asked for a particular one and managed to score it!!, right on the beach with views from our bed, amazing, the rooms are basic but clean and comfortable, for a beach location it is worth the amount we spent. The only real criticism i would say is the staff are not well trained, sometimes this is frustrating as they don't understand what you are saying, if they spent more money on training and organising the staff this would be a great place to stay.

Room Tip: don't book this hotel if you are unfit or elderly, many steps to front of hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Shangri La Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights and I could definitely see the potential for a 5 star although unfortunately the current standard is that that I would expect from a 3 star. As already highlighted by other reviews, the need of updating is confirmed (towels, decorations, etc).
The majority of the staff were very friendly but struggled with English.
Great location and lovely beach, overall we had a nice stay but could have been even better.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Had booked a stay of 10 days at the New Star Resort in Chaweng, and from the moment we arrived it was obvious the resort has been left to run down. The grounds were unkempt and the majority of the accommodation was in need of maintainence . On sighting the upstairs room that was allocated to us, it was found to be very dark and uninviting, knew we would have problems using the bathroom at night which was quite a way from the bedroom, having to walk over tiles and surrounding stones with signs of mould, so decided to upgrade to a villa at an extra cost of 1000 bhat. Unfortunately, this was not much of an improvement, but the bathroom situation was more suitable to our needs. To top it off the meal we purchased at the hotel (duck) was very tough and inedible. although the hotel did re-imburse us half of the cost of the meal after our complaint.

Needless to say instead of staying 10 nights we only stayed one , after finding alternative accommodation.

In comparison to other resorts in the area we cannot understand the high rating of this resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for nine nights after having stayed here previously in 2011
So disappointed
We stayed in a cottage. The location was perfect. A ten second walk to the pool. There the joy ended
Room is dated. Lighting in cottage abysmal. Air conditioning noisy and ineffective
Front door does not close properly. An invitation to the army of mosquitoes that duly entered. The outdoor shower is a great concept but poorly executed. The floor does not drain properly on account of decorative stones on floor. They trap water and provide a haven for all manner of mosquitoes. Got eaten alive every time we took a shower
The towels provided are a disgrace. I shudder to think how old they are. Like bits of cardboard. Fraying etc. appalling
If we were staying in a one star flea pit in Chewang I could understand
The deck area is large and inviting. The furniture provided is garbage. Uncomfortable and old. The table is of poor design. Huge gaps between the slats Which swallow glasses etc
The tv is unwatchable. Reception is akin to 1950's televsion
WiFi is intermittent at best

The good

Staff try their best. Genuinely pleasant

This resort needs to urgently spend some money to justify their five star rating It has been run down badly since our last visit

We have stayed at many resorts in Asia. This place does not rank well

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

stayed here for 10 days. the beach was very nice and private and not too crowded like in chaweng. it is only 10 mins by car to chaweng so everything was very nice. the service was also very good and dining on the beach was amazing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We liked that the staff were friendly and attentive. They always remember us as we are regulars and got married at the resort. There is a good selection of dining and dinners on the beach which are good value for money. The accessibility to the beach and the pool from the rooms is very convenient. We always look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Star Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Star Beach Resort

Address: 83 Moo 3 Koh Samui | Chaweng Noi, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#21 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New Star Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New star beach resort at Chaweng Noi Beach is the most largest white-sandy beach on samui Island, 10 minutes away from Town by walk or 5 minutes by car. Full of privacy and away from the big crowd Your visit to Koh Samui is not completed unless you have visited New Star Beach resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your New Star Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Star Beach Hotel Chaweng
Hotel New Star Beach
New Star Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Star Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.