We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location and beautiful surroundings perfect for the start of our honeymoon.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Star Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added New Star Beach Resort to your Saves list
New Star Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   83 Moo 3 | Chaweng Noi, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous location and beautiful surroundings perfect for the start of our honeymoon.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for the first 6 nights of our honeymoon. We were upgraded to a villa and our room was beautifully decorated with flower petals. We also received a honeymoon cake and bottle of sparkling on our first night. The airport transfer was also great and very reasobably priced.

The location of this resort is amazing. This was my second visit to koh samui but first time at new star. We were close enough to the action of chaweng but on a much more beautiful and serene section of beach. When we felt like being more amongst the action we simply caught a red truck into chaweng or walked in.

The gardens of the resort are also really lovely. The pool is also really nice. We looked around a lot of resorts in the area and the beach and pool of newstar are definitely one of the best!

Our room was huge, clean and comfortable. The furnishings were really lovely. There wasn't much lighting though and the tv channels were very limited. The shower was massive but not great water pressure. We also tried ordering room service on a few occasions and could not get through so gave up and went out for dinner. Honestly though these things weren't really an issue for us as we were enjoying our stay so much. We did notice some poolside and beachside cottages and they looked really nice as well.

Breakfast was included and was a buffet. The food was quite nice. Not the best Buffet I've had but we certainly didn't go hungry. We ate by the pool on several occasions for lunch and dinner and the food we ordered was delicious and very reasonably priced. For a special dinner we walked to Dr Frogs on the cliff at the southern end of chaweng noi beach. The view and food was really great and worth the extra cost.

The staff at newstar were also so helpful and always very friendly. My husband loved the saluting security guards at the front gate and Pu our driver from the airport. We were both so impressed with the Thai hospitality we experienced.

We can't wait to visit koh samui and newstar resort again it was definitely a highlight of our trip and a wonderful way to start married life!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    88
    26
    17
    4
See reviews for
67
183
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Everything you expect from this hotel for its rating and other good comments. The Staff especially the reception staff were all very helpful and friendly. The grounds very beautiful and the rooms comfortable. The breakfasts were very good and the pool and beach front are absolutely perfect. This is my first choice for samui and I would definately come again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in the cottages near the beach, i don't really know how are the rooms or the beachfront villas (although i suspect the last ones can't be worse). The cottages are good, not the most luxury rooms but fairly clean and well maintained. The staff came and cleaned the room twice a day. (!?!)

The beach and pool were very nice (there's really a problem with the seaside of some 'beach' hotels on this island so you should choose with great care) and quiet. Few people, few kids.

The food is very good and fairly priced. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the english is somehow good (not the case everywhere and every time).

The weather in June was so so... we had a rainy day and showers in the evening almost every day, but was good as a whole.

Room Tip: We asked in advance for a cottage near the beach (there are two right on the beach) and we received...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I asked the front desk guy how much for beach front.he said 2500(too cheap)in shock I said in bath?he took out a brochure and i said which one.he raised his voice n rudely said No.No.all in Bath no Malaysia and walked off.WTF?what does Malaysia have to do with it?female staff was nice to sit me down,soon flowers,towels and drinks arrive.after the check-in we were given free massage at the SPA and vouchers for laundry.
when I got to my room all had been forgotten.the view,gardens and music from birds all came together and your in paradise.rooms are huge and open with chocolates and fruits.at night there are mosquitoes but they have mosquito repellents in the room on hand.
breakfast is a bit far from some of the rooms a morning walk daily is nice the air is crisp and cool,the birds serenade you all the way. the view during breakfast is amazing.the food is more for westerners.my husband is Chinese so the porridge and bacon was the only thing he liked.for me it was like my everyday breakfast.
according to the rules the pool closes at 8 but I got out at almost 9 pm and no one said a thing.It's nice to put up flags to let us know the danger level of the sea.
going to chaweng is easier if you rent a motorbike not because it's too far but chaweng being very2 long.the front desk rent it at 30 bath/day.more expensive but you don't need to leave a photo copy of your passport.check about the insurance
free wifi in all the rooms even Centara doesn't have this.
room service charge extra 100 bath.it's better to hide it into the full cost of the meal like other resorts do then tell people that your actually charging to send them food.

Room Tip: if your coming with family get the room with a dipping pool.it is more then enough for a whole famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I must admit that after reading all the overly zealous Tripadvisor reviews I was sold on this place, but the reviews missed a few too many fundamental negative points that made our stay there not as good as promised.
Firstly and it must be said, the pool and beach front are stunning and the beach villas, pretty spacious and well designed. The breakfast was awful in every way, how hard could it be to make a simple breakfast? What's ironic is the fact that they advertise cooking classes, are you serious? Start by taking all your chefs to cooking class first before they embark on teaching others. The front desk staff were kind enough to upgrade us, but showed serious signs of strain at coping with our questions and demands. Few spoke comprehensible English and some were plainly rude to my mother for simply making enquiries. Add to that the beach attendant waving his arm dismissively at my request to locate a suitable beach chair, and the pretty high prices of the rooms compared to Koh Samui standards, and the tough uphill hikes to the reception every time we needed to talk to reception or leave the premises, Newstar is anything but a star. And to have such a designer pool deck and beach front and not to make use of it after 8pm is such a shame. The atmosphere at night is dead quiet, no music, no beach bar or semblance of life. More suitable for retired couples than youth. The management really need to re-evaluate their tariffs, service, food offering and entertainment if they want to attract repeat visitors.

Room Tip: Take the Beach Villas flanking the pool area if you can and negotiate for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed here with my wife in Feb 2012 and was very satisfied with the whole experience. The room are very spacious, clean and provide privacy from other guest. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The location is ideal, as you are not in the middle of all the cheesy bars / restaurants but only 10 mins walk to everything. The beach is also lovely and sits apart from the more public beach just further along which is great!

We are going back to Koh Samui during new years this year but are staying in Koh Phangan although I would highly recommend this hotel if your on the island.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I was there about 2 months ago, and it was fantastic value for money. I would stay there again. The only thing they should imporve is that their employees need better english.
If you get a chance go during the full moon party its worth going atleast ones.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Star Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Star Beach Resort

Address: 83 Moo 3 | Chaweng Noi, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#12 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New Star Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your New Star Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Star Beach Hotel Chaweng
Hotel New Star Beach
New Star Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Star Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.