We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 101 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Athens
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

One of the best 5 stars I have ever stayed at, and I have stayed in quite a few. The hotel's employees very quiet and willing to assist you in everything. The small villa was extremely well equipped with TV, DVD player, coffee/tea etc facilities. Towels for your bath and different towels to be used for the private pool.
The hotel has free wifi everywhere. In addition there is a "library" where you can rent (free of charge) music CDs and DVDs, books and where there are PC workstations.
Every night there is different barbecue dinner at the beach restaurant with different show, with local dancing.
The hotel is EXTREMELY clean and there are many things to do, such as Thai cooking classes, which we attended and where thrilled with the arrangement of the whole class, and with the certificates and photos they provided.
The parking assistant is there to assist you with a torch in parking your car, and take you to to entrance of the hotel which is very close to the parking lot.
My boyfriend and I arrived there after a big fight and we forgot everything regarding our differences! We fell in love!
I recommend it to everybody and there are many other things which in order to describe I would need hundreds of pages.
The staff is extremely helpful in making all necessary arrangements. We even used the laundry facilities and our clothes came back like new!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    262
    62
    34
    22
See reviews for
152
555
31
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights in September in the Premier Private Pool Villa.

The trip advisor was very useful in helping plan our 2 week vacation to Thailand so I wanted to give back by posting reviews of my own. This one will be my first.

The service at the Villa Lawana was just alright. The staff did not go out of their way for you but simply did what was expected, which is a bit disappointing considering the five star designation and the price of the rooms. I wish the staff answering the phones could have spoken better English as we had a hard time explaining our requests, which were never fully understood and realized.

Our room, on the other hand, was exceptional and walking in for the first time was as fabulous as it looks on their website. I asked if they could upgrade us to a beach front villa but they were asking an extra 8000 THB!! Ahh, think we'll stick with the partial view. It would have been nice to see the full view of the ocean from your very own private plunge pool, deck and private sala but not worth what they were asking. Our ocean view was very limited with most being blocked by the roofs of the villas in front of ours and the shrubbery. Privacy was great and with the aid of a bottle of red and a couple of large wine glasses stored for use for guests in the beverage bar cabinet under the large flat screen satellite t.v., the lit-up plunge pool made for romantic dips at night after coming back from an evening out. The outdoor bath was also nice but took 2 full hours (really!) to fill it. I thought it would have been nice for the hotel to have a service where they make an aromatic bath for you with petals etc. but no such service.

I cannot fault the quality of the villa down to the last detail. From the 'seashells in a bottle' lamps (which gf loved) in the large living room to the teak-style doors separating each of the high ceiling rooms to the oversize pillows and large poster bed with canopy - all stylish, immaculate and comfortable. The bed was a small slice of heaven and hard to get out of in the morning to take an outdoor rain shower. The wireless phone was a nice touch so you could make or take calls while lounging by the outdoor Thai-style sala. Too bad there was no iPod docking station for music.

The location was secluded and very quiet but the beach was not good for swimming and the sand was course. Better to just lounge around the main infinity pool. It was a very nice pool to have a morning swim and the time we were there my girlfriend and I were the only ones using the pool so it was quite relaxing and enjoyable. In fact, it often felt like we had rented out the whole place and were the only ones staying at the resort, which made for an extra fabulous and romantic stay. But bring your own drinks cause I ordered an orange juice by the pool and it set me back 250 THB!! This for a mediocre o.j. in a small sized glass!! That's ridiculous!

All in all it was an excellent stay. The villa had great attention to detail and was a blissful oasis to relax and enjoy our romantic holiday. Unfortunately, the service and pricing of rooms and f&b leaves something to be desired. I would definitely not pay rack rates but with discount rates such as the one I was able to receive, I would not hesitate to stay again at the Villa Lawana Premier Private Pool Villa room 110.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed in Villa Lawana 8 days in late August for our honeymoon. It was our fist time in Thailand and Koh Samui so i dont have the chance to compare with other resorts in the island. However i have to say that we so loved the hotel that we hardly could leave it. Especially the atmosphere and the architecture of the hotel and the rooms are unique. You feel very comfortable like you own the place. Nobody disturbs you, you have perfect privacy and relaxation. We stayed in private pool suite. And it was incredible the feeling to have a private little pool in your own little garden. And the room was very romantic and comfortable. Everything has an open air feeling with utmost privacy which we admired. Even the toilets and showers. Housekeeping was perfect, room was always very clean and very well equipped with even little compliments. Tv and channels were great. Public pool has again a great view and very comfortable atmosphere. The hotel has great landscape with beatiful gardens and plants. Frogs and lizards pass by without disturbing you:) Staff was very kind and helpful. We had a complimentary dinner at the hotel included in our honeymoon package. We loved the food and the treatment. Breakfast was also good though we are a mediterrenean couple:). The location of the hotel is also very convenient with enough distance from the crowd but close enough with an island version of tuk tuk for 50 baht pp to central chaweng. We had very amusing and great memories with security guys in the entrance of the hotel. They are extremely sweet and even help you to cross the street and find you vehicles to wherever you want to go and even bargain for you for the price with the drivers. The beach of the hotel is not frequently used as i saw since the tide is low and the sand and the water is not very convenient for enjoying and swimming. You may seek for that joy in central chaweng beach or better in other islands. My only negative comment could be that mosquitos practically finished 50% of my newly wed blood:) during my stay. However i believe this is unavoidable in this island with all the flora and the humid. Hotel is doing periodical pest practices but our room was next to the frog pool :) which made the case worse i think. Maybe they can consider paying more attention to take control of that specific area of the hotel. Overall i had a perfect honeymoon especially thanks to Villa Lawana which was proposed to me by my agency here in Turkey as the only real five star hotel in the region. I emphasize that the best feature of the hotel is the architecture and the rooms and i strongly suggest it (especially private pool suite) for the honeymooners and couples.
Best regards,
Z.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toscana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

The hotel is quite nice, the problem is the staff and the mangament (very poor and
with not an international standard).
Prices very high and not aligned with the standard proposed.
Particularly negative the food the in the Pool bar, the reception and cashier
(ther is always something they didn't know...).
It shoud be useful if the property could spend few days in an inyternational hotel in BKK (for example The Peninsula) for learning a little bit what is "an international luxury standard!!"
(it is fun the Pensinsula, for exmaple, a 5Lux, is cheaper than VIlla Lawana...!!!!)
I discourage everyone to spend a fortune in money in VIlla Lawana.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

Stayed in a premier private pool villa in Aug 09.

Room: EXCELLENT: bedroom was a little small but the outdoor sala (outdoor undercover area) and 4m x 4m plunge pool with direct access from the outdoor bathroom and toilet more than made up for it; nothing better than coming back late from Chewang beach all hot and dunking into the plunge pool to cool off - definately recommend this rather than pool side villa as high walls gave good privacy.

Service: AVERAGE: not what you would expect from a '5-star' resort; slow service but they do try; i do not recommend this place if you're after excellent service; the restaurant service was again slow and sometime unhelpful but we made do with it

Pool: EXCELLENT: infinity edge pool; large enough with enough day beds; good views looking out to the ocean

Beach: NOT GREAT: the beach area in front of Lawana is not great; sand is coarse and rough; water is warm but is full of large rocks; sand/water at Chewang is 10times better so if your after a beach feel, take a tuk-tuk (5min at max 50b pp) to Chewang or even walk it (20-25min)

Food: AVERAGE: buffet breakfast OK (having spent 4 mornings at the Sheraton in Bangkok, Lawana was always up against it!); OceanKiss and Tree Hug - over priced and food not that good. We ended up walking up to the neighbouring resorts (Coral & Nora) and ate there; cheaper, a lot more variety and better quality food - i suggest do to do the same or eat in Chaweng where food is even cheaper and comparable quality

Overall: EXCELLENT: would definately recommend this resort purely based on the room; we were relaxed, we're always cool either in the pool or airconditioned room; so if you're after a relaxing time where its nice and peaceful, stay here in a private pool villa.

Tip: don't take a taxi to Chewang - not worth it! try to negotiate with tuk-tuk drivers - you should never pay more than 50b pp each way; we sometimes were able to negotiate down to 40b pp each way so make sure to always try to bargain!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa

Address: 92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the quiet, pristine northern end of Chaweng Beach, Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa offers peerless luxury Koh Samui accommodation just steps away from the ocean. Watch the sun rise over Samui’s palm forested coastline. Recline in rooms and suites inspired by the island’s original Chinese merchant settlers. Experience the perfect romantic dinner for two in a setting of your choice, accompanied by the freshest international cuisine.With room sizes starting at 61 square metres, Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa provides leading island resort accommodation. From the luxuriously appointed rooms and spacious Koh Samui pool villas to the resort’s communal facilities and restaurants, each guest is treated to the finest in services and amenities. Take a dip in the beachside infinity edge pool, dine in our treehouse restaurant overlooking the bay, or keep in touch with friends back home thanks to free Wi-Fi throughout the resort.While Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa’s location is quiet and tranquil, the buzz and excitement of Chaweng Beach lie just around the corner, with an array of international restaurants and local shops to take care of your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Splendia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Lawana Hotel Chaweng
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Bophut
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.