We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 stars 858 Reviews
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Fantastic resort, nice villas with well maintained gardens. Rooms with small pools are just amazing to feel the vacation mood with keeping the privacy at the same time.
Great breakfast with very wide range of cuisines from all over the world. I really reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: take the rooms close to the beach with private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Pingwin66,

Great to hear that you enjoyed the resort as well as our breakfast spread.

Thanks as well for recommending us and hopefully we will be able to welcome your friends and yourself soon again to our resort.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    224
    52
    30
    20
See reviews for
127
475
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Not enough superlatives for this resort!
Great location with a private beach, about a 5 minute drive from central Chaweng.
The service was exceptional from start to finish with every member of staff attentive, helpful and smiley. Breakfast was top class.
The whole resort is stylish and relaxing in true Thai style. Pool area fantastic.
Very romantic honeymoon stay, highly recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear alexalex123,

Thank you very much for your review and compliments. I’m glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we would be looking forward welcoming you back in the future.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This must be one of the greatest resorts I have ever stayed. I booked a pool access room and it was excellent. Large outdoor area to relax, very nice bathroom and just the right privacy. I was lucky to avoid any screaming kids in any of the rooms sharing pool with me, so it was nice and quiet.
This place may be best for a romantic setting. I was on my own and found it wonderful. They probably have the best breakfast buffet I have ever seen. I had lunch at their restaurant and found the food excellent, however pricy. The SPA was wonderful, but ridicularly expensive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Jorulf,

Thank you very much for staying with us and your compliments about your stay.

As you can imagine… entrance to heaven has its price and lucky enough it didn’t cost you your life this time. ;-)

Looking forward welcoming you back to heaven hopefully soon.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I actually live in Koh Samui and work as a teacher on the island. I took my class of children aged 10-11 to visit the Anantara Lawana. We visited to kitchen and learnt how to bake bread. The resort is so beautiful with a calm, relaxed ambiance. The villas are beautiful and have their own pools. The restaurant area is really nice with gorgeous sea views. The resort is so peaceful yet it is ideally situated very close to Chaweng (you can walk there in 15 minutes). They have an award winning restaurant called Tree Tops,in which each table is set in its own private tree house. It looked amazing and I will definitely be coming here in future for the evening.

I would like to thank the Anantara Lawana resort for allowing us to visit and for giving us a tour, I would love to come back and stay one day. Thank you to Lars and Matthias for kindly hosting us. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear denman84,

It was a true pleasure having you and the children coming for a visit and I’m glad to hear that they enjoyed the “hands on” baking lesson with Chef Matthias in our bakery.

My apology once again for filling up your students with sugar and then leaving them with you… I am sure you had a fun filled afternoon!

Feel free stopping by anytime for a coffee or drink.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

As above I would purchase a room on the beach here and be waited on hand and foot until the funds dried out. Probably wouldn't take that long here but it would be worth it. The distinct smell of Thailand is not present here but the smell of opulence is. The resort is a lot bigger than at first glance and you cannot avoid the feeling of envy if your below stairs neighbour has a pool even if you have a patio with a view. But I digress, would've loved to stay longer and one night was a waste really. Treetop dining looks immense but be prepared to pay a Thai waiters yearly salary in a sitting

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear CptnAwsum,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback and compliments here.

I am glad to hear that you had such wonderful stay with us. But in all fairness I have to mention that we are paying our waiters much better than you seem to expect… or if you are serious and prepared to spend a yearly salary of one of my team members I would be extremely delighted having you as one of my guests in Tree Tops. Just please give me at least a 3 days notice as I will have to stock up on my best Champagne… ;-) Ensure you bring enough friends in order to reach the spending level.

Let me know once the lottery win is in and we can get into negotiations for a long term rental of one of our Sea View Pool Villas.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

the only good things in the hotel are the service and the breakfast.
The swimming pool is lousy , no shadow at all the sun burns you almost to death.
The property sits on a hill and you are always sweating to get around.
The rooms are expensive and small.
Better choose another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Uwe Jens P,

I appreciate your compliments for the service team and the breakfast, but was certainly surprised about some of your other comments.

Looking around our pool area we have umbrellas for each set of sunbeds. In addition a couple of large coconut trees (around 1 dozen very close by) are surrounding our pool that are giving shade and sun protection. If I wouldn’t have been able to find your reservation profile I would have assumed that you have mixed us up with another resort, but apparently you stayed with us so unfortunately I have no explanation why you couldn’t find shade around our pool…

As mentioned, having reviewed your reservation you have participated in a special discounted offer as an Anantara Vacation Club owner which gave you a significant discount. Therefore I am surprised to hear that you considered the room as being expensive, especially as we have given you a complimentary upgrade to a room on the ground floor because of your recent accident that made it difficult for you to walk.

Again, I’m sorry to hear that we haven’t met all of your expectations but glad to see that the service and breakfast was worthwhile…

Regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiangmai
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed over last weekend, Staff in generally friendly and well trained especially the front office staffs. always smiling and ever ready to help. checked out were smooth. Excellent breakfast buffet. However the room were a bit disappointing with small window,bathrooms amenities very poor for a 5 star resort, dispensers for shower gel, shampoo and conditioner and not all dispenser are working and it is frustrating when you take a shower but in general and in fairness the bathroom is clean and spacious.

Overall myself and my partner enjoyed our short stay in the resort althought there are not many wow to share

Room Tip: Request for a room nearer to beach so you don't have to walk too far for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Timsaithong,

Thank you for your review and constructive comments. My apology that the dispensers haven’t been working properly and we will certainly alert our team to pay better attention to this.

We would hope getting the chance welcoming you back, potentially for a longer stay, and provide you with a couple of wow experiences as we did for so many other guests.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa

Address: 92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the quiet, pristine northern end of Chaweng Beach, Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa offers peerless luxury Koh Samui accommodation just steps away from the ocean. Watch the sun rise over Samui’s palm forested coastline. Recline in rooms and suites inspired by the island’s original Chinese merchant settlers. Experience the perfect romantic dinner for two in a setting of your choice, accompanied by the freshest international cuisine.With room sizes starting at 61 square metres, Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa provides leading island resort accommodation. From the luxuriously appointed rooms and spacious Koh Samui pool villas to the resort’s communal facilities and restaurants, each guest is treated to the finest in services and amenities. Take a dip in the beachside infinity edge pool, dine in our treehouse restaurant overlooking the bay, or keep in touch with friends back home thanks to free Wi-Fi throughout the resort.While Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa’s location is quiet and tranquil, the buzz and excitement of Chaweng Beach lie just around the corner, with an array of international restaurants and local shops to take care of your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Lawana Hotel Chaweng
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Bophut
Anantara Lawana Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.