We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I was a lottery winner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Saving
Ranked #6 of 100 Hotels in Chaweng
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If I was a lottery winner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

As above I would purchase a room on the beach here and be waited on hand and foot until the funds dried out. Probably wouldn't take that long here but it would be worth it. The distinct smell of Thailand is not present here but the smell of opulence is. The resort is a lot bigger than at first glance and you cannot avoid the feeling of envy if your below stairs neighbour has a pool even if you have a patio with a view. But I digress, would've loved to stay longer and one night was a waste really. Treetop dining looks immense but be prepared to pay a Thai waiters yearly salary in a sitting

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear CptnAwsum,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback and compliments here.

I am glad to hear that you had such wonderful stay with us. But in all fairness I have to mention that we are paying our waiters much better than you seem to expect… or if you are serious and prepared to spend a yearly salary of one of my team members I would be extremely delighted having you as one of my guests in Tree Tops. Just please give me at least a 3 days notice as I will have to stock up on my best Champagne… ;-) Ensure you bring enough friends in order to reach the spending level.

Let me know once the lottery win is in and we can get into negotiations for a long term rental of one of our Sea View Pool Villas.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    201
    49
    29
    15
See reviews for
113
412
26
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essen, Germany
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

the only good things in the hotel are the service and the breakfast.
The swimming pool is lousy , no shadow at all the sun burns you almost to death.
The property sits on a hill and you are always sweating to get around.
The rooms are expensive and small.
Better choose another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Uwe Jens P,

I appreciate your compliments for the service team and the breakfast, but was certainly surprised about some of your other comments.

Looking around our pool area we have umbrellas for each set of sunbeds. In addition a couple of large coconut trees (around 1 dozen very close by) are surrounding our pool that are giving shade and sun protection. If I wouldn’t have been able to find your reservation profile I would have assumed that you have mixed us up with another resort, but apparently you stayed with us so unfortunately I have no explanation why you couldn’t find shade around our pool…

As mentioned, having reviewed your reservation you have participated in a special discounted offer as an Anantara Vacation Club owner which gave you a significant discount. Therefore I am surprised to hear that you considered the room as being expensive, especially as we have given you a complimentary upgrade to a room on the ground floor because of your recent accident that made it difficult for you to walk.

Again, I’m sorry to hear that we haven’t met all of your expectations but glad to see that the service and breakfast was worthwhile…

Regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiangmai
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed over last weekend, Staff in generally friendly and well trained especially the front office staffs. always smiling and ever ready to help. checked out were smooth. Excellent breakfast buffet. However the room were a bit disappointing with small window,bathrooms amenities very poor for a 5 star resort, dispensers for shower gel, shampoo and conditioner and not all dispenser are working and it is frustrating when you take a shower but in general and in fairness the bathroom is clean and spacious.

Overall myself and my partner enjoyed our short stay in the resort althought there are not many wow to share

Room Tip: Request for a room nearer to beach so you don't have to walk too far for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Timsaithong,

Thank you for your review and constructive comments. My apology that the dispensers haven’t been working properly and we will certainly alert our team to pay better attention to this.

We would hope getting the chance welcoming you back, potentially for a longer stay, and provide you with a couple of wow experiences as we did for so many other guests.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I visited the Tree Tops restaurant and booked a table from overseas via email a few weeks prior. I had to make several amendments to the reservations prior to my arrival, and all of my emails were answered with utmost professionalism.

As we arrived at the restaurant, the view was magnificent and the staff was very friendly and professional as well. Food was fresh and visually pleasing.

Good value + Great Service + Great Food + Great View = Must visit when you're in Ko Samui!. Book ahead!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear SFOtravelguy,

Thank you very much for your compliments about our Tree Tops Restaurant and Reservation handling.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon trip of SE Asia, we stayed in a private plunge pool room. From the welcome to the very end, there wasn't a thing we could fault. Our room was delightful, we loved the plunge pool and it was worth the extra money. The infinity pool is spectacular and so is the setting. The buffet breakfast catered for everyone, there wasn't anything you could think of that wasn't there, including woodfired pizzas, freshly made crepes and Thai delights, easy to over eat! The bed was comfy, the shower could have been a little warmer and more powerful but this was minor. We were treated to a special cake to celebrate our honeymoon. The doorman was wonderful and helped is cross the road which was a lovely touch. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Katie G,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us and appreciate the time you have taken to share your feedback.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back… maybe on your next Anniversary?

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights in a plunge pool villa and absolutely loved it!! As with other reviewers have mentioned it really is a tranquil place and the staff do go out of their way to make you feel welcome and relaxed. We used the front desk to arrange tours for us and they were more than helpful.

We dined at Treetops one night and that was marvelous, the food and the ambience of the restaurant is really lovely. On another night we opted for 'Dining by Design' which was very private and romantic.

I loved the buffet breakfast, especially the coconut juice, fresh pineapple and chocolate croissants!

If you are looking for a peaceful and relaxing resort for your time in Ko Samui the Anantara Lawana is it!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear dnguyen84,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay that much and also took advantage of our special “Dining by Design” on the beach.

Hopefully we will be able welcoming you back one day.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Anantara Lawana is a beautiful resort with amazing service though a little far.The rooms are well furnished and I liked the way they add personal touch by writing on the leaf. It Has one of the best Breakfast Buffet I have had.Will surely visit again and highly recommend it for a romantic stay

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Traveller868686,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your positive feedback here on TripAdvisor.

We are looking forward welcoming you and your friends back to Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa

Address: 92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the quiet, pristine northern end of Chaweng Beach, Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa offers peerless luxury Koh Samui accommodation just steps away from the ocean. Watch the sun rise over Samui’s palm forested coastline. Recline in rooms and suites inspired by the island’s original Chinese merchant settlers. Experience the perfect romantic dinner for two in a setting of your choice, accompanied by the freshest international cuisine.With room sizes starting at 61 square metres, Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa provides leading island resort accommodation. From the luxuriously appointed rooms and spacious Koh Samui pool villas to the resort’s communal facilities and restaurants, each guest is treated to the finest in services and amenities. Take a dip in the beachside infinity edge pool, dine in our treehouse restaurant overlooking the bay, or keep in touch with friends back home thanks to free Wi-Fi throughout the resort.While Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa’s location is quiet and tranquil, the buzz and excitement of Chaweng Beach lie just around the corner, with an array of international restaurants and local shops to take care of your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Lawana Hotel Chaweng
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Bophut
Anantara Lawana Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;