We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 stars 863 Reviews
Bratislava, Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Really great choice to spend our time on Chaweng. We chose Anantara Lawana for our holiday because the references were very good. The resort is located in a very quiet area of Chaweng but it is closed to the center of Chaweng. We came to spend Christmas and New Year´s Eve in Thailand and our stay at Anantara Lawana made it a really memorable time! We stayed there 13 nights and we would like to thank the whole staff who were from the first day to the last very friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 305 with a plunge pool which was very nice and comfortable. The bathroom and the toilet were a great suprise because they were openair :) The staff at pool bar was very friendly. We had our sunbeds ready every morning.
We wold like to thank especially Kate from the Ocean Kiss restaurant who was always smiling as the rest of the staff.
It was a nice activity of the resort that they gave gifts to children of a local school where we as the guests were more than welcome to participate.
NYE celebration was very well prepared with great buffet, nice music and with a charming atmosphere. It was a perfect party!
We also recommend dinner at the Tree Tops restaurant. It was a great experience (especially the option to choose from eight different types of salt). Serving of coctails was unusual aswell. Go for the duck!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Lucia B,

A very Happy New Year again and thank you for staying with us over this special period of the year. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed not only our Festive arrangements but as well participated in our Charity Event for children of the local school. The feedback we received not only from our guests but especially from the children was overwhelming and we will most certainly repeat this on a regular basis.

Once again Thank You on behalf of the entire team (and Kate) and we are looking forward welcoming you back.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    225
    52
    31
    20
See reviews for
129
478
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Anantara Lawana ( Chaweng)is the most beautiful hotel in Samui. As a professional travel agent and tour guide I already travel around 56 countries and stayed in so many resorts and hotels.,... but heaven is this one. Professionalism, sympathy, beauty, surprising and all the best adjectives of the world. Great staff, great director Lars. Since my arrival in the airport, the check-in, the room ( stayed in a poll villa and recommend), reservations for dinners, imagine even help to negotiate the price for taxis!!! Ih! Ih!, the lovely breakfast, the service in the beach and in the swimming pool, the tree Tops restaurant... UAU!!!
So, definitely I will return, I advise who is reading this to go there.
Thank you to Took ( from reception), Lars and all the staff. Hope to be there this year.

Room Tip: Pool villa, privacy and they are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear paprica77,

Thank you very much for your warm words of appreciation and encouragement which were especially delightful in consideration of the review I had to respond to just before this one from another user. 

Receiving such compliments especially from a Travel professional like you are is even more rewarding and I will ensure that it will be shared amongst the team, including Khun Took which is just about to receive her first baby and will return again in March.

Feel free getting in touch with me directly for your upcoming travel.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We spent 5 days at the resort post new years at the resort. we were a group of friends and had 8 rooms. none of us had been to the hotel and purely went on their website info and photos and reviews on travel sites. we paid more than US$600- per night per room. Am sorry to say that the hotel was much below our expectations. its more like a 3 star guest house (thought they have a 5 star rating). the rooms, the service, house keeping, food and most importantly the attitude of the staff. not upto the mark at all… specially you don't expect such attitude in Thailand. Normally the hotel staff is most hospitable and courteous. The rooms were full of mosquitoes (no mosquito nets in rooms) . they would burn mosquito coils in rooms which would invariably give a bad throat. but no option. every room had a couple of lizards roaming around. the staff was of no help when complained. the towels/ sheets were torn. bathroom showers didn't have any pressure at all. any complaint about food didn't go down as well, the staff would just argue about how the chef thinks that was the right way. Our group was stuck with this hotel since it was a prepaid booking. out of desperation we even offered to pay penalty of one night charge and refund the rest, but no success. we requested to speak with the manager/ general manger a few times, but no response. No senior staff had the courtesy to meet or even speak over the phone. it was like being a hostage . we are definitely never making a non cancellable booking ever again and definitely never going to any anantara hotel. was our first and last time …

Room Tip: LOOK FOR OTHER OPTIONS… we had pool access rooms and deluxe rooms. both were horrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear AdiJain,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to address your concerns after we discovered it a mission impossible to make successful appointment with you at which everybody actually turns up.

I am surprised what you mentioned about the information you had prior your stay about our resort as you have been introduced to me as a “very close friend” of a previous guest that has stayed with us previously and had since then introduced several other friends and family members to me that have stayed with us and have been more than satisfied. In turn they introduced their friends and family members to me on regular occasions.

You have received a significant discount on your room rate as a result of this introduction and we accepted several changes and adjustments to your booking in order to fulfill your requirements.

As much as I agree that we are not perfect in any way, I have to say that my team is being complimented on regular basis for their helpfulness and hospitality. When being treated politely and with appropriate manners they will go out of their way and beyond expectations in order to make any guest happy.

Traveling into the tropics and especially to a resort with extensive gardens you will have to expect that you will encounter occasionally animals like mosquitoes and little geckos (which are actually eating the mosquito for you). A 100% mosquito and lizard free environment is unfortunately an expectation we cannot fulfill and will not justify a free upgrade or complimentary night. You would have faced the same situation in the higher room types actually as well, so it would have not solved your “problem”.

I am sorry to hear about your disappointment that we did not manage to meet, but I have to say that it certainly did not lack efforts from our end to make this happening.

I agree with your statement that a highly discounted prepaid booking with high restrictions over a high demanded period might not be the right choice for your travels and would recommend you investing a couple of extra dollars but secure flexibility.

Regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed at the Anantara Lawana for Christmas 2013 for 10 nights, and were thrilled with our stay there.
Firstly, it has to be said that the staff, all of the staff, are absolutely amazing. They make you feel so welcome and are great with the children. Thank you for making us feel so welcome and looked after.
The hotel is a wonderful size and laid out so that you don't all feel like you are on top of each other and it feels very quiet and peaceful. Great location just minutes from Chaweng shopping area to go and stock up on bits and pieces. Across the road from a convenience store and a pharmacy - always useful.
We had one of the pool villas for our family of 2 adults and 2 children. We could partition them off at bed time and all enjoy our own space.
The rooms are getting a bit dated, and there wasn't nearly enough storage space for clothes in the rooms which is a shame. We also had a problem with sewage smells coming from the bathroom drains, but the hotel tried to deal with this immediately.
Room amenities were good too: plenty of bottled water for drinking and brushing teeth with, then even had toothbrushes and shaving kits, flip flops and combs.

The beach was small, but never felt overcrowded. The water rather murky and full of seaweed - but it was rather windy so I think it was the time of year. There are vendors on the beach - but they are never overbearing and there was a great lady we bought fresh cooked sweetcorn and beautifully cut mango and pineapple from. (lunch sorted at a bargain price).
The food in the hotel was good if a little limited as other than the Tree Tops exclusive restaurant - there was only 1 restaurant to eat at and after 10 days we were a bit bored of it. There were however some great 'event' nights that included bbq's on the beach with a wonderful Thai music and dance show, and a superb 'fire' show.
The hotel is a short drive from the airport (10minutes) and we feared we would hear airplanes all day long, but thankfully not at all.
For us the weather at this time of year was ideal. It wasn't overly hot, rather breezy on a few days, but sunny enough to get some colour.
Important to note: Don't forget Mosquito repellant - those beasts out there are brutal and we were bitten repeatedly even with the repellant, so heaven forbid had be not had it.

Would we go back: definitely!
Thank you Anantara.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Suppli22,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your family vacation with us that much and appreciate the time you have taken to share this detailed review on TripAdvisor.

My apology for some of the minor challenges, but I am happy to hear that my team was able to sort them all out for you.

Once again a Happy New Year and we all at Anantara Lawana are looking forward welcoming you back.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Anantara Hotels experience is simply beyond expectations. There is no single other hotel chain that offers such warm hospitality and attention to details. From gardener to general manager, passing by bell boys, concierges, front desk, the hearth on the hand is truly more than words can tell. Again here at Anantara Lawana I was treated more than a simple guest. I will be looking forward experiencing Anantara again and again... Thank you :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Mat O,

Thank you very much for this review as well as for the one for our Tree Tops Restaurant. Both of them are very appreciated.

We are looking forward hopefully being able to welcome you back soon to any Anantara Resort.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerlen, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We stay at Anantara for 7 nights at the end of November and we were deeply disappointed by the state of the hotel, especially the room (we stayed in a plunge pool room). The curtains in the bathroom were filthy and full of mold and so were the wind covers from outside area (as you can see from the pictures). I am of course aware of the climate but this is no excuse, mold should be cleaned as is very unhealthy. The AC and fridge installation are old and noisy and woke up a few times from the noise in the night. The service was ok but not great by Asian or 5* standards. The property set up is nice or better said, was nice several years ago and now is in desperate need of maintenance. We did notice that public areas were better maintained than the room. I think is shameful for a chain as Anantara that takes pride in their hospitality to rent rooms in this state, it shouldn't even happen in a 1* star hotel so we were shocked and disappointed by it. The room we stayed in is 529 and gave front desk feedback when we checked out. I hope management will not find some lame excuse and actual do something about it so that other guests don't experience the same.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Suzypui,

I am sorry to hear that you haven’t been able to enjoy your stay with us and I certainly apologize for the incidents you faced. Your comments have been investigated and addressed wherever possible.

We pride ourselves in very high service standards as you can read in previous reviews and I am sorry to hear that we failed reaching those during your stay. A point that we will certainly address in upcoming trainings.

I agree that mold is something that should not be expected or accepted in your room. We have deep cleaned the blinds you mentioned immediately after we located your room, as a room 529 doesn’t exist in our property.

We have no interest in putting forward lame excuses but have a very high interest in reflecting and addressing statements of our guests, no matter if they are justified or not. Therefore I hope our action finds your satisfaction.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hotel is really pleasant, the staff incredibly friendly, the pool and beach very relaxing.

The only mishap is with the Tree Tops restaurant: when you have such a raved about restaurant that has only 8 tables and your hotel is fully-booked, my humble opinion is that you should reserve it, at least with highest priority, to your in-house guests. And you may want to point to making a reservation for the restaurant at check-in. It would avoid situations where the restaurant is fully-booked during one'a entire stay, making said one feel she should have booked in 2012....

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Claudia E,

A very Happy New Year and thank you for your compliments on your resort experience with us.

I am sorry to hear that we haven’t been able to accommodate you in our Tree Tops Restaurant. The good news is that even during the high season we are usually able to find a table if booked 2-3 days in advance and your concern of having to book a year in advance are not necessary. If there are special requirements in terms of timing and table location we might have some challenges though.

We hope that you enjoyed our other restaurants and looking forward welcoming you back in the future. Please feel free getting in touch with me directly so I can assist you with the hotel and restaurant booking.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa

Address: 92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the quiet, pristine northern end of Chaweng Beach, Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa offers peerless luxury Koh Samui accommodation just steps away from the ocean. Watch the sun rise over Samui’s palm forested coastline. Recline in rooms and suites inspired by the island’s original Chinese merchant settlers. Experience the perfect romantic dinner for two in a setting of your choice, accompanied by the freshest international cuisine.With room sizes starting at 61 square metres, Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa provides leading island resort accommodation. From the luxuriously appointed rooms and spacious Koh Samui pool villas to the resort’s communal facilities and restaurants, each guest is treated to the finest in services and amenities. Take a dip in the beachside infinity edge pool, dine in our treehouse restaurant overlooking the bay, or keep in touch with friends back home thanks to free Wi-Fi throughout the resort.While Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa’s location is quiet and tranquil, the buzz and excitement of Chaweng Beach lie just around the corner, with an array of international restaurants and local shops to take care of your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Lawana Hotel Chaweng
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Bophut
Anantara Lawana Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.