We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Comfortable luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is the place to come to if you want a great hotel but without the hefty price tag and unnecessary stiffness that comes with the super deluxe hotels. Within 5 minutes' drive of the airport and with its own private beach, I don't think you can go wrong with this hotel. Don't expect 5 star service and facilities, but do expect a nice, relaxing holiday with a great beach and pool and a great breakfast selection. We stayed in one of the cheaper rooms but it was fine for our needs, if a little noisy because of its proximity to the main road leading into Chaweng!

The one thing that I really didn't like was that the reception staff constantly try to get you to attend a 90-minute presentation for the Anantara Vacation Club (timeshare type thing), even after you repeatedly say no. That almost ruined our stay.

If we come back to KS we would certainly think about coming back to this hotel, as long as they promise not to try to sell us any timeshares!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear TokyoLight,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and consider coming back again.

Apparently we haven’t reached with you our usual high standards of service which we are usually complimented on often. We see this as a positive challenge to refocus and improve further our consistency.

My sincere apology for the interruptions from our colleagues of the Anantara Vacation Club. I have shared your feedback with them and will ensure that this won’t be repeated.

Please let me know in advance next time you are coming so I can look after your booking personally.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    224
    52
    30
    20
See reviews for
126
475
28
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just returned from a week long stay at this paradisiac resort. Instalations are great, location perfect, plenty of food but the service overtakes everything. From the hotel manager to the pool staff everybody was just fantastic. Wouldn't recomend it for children as there is not much for them to do there. We stayed in a Plunge Pool room which I highly recommend. Dont miss the SPA for a once in your lifetime massage. My only complain is that I gained at least two kilograms !!
Cant wait to return next year.

Room Tip: Pamper yourself in a Pool Plunge room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Roberto S,

Thank you very much for your feedback which is highly appreciated. I will certainly pass on the compliments to the team.

Please let me know once you finalized your travel plans next year and I would be delighted to help you with it. At the same time I might show you were our Fitness Center is in order to avoid a similar incident of weight gain like this year.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Today after spending six nights in this Resort I can say it was a great choice.
Indeed this is a 5 star Resort. The rooms are large and luxurious and equipped like a 5-star resort. Breakfast is something hard to describe. Huge selection of different foods. Everyone will find what to choose. The food is very high quality and delicious.
Resort is not cheap at all. About $ 220 a night but still was worth it. Anyone looking for a quality Resort this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear oren3417,

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and in particular our breakfast this much.

My team and I are looking forward welcoming you back hopefully soon.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

What a great time we had! My wife and I had booked a Plunge Pool Villa, and were delighted with the size and facilities offered in the room, large king size bed, Open air bathroom with a fantastic rain shower, and of course the plunge pool with Thai Sala adjacent a great place for relaxing in the evening after a hard day sitting by the main pool and Ocean Kiss Restaurant, The Resort is on the side of a hill far enough away from the main drag of Chaweng, but only a THB200 taxi ride if you needed shopping. All rooms were on the side of the hill and a buggy service was easily called from reception to get you down to the beach and restaurant. Another great facility was the Anantara Spa - what a great hour that was - pure relaxation.
The Ocean Kiss restaurant served one of the best buffet breakfasts around and offered lunch and dinner menus with great selections of Thai and International cuisine. And finally - the staff were second to none with great efficiency and friendliness.
We loved our time here and will return one day.

Room Tip: Choose a plunge pool villa for that little exta touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear davphill,

Thank you very much on behalf of the entire team here at Anantara Lawana for the compliments about your stay and the service you experienced.

Feel free getting in touch with me should your travel plans getting into action.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I staying here recently and we absolutely loved it. The resort is in a great location, walking distance (15 mins) to the centre of Chaweng, just out of the hustle and bustle. It has a private beach with an amazing infinity pool overlooking the beach. The service was faultless and the food divine, particularly at Tree Tops restaurant, where we had one of the most outstanding dining experiences ever! The rooms were clean and very comfortable and the open air bathroom was very different. We had a villa with a private plunge pool which was gorgeous and very relaxing with a beer in hand. We highly recommend this resort and cant wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a private plunge pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Jacqui W,

Thank you for your compliments and the recent stay you had with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the Plunge Pool room that much and had the chance to relax.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I decided we wanted to visit Thailand and our friends recommended Koh Samui. After looking online and on Trip Advisor we booked Anantara Lawana - we were thrilled with our choice when we arrived! We were upgraded to a plunge pool villa and the staff were excellent in making us feel welcome. The accommodation was fantastic and we ate in the Oceankiss restaurant most nights as the food was amazing. The only thing we would comment on is the Treetops restaurant, quite expensive and found the menu quite limited and a bit too creative for us although the food we chose was lovely. Thank you for making our first Thailand experience an unforgettable one!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear JMstyle,

Thank you for trying out Thailand and our resort. Great to hear that you enjoyed both and had a memorable stay.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Anantara Lawana is one of the better resorts on the Island, It has a private beach away from the crowd and fuzz, but it is 15 minutes walk on the beach or a 5 minute drive with a taxi to the center of Chaweng... The resort is very well kept, the service is great and the Plunge pool suite was perfect.

Obviously this is not a resort for the budget travelers as the prices of the rooms and at the pool restaurant are at least double then what you will pay in any restaurant or bar along the beach But it also dictates the type of people you will find around you...

The private beach is amazing and very quiet and the swimming pool is amazing... if you are looking for a high quality resort and total relaxation, this is the place for you.

There is hardly any activities for little children so you don't see many families with Kids... we were there with out teen aged kids and they had great fun. When they wanted action they just went to Cheweng center on their own.

Room Tip: I would defiantly recommend the plunge pool rooms, I think they are great value for money and provi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Eran H,

Thank you very much for taking the time sharing your feedback with us and the TripAdvisor community. We are glad to hear that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed a wonderful holiday with your family.

Please feel free getting in touch with me directly should you wish to return and I will ensure we block one of those Plunge Pool Rooms you like so much.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa

Address: 92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the quiet, pristine northern end of Chaweng Beach, Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa offers peerless luxury Koh Samui accommodation just steps away from the ocean. Watch the sun rise over Samui’s palm forested coastline. Recline in rooms and suites inspired by the island’s original Chinese merchant settlers. Experience the perfect romantic dinner for two in a setting of your choice, accompanied by the freshest international cuisine.With room sizes starting at 61 square metres, Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa provides leading island resort accommodation. From the luxuriously appointed rooms and spacious Koh Samui pool villas to the resort’s communal facilities and restaurants, each guest is treated to the finest in services and amenities. Take a dip in the beachside infinity edge pool, dine in our treehouse restaurant overlooking the bay, or keep in touch with friends back home thanks to free Wi-Fi throughout the resort.While Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa’s location is quiet and tranquil, the buzz and excitement of Chaweng Beach lie just around the corner, with an array of international restaurants and local shops to take care of your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Lawana Hotel Chaweng
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Bophut
Anantara Lawana Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.