We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Resort and Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
Pattaya, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Resort and Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Samui has many options to choose from for accommodation and restaurants. We chose to stay at Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa. Having stayed at other Anantara's, we were aware of the uniqueness of the brand, quality of the accommodation and the personalized service levels from the staff. Anantara Lawana was no exception. The Anantara Pool Suite was amazing (nice touches through out the room, attractive design, very comfortable bed, separate living area, spacious bathroom, outdoor bathtup, outdoor lounge area and private swimming pool!). The dining was great (Tree Tops was the highlight) and the friendly service right from the time of check in is something we will always remember. The pool service staff, OceanKiss breakfast team, Tree Tops staff and even personalized service from the General Manager was really appreciated. My wife loved the spa and thought the therapist did a great job. I can highly recommend all aspects of this resort. It was a really wonderful stay experience.

Room Tip: The Pool Suites are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Dylan C,

Thank you very much for all the compliments. We are delighted to read that we have been able to life up and even exceed the expectations our other Anantara sister properties have created you.

We hope being able to welcome you back in the future. Feel free getting in touch with me directly.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    221
    52
    30
    17
See reviews for
122
461
28
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have stayed at Anantara Lawana twice (May 2012 and Feb 2013), both for special occasions, and have only fantastic things to say! We have also visited the Bophut property and while lovely, Lawana is the one we will revisit.

From the moment you walk into the open air reception, you feel right at home, pampered, and relaxed. The design of the hotel flows down to to the pool, bar, and Chaweng Beach. You must try Treetops if you are celebrating something; the experience is as good as the food.

Honestly, the only negative I can think of is that there was some construction happening closeby on our last trip, which was a bit noisy and dusty near our room (though you have total privacy with the greenery and walls). Then again, that's not in the control of the resort.

Rooms - We have stayed in both the deluxe room and the plunge pool room, both are very comfortably appointed and kept extremely clean, neat and tidy. Every last detail is covered, down to the hand written weather reports on your bed at turndown. You can completely unwind in the privacy of your room with no need to leave if you prefer. Photos don't do the beautiful rooms and bathrooms justice.

Spa - Fantastic service and treatments. You are given ample time to relax before and after the appointment with refreshments, and every effort is made to ensure your comfort during the treatment.

Service - The people are the number one reason why we come back! So many amazing people to mention, including A (unfortunately for us, he has moved on), Kate, Sunny, and M, among many, many others. They know what you need before you do, and no request is too great or small, whether it's arranging day trips, organising rose petals baths and champagne, or finding your beach chair has been moved into the shade while you were busy having a swim!

On our second trip we were immediately recognised by most of the members of staff which made us feel right at home, all over again.

Having travelled and stayed in numerous 4-5 star hotels in Asia, I can say Anantara Lawana is hands down one of the very best. Thank you so much Lawana, and see you again soon!

Sunny & Priyanka, Sydney

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Sunny, Priyanka and Sydney,

It was great having you back and hearing through your TripAdvisor review that we have been able to satisfy you again is the best compliment we could ask for.

Rest assured that we will be working hard in getting better and better and hopefully will be able to delight you with another wonderful stay with us soon.

Please get in touch with me directly in order to help you with your booking.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had gone on a family vacation with our 2 year old son in March 2013. Although the heat was killing but the service at the resort was fabulous. Staff were very courteous, friendly and very helpful. My son learnt to speak khapunkha and khapunkhap. Since we are vegetarians food choices are limited but the chef was very good and make special dishes for us which helped to survive with a small child. Mosquitoes are a problem in a tropical resort. But it was managed. Rooms were spacious with a large bathroom and a large balcony. However, needs a bit of refurbishment as they have become old and worn out. Its located at the end of Chaweng so if you're planning to visit the market often its quite a distance.
However, we had also visited Anatara Vacation Club for their timeshare sales and the manager of the vacation club office in March 2013 (I dont remember his name but he was an Australian) was very rude and didnt know the meaning of service and because of him we chose not to avail the timeshare plan.

Room Tip: There is not much difference between the pool room and a non-pool room. The main pool is also not fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Tanmay,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor even though your stay is already some months ago. We appreciate the compliments about our team and are happy bringing the Thai language and culture a bit closer to your son.

I have forwarded your comments to my colleagues from Anantara Vacation Club and would like to apologize on their behalf for the disappointing experience.

We hope being able welcoming you back to our resort.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

It is a very authentic hotel with downtown location, very easy to get around without any tranportation. If you like to relex a bit, Having a drink or shisha on the sofa bed by the beach is just ultimate chill out, heavenly. The tree top dinner is an experience not to miss so advance booking is highly recommended. The Ocean cafe serve very nice lunch, especially the lobster riossoto and curry. However, we tried the customized private dinning on the beach, very romantic but the food was a disappointment and with loud music, not exactly the candalit dinner we picture but manage to laugh it off. Having said that, the staff are very warm and friendly, I would stay there if the rooms are nicer. They often offer good value packages so make sure you check that out.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear CelineSL,

Thank you for taking the time sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed an overall nice vacation.

Please accept my apology for the volume of the music. As it is a private dinner I am sure my team would have adjusted the music levels if you would have made them aware of it. Same applies for the food. Should we not have met our usual high standards as you experienced during your other dinners please advise us immediately and me make the corrections on the spot. I am glad to hear that you still enjoyed the evening anyway.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

while checking in had a problem they did not fined our reservation, when they did room was not ready, so we waited an hour, the manager apologized and sent to our room a bottle of Champlain on the house. no matter how hot you are and how upset, after two glasses it was all fine and a start to a great vacation.
great food, very clean.
a Little pricy but you sure get what you paid for.
i highly recommend.

Room Tip: room 2nd floor get some ocean view, first floor get a small garden pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Arik H,

Thank you very much for this wonderful review and your recent stay, especially after we didn’t start of perfectly.

Once again my apology for the delay during check in, but I’m happy to hear that from that moment onwards all went smooth and you enjoyed a wonderful vacation.

Let me know once you plan coming back, so I can ensure that all reservation details will be in our systems correct.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

To start off they did not collect us at the airport. When we got the taxi to the hotel other people were receiving a welcome drink and cold towel and somehow they forgot about us, in fact we were standinging around in the lobby for over 5 minutes before someone even greeted us. The girls were all just standing behind the desk. Not a good start since this was the forth hotel we had checked into and all the others had managed great to give us these things.

The room was a plunge pool room and the first thing I noticed upon entering the room was that there was animal droppings all over the balustrading around the pool and down the walls. The outdoor bathroom had bits of cobwebs and things growing in the corners and the drain off the shower was all clogging up with leaves and something white like paper. The walls are in desparate need of a clean and paint job there are yellowish marks all around the place like they had stripped off wall paper and left all the glue behind. Not to mention the lighting in the room was so poor at night time you couldn't even see yourself in the mirror. I can go on and on really and this is the first time I have ever complained on this site. I just think People should know the standard in this hotel is more like a 3 star. Certainly not what I would expect from an anantara hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Tab64,

My sincere apology for the disappointing experience you had with us. It is very understandable that you felt frustrated with us when the airport pickup did not work out properly and once you arrived you encountered a very busy lobby and didn’t receive the proper attention and service. Nothing you could usually expect from us and reason enough for us to ensure we pay better attention to be more consistent, even during heavy check ins.

Based on your comments we have also discussed the room cleanliness with my team and we will certainly improve in the areas possible. The walls might appear to some people sometimes “dirty” but are having actually a wash technique as wall paint. A challenging technique to maintain properly and often misunderstood and something we will review during any potential future renovation.

I appreciate your feedback as it will help us to improve and hope being able to welcome you in the future in order to show you our improvements. Please get in touch with me directly should you return to Samui and I would be happy to organize a stay for you.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just home after spending 21x nights in a pool access room at this resort. We were unsure what we were in for as had originally booked to stay in their Bohput resort .... due to renovations, our booking was withdrawn, but we were offered a pool access room at Lawana, which after some consideration we accepted.
As soon as the gate to our room was opened, we knew we were in for a very nice holiday.
The main pool was lovely and service impeccable, but the arrival of noisy guests with screaming kids quickly made us decide to stay at our own deck/pool which was lovely and peaceful.
Only two niggles ... there was no light at night to be able to see when putting key in the door. We found floodlights in our private garden that weren't working, and on reflection, we should have told the staff about this, but didn't ... may need checking. The other thing, was one of our sun loungers was rotten around the wheel and when I attempted to lift it as an alternative after the wheel fell off, I badly wrenched my shoulder and did my tendons as I hadn't realized how heavy it was. Several trips to the local hospital ensued, but I do not hold the resort in any way responsible .... maybe they could just do a wheel check now and then especially with the rain, to prevent this happening to some one else? I am now under my own doctors care back home.
We quickly made friends with our regular service staff and shop owners across the road ... two excellent restaurants directly opposite; one is a Thai place called Anong, and the other, upmarket fusion fare at The Larder (owned by Brits). Chaweng is only 5 mins by taxi if you want something noisier .... personally, we couldn't wait to get back to the serenity of Anantara after a trip to Chaweng, but we are in our late 50's which might explain that!
Many thanks to Ivan for making our stay more "real".
Just to sum up, Anantara is the only place I would recommend friends to stay at on Samui, fabulous staff, food and the Tree Tops restaurant is a must!
Many thanks to you all .... still smiling, Jenny and Alan Sparks

Room Tip: Pool access room is the best ... even though you share the pool with a few others, everyone respects...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Jennifer and Alan,

Great to hear that you enjoyed your long holiday so much with us and that my team, especially Ivan, were able to put a little extra touch to it.

My sincere apology for the incident with the sunbed, which we will check upon immediately. I hope your shoulder is better by now and would have hoped being made aware of it during your stay.

Please let me know when you or your friends are planning coming back to Samui and I would be delighted looking after those bookings myself.


With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa

Address: 92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the quiet, pristine northern end of Chaweng Beach, Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa offers peerless luxury Koh Samui accommodation just steps away from the ocean. Watch the sun rise over Samui’s palm forested coastline. Recline in rooms and suites inspired by the island’s original Chinese merchant settlers. Experience the perfect romantic dinner for two in a setting of your choice, accompanied by the freshest international cuisine.With room sizes starting at 61 square metres, Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa provides leading island resort accommodation. From the luxuriously appointed rooms and spacious Koh Samui pool villas to the resort’s communal facilities and restaurants, each guest is treated to the finest in services and amenities. Take a dip in the beachside infinity edge pool, dine in our treehouse restaurant overlooking the bay, or keep in touch with friends back home thanks to free Wi-Fi throughout the resort.While Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa’s location is quiet and tranquil, the buzz and excitement of Chaweng Beach lie just around the corner, with an array of international restaurants and local shops to take care of your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Lawana Hotel Chaweng
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Bophut
Anantara Lawana Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.