We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Anantara Lawana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Anantara Lawana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just home after spending 21x nights in a pool access room at this resort. We were unsure what we were in for as had originally booked to stay in their Bohput resort .... due to renovations, our booking was withdrawn, but we were offered a pool access room at Lawana, which after some consideration we accepted.
As soon as the gate to our room was opened, we knew we were in for a very nice holiday.
The main pool was lovely and service impeccable, but the arrival of noisy guests with screaming kids quickly made us decide to stay at our own deck/pool which was lovely and peaceful.
Only two niggles ... there was no light at night to be able to see when putting key in the door. We found floodlights in our private garden that weren't working, and on reflection, we should have told the staff about this, but didn't ... may need checking. The other thing, was one of our sun loungers was rotten around the wheel and when I attempted to lift it as an alternative after the wheel fell off, I badly wrenched my shoulder and did my tendons as I hadn't realized how heavy it was. Several trips to the local hospital ensued, but I do not hold the resort in any way responsible .... maybe they could just do a wheel check now and then especially with the rain, to prevent this happening to some one else? I am now under my own doctors care back home.
We quickly made friends with our regular service staff and shop owners across the road ... two excellent restaurants directly opposite; one is a Thai place called Anong, and the other, upmarket fusion fare at The Larder (owned by Brits). Chaweng is only 5 mins by taxi if you want something noisier .... personally, we couldn't wait to get back to the serenity of Anantara after a trip to Chaweng, but we are in our late 50's which might explain that!
Many thanks to Ivan for making our stay more "real".
Just to sum up, Anantara is the only place I would recommend friends to stay at on Samui, fabulous staff, food and the Tree Tops restaurant is a must!
Many thanks to you all .... still smiling, Jenny and Alan Sparks

Room Tip: Pool access room is the best ... even though you share the pool with a few others, everyone respects...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Jennifer and Alan,

Great to hear that you enjoyed your long holiday so much with us and that my team, especially Ivan, were able to put a little extra touch to it.

My sincere apology for the incident with the sunbed, which we will check upon immediately. I hope your shoulder is better by now and would have hoped being made aware of it during your stay.

Please let me know when you or your friends are planning coming back to Samui and I would be delighted looking after those bookings myself.


With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    219
    52
    29
    17
See reviews for
122
455
28
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We just got back after a 2 day stay in one of the plunge pool villas. The "wow factor" at this resort is the service! It's outstanding across the board from the front desk,golf cart drivers and wait staff to the beach attendants. It never took more than a couple of minutes for any service. The chef even went to the extent of cooking a particular Indian dish for my toddler from our ingredients and recipe.

Rooms are tastefully done up, private pool and sala are very good for relaxing privately. Buffet breakfast covers all one could want at breakfast.

Only downsides are rocky, small beach. Though the free kayak somewhat makes up for it! And location not great. Getting to and from Chaweng requires taxi. Although easily available but still a hassle. Not much the resort can do for these two so called downsides.

Overall fantastic place to stay in samui, reasonable rates for the property and service you get.



  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear mkajaria,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and compliments on the service of my team which I will share with them happily.

We look forward welcoming you back soon to Samui.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This stylish resort was a great place for a couples getaway. The plunge pool was a nice touch and the privacy of the room was appreciated (there was a little gated courtyard around the pool). The outdoor shower was also very well done.

The restaurant and bar were good although they had somewhat higher prices than standalone equivalents (usual for a resort). The only thing that was sub-par was the beach itself which was a little rocky and small. The view was nice there, though.

The staff was attentive, well spoken and friendly. All logistics were handled well and the internet connectivity was good.

Overall a very nice resort.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear III-Travel-III,

Thank you very much for your feedback and your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacation.

Feel free getting in touch with me should you plan coming back to Koh Samui.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed one night at this resort. The staffs at reception were friendly, the welcome drink was really special. Really liked the drink. It would be great if the drink is made available in the menu for ordering. The room was tidy, comfortable and clean. However, I think the DVD player was not multi-region. I brought a DVD with a region code of 2+4 but I couldn't play it. No doubt the resort had its own DVD library but it might not have the shows I wanted to watch. The buffet breakfast menu was quite extensive. However, it would be good if the bread and pastries had covers to cover them to keep out the houseflies. The staffs at the spa were polite and friendly. Overall, had a good stay at the resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Tan T,

Thank you very much for staying with us, even though it was a rather short stay.

We will ensure that any DVD players that are being replaced are open for other regions as well, a very valid point, even though it hasn’t been an area of concern yet.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My Husband and I have just arrived home from an amazing 10 nights in this perfect piece of paradise. We had originally booked a room with a plunge pool but made the decision to upgrade to deluxe pool access room a few weeks before we went on our trip. We were so glad we did once we arrived at the resort. We honestly could not fault a thing. Service was beyond expectation, every meal we ate at the resort was beyond superb and sitting overlooking the sea with the sun on our shoulders as we dinned on the amazing buffet breakfast was the perfect way to start each day. We would then return to our personal sala relax some more take a swim and relax the day away before heading out in the late afternoons to explore Koh Samui by night.
Our room attendant waem went above and beyond each and every day. Two days after arriving my husband become quite ill not sure what from but he spent two full days in bed. Our room attendant was so respectful and so quietly worked around him whilst he was bed ridden. Every night she did our turndown service there was an extra little touch. She should be praised as she was just perfect we looked forward to seeing her smile each day. We had read a lot of bad reviews before leaving and had some concerns, not one of them was warranted. People really need to remember they are in South East Asia YES there are and always will be Mosquitos but they are so easily controlled with some common sense. YES occasionally no matter where you are especially when the skies open as they will things can get a little smelly, but this is everywhere due to the drainage throughout South East Asia. We also enjoyed meeting the other guests that were staying in the same room type of ours as we floated around in the pool... Big hello to Jen and Al from NZ who still had a week left in paradise on our departure. Also special mention to Ivan (executive manager) it was so great to meet you and thanks for sending Theo a coconut to drink when he was recovering from being unwell, it certainly helped. Then calling in to check on us, the good laughs and chats we had with you were great, a shining example of hospitality and service that is so hard to find these days, a lot of people in the industry could learn many a thing from Ivan.
Overall; if we could, we would return tomorrow without hesitation. And we loved the semi outdoors shower and toilet it was awesome ending the day under a warm shower under the stars...even when the frogs joined me!
Don't even hesitate just go..... Room 201 our perfect paradise Koh Samui home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear JacalynF,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments here on TripAdvisor including the compliments of my team members Khun Waem and Ivan my Assistant. I will certainly pass them on to them.

We hope being able welcoming you back and will ensure that you have another fantastic stay in your favorite room.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a quality hotel, but given its price point there are a few issues.

Resort Layout
In my view the accommodation is very well laid out and the landscaping mature, the problem is that they have not left enough room for the swimming pool, restaurant and associated sunbathing areas - I think it felt much too busy and all the sunbeds are too close together.


Accommodation
We stayed in the sea view villa with a private swimming pool (the one in the picture above). The room was very clean and had all the facilities(and was good), but it does look and feel tired (inside and out) - I would suspect a full refurb will be undertaken soon.

Beach
If you like swimming pools, this will not be too much of a problem. However the sea is very shallow and except when the tide is rising, swimming is off the cards. Also the aspect is not great as there is a rocky outcrop that is out of the water most of the time. When it rains there are a number of drain/sewer outflows into this patch of water and it does smell a bit "drainy". This beach is nothing like the main Chaweng beach.


Service
Excellent

Food
Excellent (although the restaurant did smell a bit "drainy" a few times). The breakfast buffet is impressive.

Overall this is a very good, but older, hotel. I like beaches so I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Check to see if there are any refurbished rooms (there were some near the reception that looked like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear WhenMylesandl,

We appreciate to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially our service and the Restaurants and will take your recommendations for improvement happily on board.

As mentioned in other reviews, the water levels during dry season and low tide could become lower unfortunately during a couple of weeks in the year. Please accept my apology should you have experienced some smells occasionally. Unfortunately drainage systems in Thailand are not always the best but this can be addressed within reasonable time by my team once discovered.

We would be glad welcoming you back during a period of the year when water levels are higher, please feel free getting in touch with me directly to inquire best periods.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

From the minute we arrived at Anantara Lawana resort & spa we were not disappointed. The greeting we received upon arrival (a floral gift, refreshing cold flannel & delicious cold drink) instantly made us feel very welcome and all the staff continued to provide us with excellent service throughout our 10 day stay.
We were staying in an upper floor deluxe room which was absolutely beautiful, with a lovely large veranda and huge bathroom.
We had decided not to upgrade to have our own plunge pool (which when chatting to others at the resort had our decision confirmed) as they all appeared to be in the shade of the rooms upstairs and their rooms & bathrooms were smaller to make way for the pool. The main infinity pool was fantatsic and we would much rather socialise with others there and soak in the stunning view, rather than just be in our own pool by ourselves, with only the hedge to look at anyway !
When we checked into our room we were greeted by hearts( made in rose petals) on the bed, a bottle of champagne and an anniversary cake-which was a wonderful surprise and actually reduced me to (happy) tears ! It was all these little touches, such as the turn down service every evening, fruit in your room, unlimited water- restocked daily and the next day's weather forecast written on leaves left on your pillow that made this resort that extra bit special.

All the staff that we were lucky enough to encounter were extremely polite, courteous and very helpful. They really could not do enough for you and went out of their way to ensure we did not have to lift a finger, to the point that we felt very lazy ! The guys around the pool who look after your every need are a great bunch and really like to interact with the guests and get to know you personally. The front desk ladies are also fantastic and were always happy to assist with any queries/enquiries we had, from advice on how to barter to ringing restaurants to make reservations for us.

The resort is very peaceful, calm and relaxing overall and made us feel really chilled almost instantly. However, if you want to experience some hustle and bustle of the local markets and lively nightlife the Chaweng Beach area is within walking distance (15mins) or less than 5mins away in a taxi or pick-up bus, which costs maximum of 200 Baht (£4) for 2 people. We had quite a few wild nights out partying on the beach-which were amazing, thus relaxing by the tranquility of the pool the day after was very welcome !

The hotel has 2 restaurants 'Ocean Kiss' and 'Treetops' . Treetops is the A la Carte Premier dining experience in individual treehouses - absolutely amazing food ( reflected in the price, of course!) we thoroughly enjoyed the experience, but the overall ambience was a bit quiet for us as we like a bit of atmosphere whilst we dine. Ocean kiss is the main restaurant which has a fantastic and varied menu and also where the amazing breakfast buffet is served each day. Neither of us had ever seen a breakfast selection quite like it- from the usual fresh fruit, pastries and cereals, to a pancake and doughnut station, eggs (in various guises) made to order, sushi, indian cuisine, the list is endless and just goes on ! We really did not need to eat until the evening after feasting there each morning !

The hotel is right on a quiet section of beach, just steps down from the pool and have their own loungers and comfy day beds down on the sand which are also serviced by the pool butlers, so you really do not have to move a muscle all day !
The spa is first class (and we received our complimentary 15 minute massages there), yet quite expensive (£110 for 1hr massage for 2 of us) and we discovered we could get amazing massages (At 'Friends Massage') just down the road at a fraction of the price, so would recommend doing the same if you are planning on having a few over the duration of your stay.

All the meals we ate on Koh Samui were of a very good standard and so cheap compared to the UK-we had 3 courses most nights and total bill was approx £35/40 for both of us, usually including 2 drinks each. A few notable restaurants stood out for us : 'Top Ten' was Masterchef standard , 'Red Snapper 'was a great restaurant with a huge, varied menu and lively atmosphere with great live band every night and 'The Larder' was absolutely outstanding- Top class British Cuisine (and cocktails) and definitely our best meal on the island.

We were very sad to leave Koh Samui and the Anantara Lawana resort and would most definitely come back and recommend it to anybody thinking of holidaying on this beautiful island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Emma077Wales,

We truly appreciate the time you invested into sharing such detailed and wonderful review about your stay with us. I’m sure my team will be delighted to hear that our efforts ensured that you enjoyed an amazing stay.

Feel free getting in touch with me personally should you start planning coming back to Koh Samui.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa

Address: 92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the quiet, pristine northern end of Chaweng Beach, Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa offers peerless luxury Koh Samui accommodation just steps away from the ocean. Watch the sun rise over Samui’s palm forested coastline. Recline in rooms and suites inspired by the island’s original Chinese merchant settlers. Experience the perfect romantic dinner for two in a setting of your choice, accompanied by the freshest international cuisine.With room sizes starting at 61 square metres, Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa provides leading island resort accommodation. From the luxuriously appointed rooms and spacious Koh Samui pool villas to the resort’s communal facilities and restaurants, each guest is treated to the finest in services and amenities. Take a dip in the beachside infinity edge pool, dine in our treehouse restaurant overlooking the bay, or keep in touch with friends back home thanks to free Wi-Fi throughout the resort.While Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa’s location is quiet and tranquil, the buzz and excitement of Chaweng Beach lie just around the corner, with an array of international restaurants and local shops to take care of your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Lawana Hotel Chaweng
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Bophut
Anantara Lawana Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.