We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, well done resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Saving
Ranked #7 of 100 Hotels in Chaweng
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well done resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This stylish resort was a great place for a couples getaway. The plunge pool was a nice touch and the privacy of the room was appreciated (there was a little gated courtyard around the pool). The outdoor shower was also very well done.

The restaurant and bar were good although they had somewhat higher prices than standalone equivalents (usual for a resort). The only thing that was sub-par was the beach itself which was a little rocky and small. The view was nice there, though.

The staff was attentive, well spoken and friendly. All logistics were handled well and the internet connectivity was good.

Overall a very nice resort.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear III-Travel-III,

Thank you very much for your feedback and your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacation.

Feel free getting in touch with me should you plan coming back to Koh Samui.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    203
    50
    29
    15
See reviews for
114
414
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed one night at this resort. The staffs at reception were friendly, the welcome drink was really special. Really liked the drink. It would be great if the drink is made available in the menu for ordering. The room was tidy, comfortable and clean. However, I think the DVD player was not multi-region. I brought a DVD with a region code of 2+4 but I couldn't play it. No doubt the resort had its own DVD library but it might not have the shows I wanted to watch. The buffet breakfast menu was quite extensive. However, it would be good if the bread and pastries had covers to cover them to keep out the houseflies. The staffs at the spa were polite and friendly. Overall, had a good stay at the resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Tan T,

Thank you very much for staying with us, even though it was a rather short stay.

We will ensure that any DVD players that are being replaced are open for other regions as well, a very valid point, even though it hasn’t been an area of concern yet.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My Husband and I have just arrived home from an amazing 10 nights in this perfect piece of paradise. We had originally booked a room with a plunge pool but made the decision to upgrade to deluxe pool access room a few weeks before we went on our trip. We were so glad we did once we arrived at the resort. We honestly could not fault a thing. Service was beyond expectation, every meal we ate at the resort was beyond superb and sitting overlooking the sea with the sun on our shoulders as we dinned on the amazing buffet breakfast was the perfect way to start each day. We would then return to our personal sala relax some more take a swim and relax the day away before heading out in the late afternoons to explore Koh Samui by night.
Our room attendant waem went above and beyond each and every day. Two days after arriving my husband become quite ill not sure what from but he spent two full days in bed. Our room attendant was so respectful and so quietly worked around him whilst he was bed ridden. Every night she did our turndown service there was an extra little touch. She should be praised as she was just perfect we looked forward to seeing her smile each day. We had read a lot of bad reviews before leaving and had some concerns, not one of them was warranted. People really need to remember they are in South East Asia YES there are and always will be Mosquitos but they are so easily controlled with some common sense. YES occasionally no matter where you are especially when the skies open as they will things can get a little smelly, but this is everywhere due to the drainage throughout South East Asia. We also enjoyed meeting the other guests that were staying in the same room type of ours as we floated around in the pool... Big hello to Jen and Al from NZ who still had a week left in paradise on our departure. Also special mention to Ivan (executive manager) it was so great to meet you and thanks for sending Theo a coconut to drink when he was recovering from being unwell, it certainly helped. Then calling in to check on us, the good laughs and chats we had with you were great, a shining example of hospitality and service that is so hard to find these days, a lot of people in the industry could learn many a thing from Ivan.
Overall; if we could, we would return tomorrow without hesitation. And we loved the semi outdoors shower and toilet it was awesome ending the day under a warm shower under the stars...even when the frogs joined me!
Don't even hesitate just go..... Room 201 our perfect paradise Koh Samui home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear JacalynF,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments here on TripAdvisor including the compliments of my team members Khun Waem and Ivan my Assistant. I will certainly pass them on to them.

We hope being able welcoming you back and will ensure that you have another fantastic stay in your favorite room.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a quality hotel, but given its price point there are a few issues.

Resort Layout
In my view the accommodation is very well laid out and the landscaping mature, the problem is that they have not left enough room for the swimming pool, restaurant and associated sunbathing areas - I think it felt much too busy and all the sunbeds are too close together.


Accommodation
We stayed in the sea view villa with a private swimming pool (the one in the picture above). The room was very clean and had all the facilities(and was good), but it does look and feel tired (inside and out) - I would suspect a full refurb will be undertaken soon.

Beach
If you like swimming pools, this will not be too much of a problem. However the sea is very shallow and except when the tide is rising, swimming is off the cards. Also the aspect is not great as there is a rocky outcrop that is out of the water most of the time. When it rains there are a number of drain/sewer outflows into this patch of water and it does smell a bit "drainy". This beach is nothing like the main Chaweng beach.


Service
Excellent

Food
Excellent (although the restaurant did smell a bit "drainy" a few times). The breakfast buffet is impressive.

Overall this is a very good, but older, hotel. I like beaches so I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Check to see if there are any refurbished rooms (there were some near the reception that looked like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear WhenMylesandl,

We appreciate to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially our service and the Restaurants and will take your recommendations for improvement happily on board.

As mentioned in other reviews, the water levels during dry season and low tide could become lower unfortunately during a couple of weeks in the year. Please accept my apology should you have experienced some smells occasionally. Unfortunately drainage systems in Thailand are not always the best but this can be addressed within reasonable time by my team once discovered.

We would be glad welcoming you back during a period of the year when water levels are higher, please feel free getting in touch with me directly to inquire best periods.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

From the minute we arrived at Anantara Lawana resort & spa we were not disappointed. The greeting we received upon arrival (a floral gift, refreshing cold flannel & delicious cold drink) instantly made us feel very welcome and all the staff continued to provide us with excellent service throughout our 10 day stay.
We were staying in an upper floor deluxe room which was absolutely beautiful, with a lovely large veranda and huge bathroom.
We had decided not to upgrade to have our own plunge pool (which when chatting to others at the resort had our decision confirmed) as they all appeared to be in the shade of the rooms upstairs and their rooms & bathrooms were smaller to make way for the pool. The main infinity pool was fantatsic and we would much rather socialise with others there and soak in the stunning view, rather than just be in our own pool by ourselves, with only the hedge to look at anyway !
When we checked into our room we were greeted by hearts( made in rose petals) on the bed, a bottle of champagne and an anniversary cake-which was a wonderful surprise and actually reduced me to (happy) tears ! It was all these little touches, such as the turn down service every evening, fruit in your room, unlimited water- restocked daily and the next day's weather forecast written on leaves left on your pillow that made this resort that extra bit special.

All the staff that we were lucky enough to encounter were extremely polite, courteous and very helpful. They really could not do enough for you and went out of their way to ensure we did not have to lift a finger, to the point that we felt very lazy ! The guys around the pool who look after your every need are a great bunch and really like to interact with the guests and get to know you personally. The front desk ladies are also fantastic and were always happy to assist with any queries/enquiries we had, from advice on how to barter to ringing restaurants to make reservations for us.

The resort is very peaceful, calm and relaxing overall and made us feel really chilled almost instantly. However, if you want to experience some hustle and bustle of the local markets and lively nightlife the Chaweng Beach area is within walking distance (15mins) or less than 5mins away in a taxi or pick-up bus, which costs maximum of 200 Baht (£4) for 2 people. We had quite a few wild nights out partying on the beach-which were amazing, thus relaxing by the tranquility of the pool the day after was very welcome !

The hotel has 2 restaurants 'Ocean Kiss' and 'Treetops' . Treetops is the A la Carte Premier dining experience in individual treehouses - absolutely amazing food ( reflected in the price, of course!) we thoroughly enjoyed the experience, but the overall ambience was a bit quiet for us as we like a bit of atmosphere whilst we dine. Ocean kiss is the main restaurant which has a fantastic and varied menu and also where the amazing breakfast buffet is served each day. Neither of us had ever seen a breakfast selection quite like it- from the usual fresh fruit, pastries and cereals, to a pancake and doughnut station, eggs (in various guises) made to order, sushi, indian cuisine, the list is endless and just goes on ! We really did not need to eat until the evening after feasting there each morning !

The hotel is right on a quiet section of beach, just steps down from the pool and have their own loungers and comfy day beds down on the sand which are also serviced by the pool butlers, so you really do not have to move a muscle all day !
The spa is first class (and we received our complimentary 15 minute massages there), yet quite expensive (£110 for 1hr massage for 2 of us) and we discovered we could get amazing massages (At 'Friends Massage') just down the road at a fraction of the price, so would recommend doing the same if you are planning on having a few over the duration of your stay.

All the meals we ate on Koh Samui were of a very good standard and so cheap compared to the UK-we had 3 courses most nights and total bill was approx £35/40 for both of us, usually including 2 drinks each. A few notable restaurants stood out for us : 'Top Ten' was Masterchef standard , 'Red Snapper 'was a great restaurant with a huge, varied menu and lively atmosphere with great live band every night and 'The Larder' was absolutely outstanding- Top class British Cuisine (and cocktails) and definitely our best meal on the island.

We were very sad to leave Koh Samui and the Anantara Lawana resort and would most definitely come back and recommend it to anybody thinking of holidaying on this beautiful island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Emma077Wales,

We truly appreciate the time you invested into sharing such detailed and wonderful review about your stay with us. I’m sure my team will be delighted to hear that our efforts ensured that you enjoyed an amazing stay.

Feel free getting in touch with me personally should you start planning coming back to Koh Samui.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Truly amazing! Everything about this place is great! We came here for a friends wedding and it really was a magical wedding. We had one of the rooms with the private plunge pool, outside bathroom and private deck. The breakfast buffet is second to none! This is not your ordinary breakfast buffet they have a walk in cool room with all the cold cuts of meat, cheese, yoghurt, fruit ect, a pastry section with a chef cooking your pancakes, waffles and donuts to order, a hot section where they cook all your bacon and eggs to order along with your normal buffet section ranging from vegetarian chickpea Dahl to steamed pork dumpling, noodles, veg, rice, pastries, cakes and breads where you help yourself. A coffee and tea selection covering a massive blackboard ( I highly recommend the creme brûlée ice coffee) and every morning they make a different fruit and yogurt smoothie and vegetable juice shots (amazing) the only negative feed back I can give is our room only had 30min free Internet per day otherwise you had to pay for 24hr brackets but I am told this is room selective so just check when you book that the price includes unlimited Internet access, but at a place like this it is nice to turn all electronics off and just relax.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Kibok E,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and we are glad to hear that you and enjoyed the wedding of your friend.

Breakfast being the most important meal of the day we certainly put a lot of efforts into this and it’s always great to hear if this is appreciated by our guests.

Hopefully we will be able welcoming you back one day not only to our resort but any other Anantara Resort worldwide.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked this resort based on Tripadvisor's reviews and were not disappointed. This resort is truly what all the reviews describe. In fact, check out the photos, they are really what the resort is. If you can book the suites with a private pool or plunged pool, please do so, you will appreciate the privacy of having a dip to chill out by the end of the day. As we have learned that most guests used their plunged pools or private ones for private parties---we had a terrific time just to chill out with snacks and beer before dinner in my cousin's plunged pool after a day of activities.

One thing i have noticed that there is little mentioning in the reviews are that this resort has additional goodies, they are:
- this resort is slightly away from the main drag, but close enough to it that one can actually walk to the main drag via Chaweng, the road to the city. Because of its location, i find it more private, yet, there are many taxis and flat bed trucks converted to taxi available at its entrance
- opposite to a street mall where
- a damn good and economical Thai restaurant by the name of Anong is located. The restaurant's food is really inexpensive, but clean and delicious. The Thai food is rich in taste and served in a non pretentious way. It is truly good authentic Thai food at McDonald's price--around $7 per dish at the most. Western food such as pizza and hamburger, fries are also available in the event one wants some western food for a break.
- a Thai massage parlour offers the same service as the spa in the resort but at a more economical price, though the ambiance may be lacking.
- a Family Mart similar to 7/11 where we can buy all sorts of Lay chips that are of local flavour, pops, wine and beer.

All the goodies that the other reviews are true. In consideration of its location and proximity to the street mart, my ranking for this resort is "book it, you wont regret it!"

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear oldbutcool,

Thank you for a wonderful and detailed review with a lot of helpful tips for any future guest.

Even though the Massage shop opposite the street is offering great value for money I would personally challenge your statement that they are offering the same service as our Spa. I will make an exception and not share your feedback with the Spa team as it would be a disappointment for them that all the training they went through doesn’t make a difference…

Anyway, we highly appreciate your comments and compliments and hope being able to welcome you back soon. Please contact me directly and I might work out with you to try out our Spa in order to make a comparison.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa

Address: 92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the quiet, pristine northern end of Chaweng Beach, Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa offers peerless luxury Koh Samui accommodation just steps away from the ocean. Watch the sun rise over Samui’s palm forested coastline. Recline in rooms and suites inspired by the island’s original Chinese merchant settlers. Experience the perfect romantic dinner for two in a setting of your choice, accompanied by the freshest international cuisine.With room sizes starting at 61 square metres, Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa provides leading island resort accommodation. From the luxuriously appointed rooms and spacious Koh Samui pool villas to the resort’s communal facilities and restaurants, each guest is treated to the finest in services and amenities. Take a dip in the beachside infinity edge pool, dine in our treehouse restaurant overlooking the bay, or keep in touch with friends back home thanks to free Wi-Fi throughout the resort.While Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa’s location is quiet and tranquil, the buzz and excitement of Chaweng Beach lie just around the corner, with an array of international restaurants and local shops to take care of your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Lawana Hotel Chaweng
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Bophut
Anantara Lawana Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.