We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find the time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Saving
Ranked #3 of 61 hotels in Chaweng
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Find the time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and I have been to Koh Samui before and successfully encouraged our adult kids to join us this time. The Anantara Lawana did not disappoint us and all were more than happy with the accommodation. My wife and I had a private pool villa and we did use the pool in the villa every day while still joining the family at the beach or the pool. The ultimate dining in Koh Samui can be found at the Tree Tops Restaurant. The restaurant is an impressive set of structures around a hilltop with amazing views north over the Gulf of Thailant/ The the food, service and accompaniments are international first class and a credit to the staff, equal to the best anywhere. While the price tag is in this range of excellence, the experience is definitely also up to it.
The staff at this resort are exceptional and the management make you feel at home every day with little extras and invitations to management cocktail parties.
We will be back here next year!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear 243HappyHoliday243,

It was indeed a pleasure meeting you and your family during the Management cocktail and we appreciate very much that you have taken the time to share your positive experiences not only with us but as well with the TripAdvisor community.

Hopefully we will be able to host once again a small family reunion for you.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    414
    186
    47
    29
    15
See reviews for
104
389
24
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed there for 6 nights in January 2013. Not perfect, but quite a wonderful experience overall. The staff firstly are as helpful and friendly as it’s possible to be – especially Sunny, one of the front desk guys. The breakfasts in particular, under their new Executive Chef Matthias Mittnacht are extraordinary – huge variety of tastes, enough for any palate. Location is at the north end of Chaweng, which means away from the crowds, but still a nice and only 15 minute downhill walk into town. The beach seems to be better protected than in Chaweng proper so it’s also very nice. We spent the extra money to stay in one of the pool villas – with our own private pool as opposed to just a spa. Very lovely, comfortable and private – except for the house directly next door that overlooked our piece of paradise.
Three downsides: 1- the resort site is quite steep. We were mid level and had 55 stairs to go to and from breakfast. More still to get to the beach. You need to be quite fit to stay here. 2 - our villa was very light on furniture. Only one very small desk and one chair. We had the space, so we would have liked a little dining table, a couple of nice chairs and a nice lounge suite instead of the spare bed fixed to the wall that was meant to be the lounge. 3 – our biggest problem is that the villa was very dark at night. A black ceiling/roof didn’t help. So one puny ceiling light and a few table lamps – just wasn’t enough. The place needs some serious lighting inside at night.
Apart from those gripes, we would highly recommend Anantara Lawana.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear AlbertS,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your detailed feedback with us and the TripAdvisor community. We will certainly share your compliments with Sunny and Chef Matthias and the other team members.

I am glad being able to tell you that all the points you brought up for improvement are going to be addressed in the future and plans exist to fix them in reasonable time. Should you return to Samui I would be delighted welcoming you again and show you the upgrades we are doing

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have just enjoyed my second stay at the Anantara Lawana in under a year and everything (and more) from my original review stands. This is, quite simply, an absolute joy of a property with possibly the most utterly charming, friendly and attentive staff I think I've ever encountered in any hotel on my many years travelling the world. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear TravelNut113,

It is always a pleasure having you as our guest and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay once again.

Feel free contacting me directly for your next upcoming visit and I will be happy to take care of your booking personally.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Anantara Lawana is an amazing place if your wishlist consists of - luxury, comfort, hospitality and perfection. We stayed there for our anniversary... celebration for 3 nights and 4 days. The hotel is perfectly situated on Chaweng beach in Samui, easy to explore the island on your scooty! The manager Lars specially was great as he ensured that we had a special time there. The entire Anantara staff including Kate, Tanya, Sunny, Jamie were very co-operative and made our stay memorable. We saw other resorts as well and this seemed to be an outright winner. Highly recommended for anyone considering Samui. Our stay was perfect and we couldn't have asked for anything more! Thanks Anantara!!

Room Tip: Pool Villas are perfect for a romantic getaway!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Divya N,

Once again congratulations to your Anniversary and thank you for staying with us during this special occasion.

Thank you as well for the compliments to my team which I will share with them most certainly.

Hopefully we will be able welcoming you back to either our or any other Anantara for any future Anniversary.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We enjoyed our recent stay at the hotel, the staff were very pleasant and helpful, especially Kate in the restaurant. We were given an upgraded plunge pool room to start but it was a little dark and a lot of mosquitos due to the water and the vegetation, so we moved up a floor into the standard room, which was lovely,much much better, with indoor bathroom and lovely airy balcony.
The grounds of the hotel were very nice,lovely sitting areas for sunset cocktails, the beach just the right size and the location of the hotel was good, a little walk down to Chaweng but far enough away from the noise and hustle & bustle.
We ate at Ocean kiss restaurant in the resort for dinner one evening, the food was delicious. Breakfast was to die for,fresh juices on arrival and the best Eggs Florentine I have ever had.
Overall a very relaxing stay in Koh Samui.

Room Tip: save money on the plunge pool rooms and go for the basic room, the plunge pools dont get any sun, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear SheilaW,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback here on TripAdvisor with us. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we have been able to find a room type matching your expectations.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nagpur
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have just returned from my stay at this hotel. The hotel was lovely with great rooms and very helpful and courteous staff. Almost everything was perfect about the hotel and our stay was very comfortable. However there are a couple of things that need to be looked into by the management. Firstly there is no steam bath available for the resident guests. Secondly the pool could have been a little bigger. Also the spa is very highly overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear samiragrawal,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and staying with us.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Steam baths are very rarely requested by our guests and in the tropics therefore we haven’t considered building them into our rooms. Saying that, we DO have them available in our Spa treatment rooms and would have been happy providing them for you. Unfortunately you have opted not to use the Spa, otherwise you might have seen them and would have been aware of it.

So far we also haven’t heard often that our pool is too small but will certainly consider it should it become a more frequent comment.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We loved this hotel. Beautiful location. Plenty to do outside hotel. Extremely gracious staff. Best breakfast we have experienced and we've done some travelling! Only down side was we wanted to say hi to Lars - the GM. He was out of town at time......we had read some of his responses and we liked!

Room Tip: We chose a room with a plunge pool. Be aware that the shower and wc are outside albeit it's tota...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Karen C,

Thank you for your wonderful review and my sincere apology that I haven’t been on property during your stay. Occasionally business is demanding me traveling to Bangkok and we must have missed each other due to that. I would have enjoyed having a chat with you. Thank you as well for the compliments on my TripAdvisor responses.

Let me know should you come again into this part of the world and we would be happy welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa

Address: 92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#2 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the quiet, pristine northern end of Chaweng Beach, Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa offers peerless luxury Koh Samui accommodation just steps away from the ocean. Watch the sun rise over Samui’s palm forested coastline. Recline in rooms and suites inspired by the island’s original Chinese merchant settlers. Experience the perfect romantic dinner for two in a setting of your choice, accompanied by the freshest international cuisine.With room sizes starting at 61 square metres, Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa provides leading island resort accommodation. From the luxuriously appointed rooms and spacious Koh Samui pool villas to the resort’s communal facilities and restaurants, each guest is treated to the finest in services and amenities. Take a dip in the beachside infinity edge pool, dine in our treehouse restaurant overlooking the bay, or keep in touch with friends back home thanks to free Wi-Fi throughout the resort.While Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa’s location is quiet and tranquil, the buzz and excitement of Chaweng Beach lie just around the corner, with an array of international restaurants and local shops to take care of your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Jetsetter, Otel and Venere so you can book your Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Lawana Hotel Chaweng
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Bophut
Anantara Lawana Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.