We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING RESORT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 101 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ahmedabad, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING RESORT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

this is one of d best resorts i have visited...got very freindly staff and it is near to chaweng beach and many more local attractions...rooms are bit over priced but overall a good resort to stay ...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Rohansoni,

Thank you for taking the time sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the resort, our team and the location. During low season we have some special offers on our website you might want to check out that will give you another option for a great value for money deal.

Looking forward to your next visit with us.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    263
    62
    34
    22
See reviews for
152
556
31
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here one night on a whim. The villas have a very unique style, laid out as if you were in a small town on the beach. Our villa was on a second level, with a view of the sea, gorgeous. It came with an outdoor sala as well which was very pleasant to sit in while reading and enjoying the breeze. The bathroom was quite spacious with both a shower and a bath. Our only complaint is that due to the orientation of the room, there was very little natural light coming in through the windows. Breakfast was a nice spread of various types of fruit. It was nice to be greeted in the morning with fresh juice and shown to a table by the polite servers.

We were traveling by car, so it was very convenient that they have adequate parking and an attentive valet. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear TwistedGecko,

Thank you for coming over from Phuket and staying at our resort, even though it was only a very short stay.

Based on your comments I assume you stayed in one of our Deluxe Lawana rooms and it is in fact true that some of them are less exposed to sunlight than others. There is a wide choice of those rooms and others have a stronger sun exposure than the one you seemed to have stayed in. Should you return please just let us know that you want one that is facing more sun during the day.

Thank you as well for the positive feedback about breakfast and the service you experienced. We are looking forward welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for the final week of our honeymoon. On arrival the lobby made the hotel look pretty average however don't be fooled! The service we got was brilliant on arrival, Jamie was lovely! Our bags were promptly brought to our room. We had a deluxe plunge pool room which was great, took some getting used to having a toilet and shower outside though! The room was spacious enough and clean. The only negative was that as it had an outdoor bathroom area and water close by the Mosquitos got in the room and the mosquito net on the bed appeared to be just for show as it didn't cover the entire bed!!
The pool area was fab, service absolutely brilliant. The food was gorgeous and big portions( we shared lunch every day!) the pool was clean and beds well maintained. We didn't eat at ocean kiss restaurant but it looked nice. The beach and sunbeds also well maintained. The meal we had at tree tops restaurant on our last night was OK, the views and service was great but the food wasn't as good as I would have hoped for given its amazing reputation, however it is Definately worth a visit! Overall a beautiful hotel with amazing views, not central Chaweng location but a quick tuktuk ride away (50 baht per person). Can't wait to come back!! Thank you for making our honeymoon so perfect

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear CGill1,

Once again congratulation on your recent wedding. We are glad that you have chosen us for your honeymoon and that you took the time sharing your feedback with us here.

Expectations during a honeymoon are especially high and we are delighted to hear that we have been able to meet yours and made a positive impact on this very special vacation.

We appreciate your comments on Tree Tops as well. As you mentioned, general feedback is extremely positive but it is good to know that we have still space for improvement and we will be working hard on achieving this. Not sure if you have eaten from the old menu or the new one which Chef Matthias just recently introduced. Either way, we would be glad welcoming you back and giving it another try and sharing your feedback with me afterwards.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have been here only 2 days with 1 more to go and already our 6 year old is most unwilling to go, do not be fooled by the lobby, looks are deceiving , the grounds are an oasis of calm and serenity, peaceful and quiet, holiday mode definitely "ON" the minute you arrive. Spent the first night in a deluxe lawana room, room was beautiful just not family orientated, room just could not accommodate 3 persons. 4 poster bed was lovely with mosquito net, ambience very romantic, highly recommended for honeymooners or couples. It's nice to sit on the balcony, drink beer and chat or read .... Chill out, very rustic. However, loud techno music from chawang beach that went on to the wee hours of the morning gave me and my family disrupted sleep, so the tip here is to get a deluxe lawana room that is nearer to the beach or pool, no loud music that way :)

Room service food is surprisingly good albeit pricey but please remember Thailand is no longer as cheap as it used to be due to development etc, staff costs and other incidentals are high everywhere, anyway you're here to have a great holiday so if you're looking for a cheap deal this place is not for you. Breakfast was a standard affair with decent eggs and good wide tea and coffee selection, so no complaints. Pool was good with shallow area cordoned off for kids. Didn't see too many kids around though, resort is not positioned as a family resort.

Now, for the real winner, for the ultimate bang for your buck, get a pool villa if you can afford it,as I write this review, I am sitting on the lanai overlooking my private pool, it's after dark, the stars are twinkling in the night sky, it's lovely, the pool area is lighted up, I can hear my neighbors enjoying a niight swim, the turn down service is excellent, yes wifi is free in the villa so you can Facebook and instagram and upload all the pics you took during the day for all to see :)

Staff are great never a frown always a warm friendly greeting whenever they see you. "Can do" attitude from get go!

We are not looking forward to leaving, we don't know how the next resort we are going to is going to beat this!

Room Tip: Pool Villa is the most bang for your buck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear claire294365,

Thank you for your wonderful review and sharing your positive feedback here on TripAdvisor.

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much… and should your next resort turn out not meet your expectations you know where to find us.

My apology for the noise, which apparently came from some party in Chaweng and was carried over to us by the wind. I’m happy to see that with a change of location this problem has been solved quickly and you enjoyed the remaining nights.

We would be looking forward welcoming you back in the near future and will be working hard in achieving the full 5 point score from you.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights and today is our last day and we don't want to go. We found the room to be absolutely outstanding. We stayed in a deluxe room and it was very comfortable and spacious. We also loved the balcony and enjoyed sitting out there and drinking our duty free cocktails. We thought the breakfast was amazing....so many choices and really delicious. We enjoyed going down for that each day. We were served by Kate many times and found her to be terrific...always friendly, upbeat and spoke very good English. Make sure you go for a cockail at the bar down by the pool because at night when the bay is lit up it looks really dramatic... it's paradise.

I loved the vibrancy of Chawang - the colours, the people, the shopping, the bars etc - we walked into town (20 mins) on our first day and it was quite an eye opener...but be warned...it really stinks in places. The smell of raw sewerage nearly knocked me over...and I don't have a very good sense of smell...so it's pretty bad. We would have liked to spend more time in Chewang..but due to this we didn't go there much. Instead, we found the Fisherman's Village in Bo Phut to be our shopping and dining preference. The resort does not smell - just Chewang Beach.

Notes to Management
- Please paint a white line down the pool where the wall is/or put a sign there. On the first day my husband was swimming underwater to the end of the pool and bashed his head on the wall. There is no indicator that there is an underwater wall two thirds the way down the pool and it's dangerous.
- extend the pool hours - 9am - 7pm is not long enough. We would have liked to go for an early swim but couldn't, and as the tide is out in the early morning it's not nice to swim at the beach.
- we think wifi should be free in the rooms - especially when the Library with free wifi is so far away from most of the rooms. I was waiting on an urgent email and had to go back and forth... I didn't want to pay for wifi because I was only waiting on this one email and wasn't really interested in accessing the internet during our time here. I think it's a bit outdated to not include free wifi everywhere - build it into the cost of the rooms - we're all using iphones, ipads, lap tops etc these days. It should just be a given.

Would we come back? Yes. We liked it very much and we would highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: An upstairs room with a sea view/outlook is really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Vanessa B,

We love to hear when guests don’t want to leave and it will be a pleasure sharing your feedback and compliments with the team.

Your constructive feedback is appreciated as well and I am glad having the opportunity responding to them.

As you might have been able to see during your stay is Chaweng experiencing some major road and infrastructure works. In the past couple of weeks the island experienced very little rain which came to a point that a shortage of water was very possible. This is certainly increasing the smell in areas where the sewage system hasn’t been improved yet. But the good news is that it was raining in the evening of the past 2 days which should improved the short term situation and the road works are still going on, which should improve the long term situation.

We will review the possibility of highlighting the edge between children and adult pool more prominent in order to avoid any potential accidents. Thanks for pointing this out to us.

The Pool is actually open 24hrs and you can use it whenever you want. There is only no trained life guard on duty after 7pm and therefore we don’t recommend using it. The only time where the pool is actually closed is when extra chemicals have to be added, but this is done only when the water quality cannot be hold to our required levels and also only during the night. Our apology for this misunderstanding.

Internet is free in all public areas as well as in the villas at any time. Due to the huge investment and upgrade into the infrastructure of the resort that is required to cover such a large area lower room categories are being charged for the service in the rooms after 30min/day.

Thank you once again for the valuable feedback and we are looking forward to your next visit.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Although the ambiance of the entrance and the "lobby" area is a bit demoralizing, the room was fenomenal.
For the last couple of years, I have visited this part of teh world quite a lot with my wife. We went to Phuket, Bali and Koh Samui; all during the high seasons. Among those, I would definetely prefer Bali, beacuse of its unique atmosphere and endless choices of food and entertainment. I have to admit that this hotel was the best among the ones we have stayed (Bali Intercontinental and Phuket JW Marriott).
We have stayed at room 102, sea-view pool villa and the view was splendid. When I looked at the map of the hotel, I have realized that excluding the royal lawana pool villa, our room has the best location. I believe that there are 6 sea-view villas and not all of them have the view we have. (I haven't seen other rooms views. This comment was written only based on looking at the map and reading other sea-view villa residents reviews.)
The staff is very helpful and always smiling with sincerity; I only wish they spoke English a little better. It took me forever to get a band-aid =)
The food was definetely not bad, especially the ones on the menu in the Ocean Kiss Restaurant. Only the breakfast was mediocre. By that, I definetely do not mean "bad", there was just nothing special with it. I believe that people visiting these kind resorts are going there to relax. For a resort, that is considered to be like this, I believe it was a little awkward that the breakfast was ending at 10:30. It could have been extended a little bit or there could be another venue for late breakfasters =)
One major detail that has to be considered for a hotel/resort this standard is that it has to have ipod/ipad docs. It was a necessity to play music outside of the room, when you are drinking your wine in your infinity pool facing the ocean.

ps: For everyone going to this part of the world, I have to tell that they sould not expect anything from the beaches and the sea. Definetely choose a hotel with a beautiful pool you'll enjoy or have a pool in your own room.
If you want to enjoy the sea, you should choose the Caribbeans or the Aegean Sea.

Room Tip: Definetely choose a sea-view pool villa, trust me it's worth it. And ask for room 102!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Coguzhan,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback here on TripAdvisor. The room you have stayed in is certainly having a fantastic view, even though many others have very nice features as well.

A special thanks for considering us as the best hotel during your trip, which is making us very proud and encourages us to drive ourselves for further improvements.

Usual feedback about the breakfast is very positive but we are always interested in improving this further in order to cater to as many tastes as possible. Additional feedback to my direct email would be much appreciated so we can work on this. Usually we are also not very strict with the ending of the breakfast at 10:30 so even though you come late you will be still looked after.

We appreciate your feedback and would be looking forward welcoming you again to Samui.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

For the price point, I expected a little bit more from this hotel. The breakfast is nice and the staff are all pleasant. We loved the Thai massage on the beach.

The staff seemed challenged to help us arrange a boat excursion. The restaurant recommendations by the concierge were sub par. There was just no wow factor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear dan e,

We are sorry to hear that even though you seemed to have enjoyed your overall stay with good feedback about our staff and the food you felt let down by us meeting your expectations.

Boat excursions and restaurant recommendations are usually a regular request and we are surprised to hear that we had challenges arranging this to your satisfaction. We are very interested in the feedback of our guests about places or activities we recommend and usually will review such again should the feedback become negative. Therefore I would appreciate if you could share your experiences with us as you haven’t mentioned them on any other TripAdvisor review.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa

Address: 92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the quiet, pristine northern end of Chaweng Beach, Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa offers peerless luxury Koh Samui accommodation just steps away from the ocean. Watch the sun rise over Samui’s palm forested coastline. Recline in rooms and suites inspired by the island’s original Chinese merchant settlers. Experience the perfect romantic dinner for two in a setting of your choice, accompanied by the freshest international cuisine.With room sizes starting at 61 square metres, Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa provides leading island resort accommodation. From the luxuriously appointed rooms and spacious Koh Samui pool villas to the resort’s communal facilities and restaurants, each guest is treated to the finest in services and amenities. Take a dip in the beachside infinity edge pool, dine in our treehouse restaurant overlooking the bay, or keep in touch with friends back home thanks to free Wi-Fi throughout the resort.While Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa’s location is quiet and tranquil, the buzz and excitement of Chaweng Beach lie just around the corner, with an array of international restaurants and local shops to take care of your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Splendia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Lawana Hotel Chaweng
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Bophut
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.