We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JUST ABOUT FAULTLESS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“JUST ABOUT FAULTLESS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

A really delightful property it would be hard to fault. Accommodation is in villas scattered across beautifully kept grounds - the rooms themselves blending great comfort with traditional Thai design. The pool and beachside area are wonderful, the buffet breakfast is as rich in choice as it is quality - and the staff in this property are possibly the most charming, efficient and friendly I've come across in more than 20 years travelling around South East Asia. If you want to get into central Chaweng it really needs a short cab journey (about £4) but it's worth it to be slightly out of the main thrust of things. The hotel has what is considered one of the best restaurants on Samui  ("Tree Tops") and a very impressive programme of treatments at the Anantara Spa. One slightly drawback is the beach at the Anantara Lawana is not one of the best I've enjoyed in Thailand (the area is quite rocky and sand is grainy), so if you like a typically tropical beach this might put you off but it's a tiny price to pay for enjoying everything else this wonderful hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Travelnut113,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for having stayed with us. A special thanks for the compliments to my team which will be a pleasure passing on.

We would hope that your extensive traveling through South East Asia will bring you back to our door steps.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    235
    55
    33
    20
See reviews for
135
494
29
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I could wax lyrical about this hotel forever its such a lovely place.
Lush tropical gardens, water lilly bestrewed ponds, booming frogs, scuttering geckos, lolling banana leaves shading the paths, palm fringed beach, tranquility, this is the most romantic hotel we've stayed at in Thailand. You'd have to be careful who you came with as you could easily find yourself being proposed to and accepting.The cocktails wouldn't help your resolve either as they are delicious, moorish and served with such beguiling smiles.
The rooms are exceptionally well appointed, some with outdoor sitting rooms, others with small gardens and jacuzzis. We had a peek at the jacuzzi one which was sumptious.The bathrooms have huge baths, massive rainfall shower areas, stone sinks.
Breakfast was a long, lazy affair for us. Fruit juice, fresh fruit, coffee, then all manner of different breakfasts from Thai to a full English via Italian, French, German.......
An infinity pool unobtrusively dominates the sunbathing deck surrounded by intimate day beds and sun loungers. The beach is raked every morning and it's just 10 steps from your lounger across soft sand to the shallow sea.
Saying goodbye to such a wonderful hotel with its deep beds, luxurious bedding, cloud like towels and excellent food is so difficult. Can wait to come again!

Room Tip: For romance definitely the room with the jacuzzi garden but the one we stayed in was perfect for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Mendoros,

I think the best way to respond to your review is providing you with my Email address, so you can quickly book again… many thanks for this wonderful review!

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
LKerfin@anantara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow Scotland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My wife and I had a one night stay here on our way to the Anantara Rasananda. A late afternoon flight from Bangkok meant that we missed the afternoon speedboat so an overnight in Samui was required. As such I just booked an entry level room for the one night stay. The room was quite pleasant though the fittings were a bit tired. We were going to book dinner in the signature restaurant Treetops located in this hotel but as they could only offer a 9pm reservation we decided to eat in the Ocean Kiss instead. Can I tell you my fellow travellers that 14 days later and many far more expensive meals later this dinner still stands out as my best meal in the area. The Thai beef salad was great and the white snapper fillets with sauce was exceptionally good. Well done Ocean Kiss kitchen staff. The restaurant manager also stands out as a genuinely friendly and helpful guy. I'm sorry but I can't remember his name but it was the night of July 1st and he was also on duty for the breakfast here the following morning. I can't in all honesty appraise this hotel any further as we were up and away sharply the next morning but I can still taste the Snapper fillets.

Room Tip: Can't help in this instance - The entry level room was just ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear AllanWanderlust,

Even though we only had the very short pleasure of having you staying with us, we therefore appreciate even more that you are sharing your positive feedback here.

The kitchen and service team of OceanKiss will be very pleased to hear that they have made such a positive impact to your overnight stay. The Restaurant Manager (Khun “A”) and his team will certainly receive a copy of your review together with some special recognition.

Once again, we are glad to hear that we have been able to start off your vacation so nicely and hope you enjoyed your stay at our sister property Anantara Rasananda as much.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Anantara Lawana (Chaweng Beach)

Plus Points:
1) Well located. Just 10 min walk & 5 mins by cab to Chaweng Beach the most happening place in Koh Samuai.
2) Good food especially Ocean Kiss restaurant where they also serve breakfast.
3) If you want to have a perfect romantic dinner then you should not miss The Tree Top restaurant. Expensive but worth every bit if you are a non vegetarian, very little options for vegetarian in fact you have to let them know in advance.
4) Spa is good but expensive.

Minus Points:
1) Poor lighting in the room & bath room.
2) Bathrooms are poorly interiored. The water flow from the shower is probably the slowest I have come across among all the 4 - 5 star properties I have stayed.
3) Only some of the Villas (not all Villas) are sea view were as most of the rooms are not sea view.
4) Beach (Anantara Lawana) is partly rocky & its not how its shown on the web site. There are good beaches in Kho Samui particularly the opp end of Chaweng beach next to Library.

Room Tip: If your are staying in a Deluxe Lawana then you should take a room with balcony. Should select a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Vik18,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. It is always great to see when our guests enjoy their stay and if we have been able to provide you with some great experiences, as we apparently did in our restaurants.

I am sorry to hear about the challenges with the water flow. We will try to investigate which room number you have been staying in. We have upgraded our water pressure quite some time ago and currently we are more challenged with bursting water pipes rather than low water pressure.

It is correct that only 6 out of our 17 Anantara Pool Villas have sea view. But they are classified separately as Anantara Sea View Pool Villa instead of Anantara Pool Villa.

We are currently in the dry season with low water levels as well as having the tide during the day. This is exposing more of the beach which is usually under water, but should return back to normal in the coming weeks. We can see water levels coming back up again already.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we would be delighted being able welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Like others I had been a little concerned by some of the negative reviews, but these turned out to off the mark. My wife and I stayed in a pool villa and had a very enjoyable stay.

Yes, the place is a little old and tired and could do with some sand blasting of concrete and re-varnishing of wood (desks, doors etc) but this was more than made up for by terrific service (did not encounter a single bad experience) by some genuinely happy and caring staff, and the fact that our villas was just what we wanted: - secluded, quiet, not overlooked but a couple of minutes walk from anywhere on site. Not to mention, very comfortable.

Food was good, drinks were generous and not overly expensive, and all requests were met with a smile.

Re criticism of the beach: it is small, but we found it clean and well manitained.

Being too lazy one afternoon to go into town, we did both have massages at the Spa. Both were very good but, like most resorts and hotels, hideously expensive (over US$100 each).

Overall, for a couple looking for a relaxing break, we loved the Anantara Lawana and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for the pool villa. The villas with beach view are close to the pool bar and restaurant and like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Steve M,

First of all congratulations for being the 300th reviewer on TripAdvisor for our Resort. Your effort is highly appreciated by all of us.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay that much and we have been able to provide with a fantastic vacation experience. Thank you as well for the confidence in our resort beforehand.

Weather here can be very hard on materials and we are in constant strieve to improve and maintain all areas. After we have replaced all wooden decks around the pool last year we are now looking at replacing the same in all villas. So you can rest assured that we will keep working hard in improving our resort every day.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We had read a lot of reviews before our stay and was beginning to get a bit worried about what we were getting into but from the first fantastic impression of a stylish open air and very Thai reception with extremly attentive staff and swift check in, Anantara Lawana continued to deliver throughout our stay. Our room (a deluxe) was clean, roomy, stylish and well appointed with a sort of turn of the century plantation motif and a very large, comfortable balcony great for an afternoon nap under the ceiling fan!

The gardens were lush and the property very well maintained and all topped off with a beautiful pool area over looking the beach. The staff were really friendly and attentive with everything from getting food and drinks to securing the perfect sun lounge by the pool! The breakfast buffet had an amazing array of choices and we never had problems getting a table or waiting for coffees (which is espresso of your choice, not horrible drip coffee). Sure there was a bit of a wait at the egg station sometimes when it was busy (about 9.30am seemed to be peak times but still didn't really impact service) but all eggs freshly made to order surely outweighs any delay? The additional Thai breakfast specialties being handed around by the staff was a fantastic little touch which I've never come across in any other resort.

We had to request our room to be made up a couple of times but seriously, if that's the biggest complaint you can come up with, you should get over yourself! All in all, we had a fantastic stay which made for a brilliant holiday that was the perfect escape from the real world. I'd come back to Anantara Lawana in a heartbeat and practically had to be dragged into our airport transfer kicking and screaming, not wanting to leave!

Room Tip: we had the standard deluxe room which was really nice. most of the reviews that complain seem to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Dave P,

So you were the guest we had trouble getting out of the room and into the airport limousine… just kidding.

Your encouraging feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will feel very motivated by your praise and positive comments. It is certainly very nice to hear that our hard work is recognized and even though we are not perfect, our guests are enjoying spending time at our resort and return with great memories.

Thank you very much for staying with us and for posting this review. My team and I will be greatly looking forward welcoming you back in the hopefully near future. Be assured, the second departure doesn’t hurt that much anymore as you know that you can return anytime…

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel with a group of 23. If you have trouble with stairs or hills this is definately not the place for you. My mother and in laws struggled hugely with the steps in their pool rooms as well as to get to breakfast. Although you can get a cart to drop you off there is still steps. Very dark in the entrance to all rooms and trying to find your way around the hotel very very large and we were all around the resort. The staff were wonderful and very friendly and caring could not fault them.

Room Tip: I would definatley have a pool room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear MIA01Melbourne,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback and advise on Tripadvisor.

You are indeed right that our resort is located on a hillside and therefore some areas will include steps in order to reach them. Usually we have not experienced any problems with this and our buggy service is available 24hrs.

We appreciate hearing that you enjoyed your stay and that our team has been able to provide you with a wonderful experience.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa

Address: 92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the quiet, pristine northern end of Chaweng Beach, Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa offers peerless luxury Koh Samui accommodation just steps away from the ocean. Watch the sun rise over Samui’s palm forested coastline. Recline in rooms and suites inspired by the island’s original Chinese merchant settlers. Experience the perfect romantic dinner for two in a setting of your choice, accompanied by the freshest international cuisine.With room sizes starting at 61 square metres, Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa provides leading island resort accommodation. From the luxuriously appointed rooms and spacious Koh Samui pool villas to the resort’s communal facilities and restaurants, each guest is treated to the finest in services and amenities. Take a dip in the beachside infinity edge pool, dine in our treehouse restaurant overlooking the bay, or keep in touch with friends back home thanks to free Wi-Fi throughout the resort.While Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa’s location is quiet and tranquil, the buzz and excitement of Chaweng Beach lie just around the corner, with an array of international restaurants and local shops to take care of your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Lawana Hotel Chaweng
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Bophut
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.