We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for a relaxation but not too far from the main town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 101 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence 2014
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good location for a relaxation but not too far from the main town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Recently returned from a 6 night stay at the Anantara Lawana, overall the stay was very good. The pool and the resort are well laid out and spacious enough to feel secluded and relaxing. The hotel is well located as it is far enough away from the main strip of Chaweng to be peaceful but near enough to go in of an evening or wander to down the beach during the day. There are shops, spas and a laundry all over the road from the hotel and more with in metres in either direction. The main strip is 5 minutes away in a taxi -best to get the open bus taxis rather than the ones that hang around outside as they are cheaper.

We thought the choice and amount of sun loungers was good. We spent time by both the pool and the beach. The pool is large and even with other guests in it feels spacious and uncrowded.

The breakfast everyday is lovely, with a lot of choice both local and international. I totally reccomend the iced coconut latte and the crispy bacon. We also ate lunch at the hotel and the food was good quality with lots of choice on the menu. We ate out in the evening as it was nice to get out and the prices on the main beach and the restaurants in the town are significantly cheaper.

We upgraded to the plunge pool room when we arrived but having seen the normal room on our last day almost wished we hadn't. The plunge pool was small and too cold to really sit and chill in so the only time it is good is after a gym work out or run to cool down. The room also has an open air shower and bathroom which has lots of creatures flying in and out and due to the open air layout led to there being alot of mosquitos in the room (this is not the hotels fault as they provided two plugs and spray and also sprayed the whole resort and room while we were there) not being ones for nature we really didn't like that aspect and would have probably been happier in the normal room. The plunge pool also takes up alot of space and so the room is much smaller than a normal room. The normal room has an enclosed bathroom and a bath too.

The staff in the hotel are all very friendly and helpful and the service is excellent. The cleaning at the hotel is of a very high standard amoung the best I have experienced. Our room was cleaned twice a day and they even lit the citronalla sticks that we bought ourselves every afternoon.

We also tried the free yoga in the morning and which suit all levels including beginners it is an early start 7am but a good way to start the day - it is on 3 days a week on a decking over looking the sea. In addition the gym is open 24 hours and is adequate for a holiday work out.

Overall my experience of the hotel was very positive and we had a relaxing stay there.

Room Tip: Don't upgrade to a plunge pool room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear Saratogadxb,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful vacation with us, even though the room type was not your most preferred one. As you can see in many reviews, some of our guests love the Deluxe Plunge Pool rooms and others don't like them for varies reasons. A key feature of it is certainly the open garden and bathroom/shower and we understand that it is not everybody's preference, therefore we are glad being able to offer alternatives.

We would be glad being able to welcome you back in the future in either one of our Deluxe Lawana rooms or any other.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    265
    62
    34
    22
See reviews for
152
559
31
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed here for 13 nights and found the accommodation and service excellent...we would stay here again for sure.

Darren & Dianna Newcastle australia

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
In this case I can only say "Thank You" and looking forward welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We holidayed with another couple and stayed in the private plunge pool room. We found the staff very friendly and helpful, from the security guard at the front gate to the best housekeeping we have ever experienced in our travels. Pink was just fabulous and to see her lovely smiling face each day was a highlight of our trip. Breakfast was lovely and varied enough for our taste, try the daily smoothies really yummy. The beach is ok, but there is plenty of room around the main pool and we had our own plunge pool. The rooms aren't large, but who goes on holidays and spends all their time in the room! When checking into our room there was a very bad odor, the staff member who showed us to the room immediately moved us there was no hestiation. No problems with mozzies, we got bitten more in Chawenthat an at the resort. Overall we were made to feel very welcomed by all the staff and if we return to koh samui would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Dear TracyandGrub,

Thank you for your review and positive comments about your stay.

Our apology for the initial challenges with the room, but we are glad to hear that our team has been able to find a good solution for you quickly.

We would very much like welcoming you back soon and are looking most certainly forward to it.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Stay in pool villa. They are really very well done to pamper you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Recently stayed at the Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa with my family. Allow me to breakdown the experience as follows:

Location
Great location, close enough to all the action without being in the heart of it! You can easily stroll along the beach to the busy area of Chaweng or take a taxi by road which costs about 50bhat per person. The drive is about 5 mins, the walk on the beach around 20mins. The beach is lovely, quite, and tranquil.

Hotel public spaces (lobby/pool/etc)
Really enjoyed the overall layout of the Anantara Lawana resort. You get the feeling like you are in a small little Thai exclusive community. The hotel is built on a slope facing the sea so many rooms/villas do have views. The lobby area is open and has a distinct Asian flair about it. The pool overlooks the sea and offers plenty of space for guests to enjoy.

Staff/Service
Excellent! All the staff greet you and smile. I mean even the grounds staff say hello. My compliments to the management team!

Breakfast
Lovely and offered a great selection of western/asian choices. During the busy periods we also noticed a number of management walking around ensuring things went smoothly.

Gym
This needs a little attention. The cardio equipment is good (lifefitness) but the free weight selection and machines are outdated and broken. It’s open 24hrs which is appreciated and well stocked with towels and water.

Rooms
Our kids had a room upstairs and my wife and I enjoyed one of the pool villas. No complaints here, rooms were always clean and tidy. Not much space for storage but my wife does tend to over pack on long-haul trips! The outdoor shower/toilet area is an experience which takes a little getting used to for us city folk!

Summary
We really enjoyed the property and would not hesitate to recommend this resort to anyone. If you would like more specific information please drop me a note and I would be happy to answer your question.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear Dutchhouse,

thank you for this very detailed feedback and review. It will certainly encourage us to keep doing what we are doing and improve the areas you addressed.

After receiving this feedback several times we will be looking into adding a couple of free weights in the fitness center. The equipment is usually checked daily and if one is broken it should have been addressed the same day. Unfortunately because the equipment is all imported and we will only repair it with original parts it could take some extra time when the parts need to be shipped to Thailand.

We are also offering extra storage on request, should the provided one not be sufficient. We will alert our team again to ensure they offer this proactively if they see a guest is traveling with extensive luggage.

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We hope being able welcoming you back to our resort or any other Anantara in the future.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We have been in this resort with two more friends for three nights and our experience has been execellent, nice and well appointed rooms with a cozy Thai style deco.
The beach is fantastic and quite private even if the resort was almost full you don't feel it and the guest are well look after by the fridly and professional staff.
The restaurants are also quite nice and excellent location with local and international selections.
The WiFi is free everywhere in the resort and you can be connected even on the beach if you wish that.
It's just few kilometers away from the busy Chaweng beach but looks like far from it.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear Luke991,

Great to hear that you enjoyed your vacation with us so much and thank you for sharing it with the TripAdvisor community.

Hopefully we will be able welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I just stayed at this resort on a recent trip to Thailand to relax and chill out and I would definitely recommend it. I stayed in a pool access room which was fantastic because you could just jump into the pool from your room, I also think the pool villas would have been really good. I advise that you get one of these rooms because the beach out the front of the resort is not that great, the sand is nice but the water is not really good for swimming and it is better to swim in the pool. The reasons why I recommend this resort is that you immediately feel relaxed when you arrive, the staff are very professional and the service and surroundings are good. The rooms are clean and the sky hug restaurant is worth a visit. It is close to the main action of Koh Samui and you can easily walk along the beach to the main area of Chaweng for cheap massages, shopping and food. I thought the breakfast was Ok... but not amazing, but that didn't matter because the rest of the resort was very good. I visited many resorts on the island during my trip and my pick of the best were this resort, the six senses resort, banyan tree, silavadee (for couples who want to have privacy, relax and get away) and the W resort for a bit of fun and cool villas. I also stayed at the Melati resort and I would not recommend this resort, I was disappointed by the room, beach and the food, I would not go back there. Also make sure you visit the Six senses restaurants for exceptional food and a great view, especially the restaurant 'Dining on the Rocks'. The Library resort was also amazing for lunch if you are in the chaweng area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Dear Saskia255060,

Thank you very much for your great feedback and the insights for other fellow travelers.

You seem to have tried most of the highly recognized resorts on Samui and therefore we appreciate even more that you would recommend us to others.

We are constantly working on our breakfast and in case you have shared what you were missing on the buffet with us we are confident that you might find it next time you are around.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa

Address: 92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the quiet, pristine northern end of Chaweng Beach, Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa offers peerless luxury Koh Samui accommodation just steps away from the ocean. Watch the sun rise over Samui’s palm forested coastline. Recline in rooms and suites inspired by the island’s original Chinese merchant settlers. Experience the perfect romantic dinner for two in a setting of your choice, accompanied by the freshest international cuisine.With room sizes starting at 61 square metres, Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa provides leading island resort accommodation. From the luxuriously appointed rooms and spacious Koh Samui pool villas to the resort’s communal facilities and restaurants, each guest is treated to the finest in services and amenities. Take a dip in the beachside infinity edge pool, dine in our treehouse restaurant overlooking the bay, or keep in touch with friends back home thanks to free Wi-Fi throughout the resort.While Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa’s location is quiet and tranquil, the buzz and excitement of Chaweng Beach lie just around the corner, with an array of international restaurants and local shops to take care of your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Minor Hotel Group Limited, Splendia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Lawana Hotel Chaweng
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Bophut
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.