We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solitude & Peace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 stars 861 Reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Solitude & Peace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

My husband & I have just returned from a fantastic 5 nights at Anantara Lawana. We booked a garden villa with plunge pool but on arrival requested the availability of a Sea view villa with plunge pool. We were advised of the extra cost . The staff member "Took" let us view the villa & without even thinking about the extra cost took the upgrade offer.
It was perfect for us. Total privacy, sea views. quiet & peaceful. The room suited us perfectly. We were not bothered by mosquitos due to the effiecient staff burning coils in our rooms for us. The out door area with the private plunge pool was well used every day. We requested on our last night & BBQ to our villa as we wanted to treat some guests to a Seafood BBQ & the staff, headed by the Food & Beverage manager went out of their way to help us do so. Our guests were amazed by the staff as well.

We have spent the 7 nights prior to this @ a resort closer to the main town beach in Chaewang with a group of friends, which was so much busier (heaps of hawkers on the beach & fireworks being let of late at night) so we were grateful for the peace & quiet at Anantara for the last 5 nights. Still only a short distance back to down town on the beach (Keep in mind the tide coming in at night if you have been to the beach bars & plan to walk back) .
We did not use the Spa at the resort as we could get a great massage from those downtown for really good prices.
We ate out at various beach restaurants & also those in town. All had great food & the variety is really amazing. Our best & cheapest meal was at a little place that had plastic tables & chairs. Heaps of people so we knew the turnover of food would be good.
We ate from the beach vendors - BBQ Corn cobs & fresh pineapple we great.
Went Scuba diving out to Koh Tao & Sail Rock & would highly recommend the Padi Dive centre @ Amari Palm Reef Resort.

Overall I have to rate Anantara really well. Every visitor will have their good & bad reviews & I took this on board when making the decision to stay here after reading most reviews on Trip Advisor.This was our second visit to Koh Samui & we very happy with our choice

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear JaneneA,

we believe your review hits the nail on the head and we couldn't have asked for a better confirmation about our efforts.

Your positive comment about our receptionist Khun Took who looked after your room request as well as the one about Khun San, our FB Manager who arranged one of our In Villa BBQs for you will be certainly shared with the team.

We appreciate your trust and will be looking forward welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    224
    52
    31
    20
See reviews for
129
476
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I stayed in another Anantara 3 years ago in Samui and love this brand so much. Therefore, I chose to stay in Anantara again when I returned to Samui for vacation this time. Because both me & my partner wanted to try some new experience, we booked Anantara Lawana for 4 nights to start our trip in Samui.
We arrived at 1pm and our room was not ready. Hotel manager invited us to have a free drink in their pool bar. That's very good service. The view from pool bar is very nice, looking at the peaceful beach.
After half an hour, our room is ready. We booked the basic room which is located in the second floor of a villa house. There is a large balcony. However, the distance with other guest houses is a bit close. We can see some sea view from our balcony.
The room is decorated with old Chinese style. But actually we prefer to have some Thai decoration. So far the room is quite good. But during night, you will find the light is not enough. I cannot look for an area to read book execpt the little working desk. This makes guests feel very sleepy at night.
Buffet breakfast in Ocean Kiss restaurant which is in the beach side. Anantara offers high standard food & beverage. There are many choices for guests to choose. You can even order iced mocha or egg benedict from them. The restaurant is an open air area so you may feel a bit hot if under strong sunshine.
Location of Anantara is in north Chewang. I think if you want to walk to Chaweng from resort, it takes about 15mins. Since we rented a car, there was no problem to go around.
Resort offers free wifi (very good), signal is strong. There is onsite free carpark with security. You can also find some books from their library.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear Bird-Bird-Blogger,

Thank you for your ongoing support for the Anantara brand and Koh Samui. We are glad to hear that we have been able to meet your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are in fact currently reviewing to improve the lighting in some of our guest rooms as it was mentioned a couple of times by our guests. The provided additional reading lights are a first step, but more will follow.

Please feel free getting in touch with us should you wish to try any other of our beautiful resorts in Asia and the Middle East and we would be delighted being able to assist you with it.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Anantara Lawana for the second week of our three week honeymoon in Thailand and our experience overall was mixed.

On our hotel booking it had said that we were guaranteed an upgrade to a plunge pool room on arrival as we were on honeymoon... but it seems that this is subject to availability (so I'm not sure how they can use the term 'guaranteed'?), so we were initially shown to a standard room but told we would be upgraded in two days time when a plunge pool room was available. We were slightly annoyed by this as it meant we wouldn't be able to settle into our room properly or unpack... but it turns out this wasn't a problem as there was so little storage space in the room that unpacking would have been near impossible anyway! There was one wardrobe (bizarrely located in the bathroom) which was pretty much all hanging space apart from a small drawer at the bottom... not very practical for those of us who have three weeks worth of stuff in our cases!

First impressions of the room were that it was aesthetically nice, but not particularly practical. First of all when the doors were closed they still had gaps around the outside meaning that bugs could come in. The hotel might argue that they have mosquito nets around the bed to overcome this problem, but surely it would make more sense to have doors with no gaps? Another issue was the bedside lamps were so dim that you were unable to read when they were on (nor were there any main lights other than extremely dim ones) - to overcome this the hotel were offering a reading light service which we ordered - but ended up being given tiny, flimsy torch clips that you attach to the book whilst reading it rather than an actual substantial light. This was very annoying - I can see the benefits of being able to offer a dimly lit, romantic environment, but even the most romantic of people may sometimes want a proper light! A basic dimmer switch could solve this problem. A final criticism is that all the rooms are quite close together - admittedly there are clever dividers so you can't oversee what other people are doing, but there's a general claustraphobic feel made worse by the fact that you can hear all your neighbours around you.

Something else that had been promised to us as part of our honeymoon package was to have a cake and bottle of sparking wine waiting for us on arrival. This was not the case, so we went to reception to ask about this. They told us it would arrive at 17:00 that evening... but it didn't. We waited around until about 18:30 and called reception to find out if it was on their way. They assured us it was and would be there any minute... but again, it didn't arrive. Eventually by around 19:30 we decided we'd give up on toasting our honeymoon and instead go out for dinner. We arrived home at around 01:00 and found the sparkling wine waiting for us on the side in an ice bucket ... and unbelievably there were still whole ice cubes there, meaning it can't have been delivered much before we got home! As it happens it didn't matter as we were out, but had we have been in bed and had someone knock on our door at midnight with a bottle of wine that was meant to be with us seven hours before we'd have been rather unimpressed... so not a good start!

As promised, two days later we were moved to a plunge pool room, but bizarrely we couldn't decide whether we actually thought of it as an upgrade. For a start, the actual bedroom area was smaller than the standard room... I appreciate this is because a certain amount of the floor space was now dedicated to the plunge pool outside, but due to the lack of storage space having a smaller room was problematic when trying to live out of two suitcases. Our main concern with the plunge pool room, however, was that the bathroom was outside. I'm someone who gets eaten alive by mosquitoes every time I go outside, so having a shower and going to the toilet changed from being relatively relaxed affairs to being as quick as possible... with full deet on!! I would have much preferred an indoor bathroom!! Having said that though, the actual plunge pool was great fun and I spent many a morning out there reading my book.

The pool area of the hotel was very nice and the pool bar staff were very efficient. Unfortunately there was building work going on around the pool decking whilst we were there, but we appreciate that there's never going to be a right time to do improvement work. The hotel beach was quite nice, but the water is very shallow so there weren't many people swimming in the sea. It was fun to watch the Thai men stand in the shallows fishing though.

The centre of Chaweng is around a 15 minute walk from the hotel (or a 3 minute tuk tuk ride) - there were numerous bars, clubs, restaurants, supermarkets, shops, etc - everything you could want from a place. On our last night we walked back to the hotel along the beach and discovered numerous bars and restaurants that we hadn't come across before out on the sand... very picturesque and well worth a stroll!

Overall, we thought the hotel was okay but wouldn't stay there again - it seems whoever designed it tried to make it look nice but just hasn't thought about practical issues. A honeymoon should be perfect with no issues so in hindsight we would not have come here, but we did like Chaweng.

  • Liked — The infinity pool
  • Disliked — Lack of common sense in design
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear SuzanneCroydon,

We appreciate very much that you have taken the time sharing your feedback with us.
The first impression you received hasn’t been to our usual standard and we most certainly would like to apologize for that.

I also would like to apologize that the upgrade guarantee hasn’t been clearly explained to you by your travel agent. The guarantee means that as long as a Plunge Pool Room is available, you will be upgraded to this room free of charge. In your case this room type was unfortunately fully booked on the first two nights and therefore we offered the free upgrade on the first night that a Plunge Pool room became available.

The honeymoon amenities should have been delivered and prepared on time and we understand your frustration that this didn’t happen. Again, we deeply regret that we caused this inconvenience and have reviewed our internal communication to avoid this from reoccurring.

We appreciate your overall positive feedback and can assure you that we will put extra efforts into improving the areas where we haven’t met your expectations.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

The staff here were amazing - This was our first rip to Koh Samui and we treated ourselves to a Sea view pool villa. The room was lovely although it did need some minor maintenance to bring it up to the perfect 5 star standard. We lived in our pool and got room service several times. On our final night we ate at the Tree tops restaurant and had a brilliant meal. Could recommend this hotel for a treat to yourselves

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear suez,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

We always love to hear certainly when our guests had such a fantastic time at our resort and consider their investment as money well spent. The Sea View Pool Villas certainly have a fantastic view and you can rest assured that any potential maintenance need is being addressed.

Feel free to get in touch with us, should you be looking for another treat.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed in their pool villa and did not have a chance to see the city as were in the pool for the entire 4 days there! Service was too good and my kids still remember Phet and Kate from Ocean Kiss as they were soooo friendly. Kate also gave my daughter a clip she was wearing to remember her by. The massages were great too but you can get a few more done for a fraction of the price at the massage place outside the hotel.

Thumbs up and will definitely go back there.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear AishaAwan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments with us. We will definitely share them with our team, especially Khun Kate and Khun Phet.

All of us will be looking forward welcoming you and your daughter back to our resort.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Very impressive hotel, stayed in the deluxe room (the most basic) and it was huge and probably the best we have ever stayed in!
Huuuuge bathroom and balcony area. The infinity pool was breathtaking! Best breakfast buffet of the holiday (we stayed in 4 hotels over thailand) the smoothies were our favourite! Location is about 15 min walk to the main part of chaweng beach but this is a good thing, make sure you don't pay more than 200baht for a cab, your best bet is to hop in the red taxi vans for 50baht each, we did walk when it wasnt raining though!
Skyhug restaurant is definitely worth a visit if you're not on a budget, 3 courses came to £100.00, the most expensive of our entire holiday.
We would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear lucycantwell89,

Thank you so much for those fantastic comments and compliments. Great to hear that you had such a fantastic stay.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back soon... SkyHug is now renamed to TreeTops by the way, with even more highlights!!

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Fantastic resort - everything exceeded our expectations: The breakfast with all the different delicious smoothies everyday and freshly prepared omelets, fantastic pool right at the beach, the cooking class with staff teaching us the essentials of Thai cooking , events at the resort like Saturday Social brunch on the beach with fantastic food and cool music, our spa experiences with a professional team who made the best manicure & relaxing massage, the Thai beach dining with a spectacular fire show and fabulous food and the unbelievable intimate Tree Top Dining with the always so attentative staff.

The entire staff at Lawana made us feel so welcome. We had very high expectations to an Anantara resort in Thailand – and everything was better than we expected. We can definitely recommend this fantastic resort to everyone who wants a relaxing, luxurious vacation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear Stefanie Tuma,

There is very little left to say from us rather than a Thank You for such a wonderful review.

We hope we will be able to be measured against your expectations again.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa

Address: 92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the quiet, pristine northern end of Chaweng Beach, Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa offers peerless luxury Koh Samui accommodation just steps away from the ocean. Watch the sun rise over Samui’s palm forested coastline. Recline in rooms and suites inspired by the island’s original Chinese merchant settlers. Experience the perfect romantic dinner for two in a setting of your choice, accompanied by the freshest international cuisine.With room sizes starting at 61 square metres, Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa provides leading island resort accommodation. From the luxuriously appointed rooms and spacious Koh Samui pool villas to the resort’s communal facilities and restaurants, each guest is treated to the finest in services and amenities. Take a dip in the beachside infinity edge pool, dine in our treehouse restaurant overlooking the bay, or keep in touch with friends back home thanks to free Wi-Fi throughout the resort.While Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa’s location is quiet and tranquil, the buzz and excitement of Chaweng Beach lie just around the corner, with an array of international restaurants and local shops to take care of your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Lawana Hotel Chaweng
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Bophut
Anantara Lawana Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.