We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 stars 861 Reviews
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“SUPERB HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Location:
The hotel is located not in the center of Samui however it is only a few minutes drive away from the center. There are millions of taxi-like transportation which will bring you to the center for about 30 baht pp. The hotel is also quite close to the airport but we didnt know this and have arranged a taxi pick up from the hotel anyways. On the way back, the taxi ride was for free...a nice gesture from the hotel.

Food:
The price includes an open buffet breakfast. The breakfast was very nice. You can find European and Asian breakfast. From Asian soups to European pastry and cheese, it was a decent buffet. It is good to have not only Asian stuff.

Else than that, we had lunch at the hotel a couple of times: good food, limited choice on the menu! However, very expensive compared to the very nice restaurants that are 1-2 minutes walking distance to the hotel and which offer delicious food for half (or less) the price. We never dined at the hotel, because we found this superb restaurant called Among (highly recommended) and dined there most of the time!

Staff:

Staff are polite and friendly. They speak a basic English however sometimes it is not enough. There were a few times we encountered misunderstandings however minor issue.

Spa:
Expensive but must try at least once! Beautifully decorated massage center.

Pool & Bar:
Drinks are great! Infinity pool is nice. Nothing special though.

Room:

We stayed in one of those pricey pool villas. The only thing I can say is that it is very beaitiful and comfortable in the room. Maybe the one point for improvement could be the ever attacking mosquitos: I have been bitten so many times and after half a year I still have the mark of the bite! So for people who are not Asian, this kind of protection could be crucial! I dont even mention about the neatness of the villa!

Anyway, the room was so beautiful and comfortable as well as the hotel, we prolonged our 3 days of reservation after arrival at the hotel. It is by far the most expensive hotel that I've stayed at but it is worth the experience!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Dear Cerromerro,

some very nice and detailed feedback which we highly appreciate. It is very encouraging to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and had the feeling that it was well invested money.

We've seen that your actual stay is already quite a while ago and I'm happy to inform you that since then we have changed our entire lunch menu and have received very positive feedback about it since.

Since last week we upgraded our mosquito treatment further and the amount of mosquitos reduced significantly.

Thanks again for providing us with your feedback and we are looking forward welcoming you back in the hopefully near future.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    224
    52
    31
    20
See reviews for
129
476
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

This resort is just amazing!!!

I had a two day stay over here and everything was just perfect.

The rooms are nice and designed perfectly to chill and relax. The staff is very warm and courteous. The food also was very nice indeed.

Breakfast is well setup along the beach to make a perfect start to your day. A must go place!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Dear Tarun1982,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We are glad to learn that you had a perfect stay.

We are looking forward welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011 via mobile

Positives:
Very good value considering the size of the room and the large plunge pool. Great jumping into your own private pool after a day or night out!
Outside toilet and shower was a nice quirk!
Location was very good as it was slightly away from the busy part of chaweng but still only a few minutes away by songkraew or taxi.
Breakfast was amazing. So much to choose from and loved the soup station with the noodle soups.
Negatives:
Don't get the hotel to book you a cab. I only made this mistake once. They negotiate the price for you which means you pay alot more. Eg. Hotel negotiated 700baht to get to lamai, while i was able to negotiate myself 300baht to get back.
There were marks on our sheets which should be checked a bit closer.
Got eaten alive by Mosquitos at the skyhug restaurant.

Overall, great place that I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Dear DrDavidAshford,

we appreciate the time you have taken to share your holiday experiences at Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa. We are glad to learn that you had an enjoyable stay.

Unfortunately we have to agree that the pricing of the taxis in Koh Samui are not very reliable and are fluctuation strongly by time of the day, destination etc. Due to the popularity of Chaweng it will be always cheaper getting a taxi coming this direction than to find one at the same pricing leaving Chaweng. Just because it is much easier for them to pick up a new passenger in Chaweng than it will be in Lamai for example. Nevertheless, I can assure you that our team will do their outmost to ensure that the best possible fair will be charged.

I am also glad to inform you that we have intensified our mosquito treatment in all areas as of last week and are able to see a significant improvement compared to usual mosquito seasons.

We are looking forward welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We went there for honeymoon and we had such a beautiful memory .. as the hotel decor, the seaview pool villa itself is so stunning, friendly staffs, speedy Wi-Fi at all area in the villa. We started every of our lazy day with OCEAN KISS where we had chilled breakfast on lovely Chaweng beach which friendly staffs & lovely Chefs who always treated us feel so relaxing. And ended the day happily with my hubbie's hug @SKY HUG, the romantic dining place on top of the tree where v enjoyed our lamb rack, foie gras along with bird's eye view of sea, mountain, cool breeze & blue sky hug just like their name .. We actually had a plan to go around the island during our trip but changed our mind coz our seaview pool villa #102 & the resort here is too charming & too relaxing to leave :P

We'll difintely be back to stay at this charming ANANTARA LAWANA again whenever we make a trip to Koh Samui to see lovely GM, K.Lars and all lovely staffs who delivered us a warm welcoming and wonderful treatment throughout our stay ... Cheers !

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Dear Bua_Puchita,

reviewing your posting it seems like we successfully completed our mission to provide you with a honeymoon experience you will want to remember for the rest of your life.

It was a true pleasure having you staying with us during this special occassion and we want to wish both of you once again all the best for your future life together.

We would feel humbled being able welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baroda
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

its a beautiful hotel very much typical thai stlye villas very good spa and the restaurent very nice the infinity pool was beautiful.only bad thing is the lighting in the rooms very poor and lizards in the bathrooms.very close to chaweng street 100bhts by tuk tuk
go for better options of food at chaweng,not a very happening resort good if you love a quite place

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Dear baroda03,

we appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us.

It is great to hear that you are considering us as the "best boutique hotel" and that you enjoyed a pleasant stay with us.

We are currently reviewing the lighting in all guestrooms and public areas and are confident that you will see improvements during any future visit.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

I am a fan of 5 star hotels and travel a lot for work - there are some hotel groups that I love and have never disappointed me.
Wherever I go now, I will check if there is an Anantara!
I booked two different hotels for our trip to Samui. Simply couldn't make up my mind. I was a little worried about the design of the Anantara from the website, which I must say does not truly represent the beauty of the actual resort. The first hotel we stayed at was disappointing and we couldn't wait to leave. We checked out right after breakfast and hoped that the Anantara would be better. From the moment we arrived we knew the Anantara would be in line with our expectations. At check-in we were asked if we wanted to upgrade to a pool villa (we had booked a pool access villa). We asked to have a look at the rooms and whilst both looked great, we went for the more private option, the pool villa. The pool villa at the Anantara has a proper pool with a nice garden and a big enough deck for sunbathing. Just great. Bathroom is huge with two showers, one outside. The living room is very large and separated by a folding wall. The only thing missing was the possibility to play music through our iPhones, or iPods, which I think has kind of become standard in most high end hotels. The internet is slow, like some of the other reviews suggest especially in the room. If you have to do work this could be very annoying. For our holiday, it didn't matter that much.
I must say we simply loved the room and the privacy that came with it. Its great to get up in the morning and just jump in the pool.
The breakfast buffet is amazing (even though I am not a fan of buffets) and the range of fresh juices alone is worth mentioning. We had dinner at Skyhug, which was great. The food was excellent and the setting is romantic (and we aren't the romantic types). We also tried a bottle of Thai wine (a first) which was very good.
The spa is worth mentioning as well. We had a treatment package that was super relaxing and the design of the spa is lovely.
Overall the Anantara Lawana moved close to the top of my list of best hotels. Up there with the Four Seasons in Sayan Bali and the Peninsula in Bangkok. If you like your design minimal, a great setting, outstanding food and good service this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: If you want privacy room 111 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Dear gringo71,

we appreciate the time you've taken to share your experiences and satisfaction in such detail. It is always very encouraging for us to hear when we have succeeded in creating an amazing memory.

We thank you very much for staying with us and are looking forward welcoming you back to any of our Anantara resorts worldwide.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011 via mobile

I stayed at the Anantara for ten nights during may. The staff were very helpful and welcoming on arrival. I stayed in a deluxe pool room and was a tiny bit disppointed with the location of the room. I would go back again and the food in the hotel was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Dear But82,

thank you very much for your feedback.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa

Address: 92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the quiet, pristine northern end of Chaweng Beach, Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa offers peerless luxury Koh Samui accommodation just steps away from the ocean. Watch the sun rise over Samui’s palm forested coastline. Recline in rooms and suites inspired by the island’s original Chinese merchant settlers. Experience the perfect romantic dinner for two in a setting of your choice, accompanied by the freshest international cuisine.With room sizes starting at 61 square metres, Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa provides leading island resort accommodation. From the luxuriously appointed rooms and spacious Koh Samui pool villas to the resort’s communal facilities and restaurants, each guest is treated to the finest in services and amenities. Take a dip in the beachside infinity edge pool, dine in our treehouse restaurant overlooking the bay, or keep in touch with friends back home thanks to free Wi-Fi throughout the resort.While Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa’s location is quiet and tranquil, the buzz and excitement of Chaweng Beach lie just around the corner, with an array of international restaurants and local shops to take care of your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Lawana Hotel Chaweng
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Bophut
Anantara Lawana Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.