We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not even a 3*!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Sirene Hotel

Save Saved
You added Le Sirene Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Sirene Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Costa Smeralda scenic road Km 0,100, 07026 Portisco, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Portisco
LEBANON
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not even a 3*!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

the only thing good about this hotel is its location, all the rest is bad, the rooms are bad, the bed are not confortable, the amnities are not good, the room facilities are barely a 3* hotel and the breakfast is very poor. this is not a 4* hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    4
    12
    3
See reviews for
4
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for a couple of days, while touring Sardinia in the summer. The staff is really helpfull. Even if we didn't book that room, they gave us an upgrade and we didn't need to pay for it! We had a great view from our rooms. The rooms are nice, cosy and tidy. Same for the bathroom!
We had some trouble finding the hotel the first day. And if you travel by car, finding parking space isn't always easy. Especially if you arrive in the evening.
The hotel is situated next to little shops and great restaurants! The Maddalena Islands and Capo d'Orso are only 40 minutes by car away. As is Olbia.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Although the rooms were quite small they were tastefully decorated & furnished. Because the floors are stone you could hear furniture being moved in neighbouring rooms, but this didnt happen often. I dont think we saw anyone while we were there, very easy to be left alone to relax. No hustle and bustle. The marina is a fabulous little area with great dining available. i would definately return.
Be aware there are alot of steps down to the marina but there is a longer way around via a steep tarmac hill.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

The Hotel is very nice, rooms are nice and clean, but small.
It is situated in the Marina Portisco, which is a small yacht habour. You find everything here - restaurants, bars a little supermarket and the next beaches are just 5 to 10 mins walk away.
But if you want to go anywhere else - then you need a car or a scooter or a boat. Public transport is hardly available (next bus station 1 KM walk away with very few connections over the day) or you have to use the very expensive taxis. (for example: 47 EUR to Olbia airport).
Downside is that it is very noisy in the port. The Marina & Hotel Staff are doing a lot to keep the place clean and neat - but they are loud doing so. And that even during the night - talking loud, having portable radios on full volume and so on. Try to sleep with this with open windows...
Another bad experience was, that the room maid forgot to lock my room doors after making up the room. It was open the full day (luckily nothing stolen). Anybody could have walked in, as the terrasse door is directly at the public walkway along the port....
The Hotel is advertised as 4 Stars - I would rate it with 3 Stars, although the price is more 4-Star... But still it is one of the cheaper solutions if one wants to stay in the extremely overprized Costa Smeralda.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frontenac, MO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

Le Sirene is a true treasure. It has just been taken over recently by a new OUTSTANDING Chef and his family. In a private cove with free boat shuttle service from Positano Harbor. A true dining experience. (The staff shows you all the dishes of the day and brings out great samples for you to try.) They catch their own fish and make everything from scratch, including their after dinner drinks. The brusetta,eggplant and pasta are without the a doubt the best we have ever had anywhere. It was so great that we went back the next night and recommended it to other friends who just returned home saying it was their best dining experience anywhere...ever... also. It is an all evening event...not a dinner. We would like to keep this top secret but also want him to thrive...so we must share! We will all go back to Positano just to eat at Le Sirene. Best food, good prices and out of the way of tourists...at least until word spreads. THIS IS ONE NOT TO MISS!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2007

Had a long weekend in Sardinia and had no idea where to stay. We drove from Olbia and liked the port and found this hotel and got offered the room at 50% off the rate as was very quiet , we ended up staying for 2 nights (supermarket is now closed till 2008). Room had a secluded double balcany which was lovely with amazing views over the sea and port, but the room itself was small but did have 2 bedrooms. Room was on the top floor and we were shown some other rooms which we rejected before being shown this one. Found staff friendly and helpful. There are some lovely little beaches a few minutes walk from hotel and they are very small but we were the only people on the beach, water was crystal clear and sand golden.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2007

We read the mixed reviews before we booked but thought we’d give Hotel Le Sirene the benefit of the doubt. We wanted to go to Sardinia and this seemed like a good base in order to see the region.

The room we were given was described as ‘Classic Garden Room’. ‘Industrial Extractor fan view room’ or maybe ‘Dungeon Room’ might have been more accurate names. There’s no privacy to your ‘terrace’ anyone can wander through. In terms of the room, the shower was spacious & really powerful there were no other good points. There was barely any natural light it was very small, broken fittings eg lamp by the bed, and worst of all ridiculously noisy. We actually put up with it for the first few nights but after about the 3rd night of broken sleep asked to be moved straight away. The noise can be attributed to bad plumbing, stone floors in rooms above and to the sides mean that every iron chair that is moved, every cough, conversation and every foot step sounds like its in the room. The thin walls also allowed us to hear the guests from about 4 other rooms go to the toilet, throughout the night followed by the cisterns filling up for the next 15 minutes.
We were moved that day to a room probably one of the mid ones which was better, it was larger and slightly quieter with a view above ground. There was a nasty sewage smell coming up the shower drain and toilet but by this time we were so fed up we just kept the French windows open.

In terms of service this was very hit and miss. The main reception lady was sweet but generally non-Italians seemed to be 2nd class citizens. We watched countless times where an Italian couple or family were offered cappuccino, hot chocolate, and espresso in front of us when we were never given the option. However if you then asked for one after overhearing, they would make it. We’ve never come across this sort of thing before but found it quite common in this area of the island. The youngest waitress had a bit of an attitude. The breakfast was fine, fresh bread, cheese & salami, croissants but be warned that was it. We were there for 11 days so got a bit bored of the selection by the last few days. The maids were friendly and rooms were cleaned and towels changed everyday.

In terms of the area, beaches are fabulous, that’s why you come to Sardinia and what you pay for. Hiring sun beds & umbrellas costs 21 euros a day for 2. Food is pricy and generally not great which we were really surprised by. The best food we found was actually in the Pizza place near the hotel. This is not really a hotel it’s a B&B. Go 30km south of the Costa Smeralda or more towards sassari and meet friendlier people and get better food. I honestly don’t know how they get away with the 4 star claim. On our return this week we have looked into what constitutes a 4 star rating and Hotel Le Sirene doesn’t seem to relate to any definition of 4 star we can find. Except for maybe the price.

  • Liked — Air conditioning & fab shower, I'm really trying to find something positive.
  • Disliked — So noisy, did not feel comfortable or welcome here.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portisco hotels

Been to Le Sirene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Sirene Hotel

Address: Costa Smeralda scenic road Km 0,100, 07026 Portisco, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Portisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Portisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Sirene Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Le Sirene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Sirene Olbia
Hotel Le Sirene
Le Sirene Hotel Sardinia/Portisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Sirene Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.