We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Forest Hills Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Forest Hills Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Forest Hills Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overton Hill, Frodsham WA6 6HH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Frodsham
Bedfordshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

I stayed here for one night on business and was very well looked after. My room was spacious and comfortable and had a pleasant view of fields. The hotel is situated on a hill above Frodsham and the restaurant has a fantastic view over the River Mersey, looking towards Liverpool on the other side of the river. The pool area is lovely and very relaxing. Service was very good. I arrived mid-afternoon, having failed to get any lunch and was able to get a sandwich in the very pleasant lounge area. The food at dinner was OK, though nothing special. It was a bit "retro". I had the set menu and ordered melon, which was swimming in fruit coulis, a decent steak with poor chips and lemon meringue (from a packet? It tasted artificial) Breakfast was in the same style e.g. tinned grapefruit, but the eggs were freshly cooked to order and my poached egg was very good. If the food was modernised and brought up to scratch this would be a really good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Dear ChrisBedf
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor and i am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Whenever customers pass comments wether they be good or bad we always try to take the comments as constructive and we will be reviewing our menu specs and presentation on both dinner and breakfast.
We have recently joined Best Western Hotels and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Yours Sincerly
Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    109
    49
    13
    13
See reviews for
72
105
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

As I arrived at the hotel, it was located in a nice area however it was a little out of the way and hard to find. The room that I was given was nice enough and offered a very comfortable overnight stay.

The leisure facilities were very nice with a well sized pool that my husband and I enjoyed as well as the hot spa ;)

As far as other parts of the hotel are concerned, all of the staff are friendly and greeted us both with smiles. The only issue was related towards the restuarant when we had our evening meal and also breakfast. The evening meal was very well presented and was very enjoyable as well as being well priced. my husband and i were mainly served by a young lad, if i remember correctly, ben. He seemed to control the dining room well as well as looking after our needs. On the other hand, the breakfast in the morning was not ran as well as the evening as the aiters in the room mainly the girls stood in a group and tended to talk rather than looking after their customers.

The stay was very enjoyable however some customer service skills may need to be improved. we will be staying again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Dear Val222186
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip advisor.I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and will be passing your comments onto the members of staff concerned.
I will also make a point of speaking to our Breakfast supervisors and ensure that all the staff that work on breakfast are as attentive as the evening staff.
We have recently joined Best Western and we we continue to train our staff to the highest possible standards
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Best Western Forest Hills soon.
Yours sincerly
Kieran mcCabe
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Have just return from a weekend at this hotel, lovely from start to finish,it was nice and clean room was ace, food , staff, all excellant, was quiet peaceful and very relaxing, which is what we wanted and we got it jane and staff also at leisure centre were brill hot stone massages was a treat, i would highly recommend this hotel it if want to chill, will be returning as soon as we can

Room Tip: our room was 101 and i would ask for it again
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Dear Jan60
Many thanks for posting your comments on Trip Advisor.I will take pleasure in letting the team know how much you enjoyed your stay.
We have recently joined Best Western so keep your eye on our website for some fantastic bargins.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Best Western Forest Hills soon.
Yours Sincerley
Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

We booked this hotel as we had a Groupon voucher. The hotel it's self is located in a beautiful location with great views. We received a friendly welcome and our room was ready even though we were an hour early to check in.

The décor in the room needed a little bit of a spruce. Quite old and dated, however it was clean. The TV was a little hit and miss with reception. We had a room with a door that lead to another room, which meant unfortunately meant we were woken at 3am by some inconsiderate guests in the room next door being very loud. This was not the hotels fault. However, people in the hall way could be heard clearly which also so made our night very restless.

There was a wide selection of food for breakfast. A gentleman took our orders for eggs, toast and preferred drink when we arrived a 9:15, however I had to ask twice for the coffee, toast and eggs. The toast and coffee arrive 15 minutes after we asked for them and I then cancelled our orders for eggs as we had finished the rest of our breakfast and needed to leave.

Overall our stay was ok. The hotel could do with some redecorating in places and we were upset about the noise. I wouldn't have paid the full price being asked.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Dear Sjbarton666
Many thanks for the comments you have posted on trip advisor and we are delighted you had a good stay with us.
We are continually looking at our refurbishment programme and we have more bedrooms planned for later in the year.
I am glad you took advantage of our Goupon promotion and if you keep an eye on our website there are lots of exciting offers as well as the announcement that Forest Hills Hotel has now Joined Best Western Hotels.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the BEST WESTERN Forest Hills
Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

We stayed for just one evening as we were attending a family gathering nearby. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful receptionist who quickly and efficiently booked us in. We were booked into a twin room, the room was a great size, very clean and with nice views over the Cheshire countryside.

We didn't eat in the hotel in the evening so obviously can't comment, however, the menu looks good and well priced.

Breakfast on the Sunday morning was good, nice selection of cereal, fruit, croissants, etc. You are asked if you want eggs and they are freshly cooked to order; you then help yourself to other items from the hot buffet.

Breakfast is served until 10am. Due to slight hangovers from the night before we didn't go for breakfast until 9.30, by 9.55 the young waiting on staff were clearing away the hot buffet items, one young waitress popping mushrooms into her mouth whilst doing so! Soon after, a trail of staff come from the kitchen carrying plates of food and settle themselves down in the restaurant to eat breakfast! It's a shame this happens as it really let's down the professionalism of the hotel. I appreciate staff are entitled to breaks however I would have thought this would be done in private.

Apart from this small point, and it really didn't detract from our enjoyable stay, we would have no hesitation in staying at Forest Hills, great value and smashing hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Dear SJE1000.
I would like to take the oppertunity to thank you for the comments you have posted on Trip Advisor.We as a team here at Forest Hills Hotel are always glad to welcome feedback from our guests.
i hope your hangover got better as the day went on and the breakfast would certainly have assisted that.
We have now stopped the practise of staff helping themselves to food from the carvery as you quite rightly pointed out this practise is not very proffesional.
Please keep an eye on our website for any up and coming offers and we look forward to welcoming you back to Forest Hills.
Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

We were a party of 9 staying for our Brothers funeral, the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly one and all. We also had the funeral party at the Hotel and were also very well looked after. The manager went out of his way at all times. We have all agreed to meet up again in the near future and of course without a doubt it will be at the Forest Hills Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Dear Jockmum
Thank you very much for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I will take great pleasure in passing them on to all the team here at Forest Hills Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hotel under better circumstances.
Once again thank you
Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

10 of my family travelled to Cheshire for a funeral, and stayed at the Forest Hills for 2 nights- what was a sombre occasion turned into a lovely family get together, we were treated and catered for in a 5* manor- the manager Kieran, went 'that extra mile' for us all, nothing was too much trouble, a great peoples' person. My Dad was in the disabled room, and this was fantastic, roomy, with a great roll-in shower, plenty of room to manouver his wheelchair,- the restaurant food was superb, i can honestly say that the 10 of us on both nights thoroughly enjoyed the gorgeous food and service to match- portions are generous! We've all agreed to try for a family 'reunion', and we'll be heading back there, as we'll know what we're getting! Brilliant value for money- Well Done Kieran + Staff! Thankyou soooo much! Lorna- Glasgow.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Dear Lorna966
Many thanks for your kind comments on your stay, i will take pleasure in passing them onto to the entire team and we look forward to seeing you at forest hills hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards
kieran McCabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Forest Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Forest Hills Hotel

Address: Overton Hill, Frodsham WA6 6HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Frodsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Frodsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Forest Hills Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Forest Hills Hotels a modern 3 Star Hotel.Situated just off the M56 yet set amidst beautiful Cheshire countryside.The panoramic views across the Cheshire Plains and the Mersey Estuary instantly tells you that the BEST WESTERN Forest Hills is something different.Set amongst quiet woodland,away from the hustle and bustle of the city,for a perfect nights sleep,yet just minutes away from the M56 which opens up the delights of Cheshire and North Wales and just a 20 minute drive from Chester.A perfect base for exploring the countryside,with the sandstone Trail on the doorstep.Ideal for families and Leisure Breaks.Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village for shopping and fun for the family at Chester Zoo,Blue Planet Aquarium and Gullivers World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Forest Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Forest Hills Hotel Frodsham, Cheshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Forest Hills Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.