We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would definitely go again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The White Lion

The White Lion
Manley Road | Alvanley, Frodsham WA6 9DD, England
01928 722 949
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 34 Restaurants in Frodsham
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I would definitely go again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I came here in May for my girlfriends brothers 18th birthday meal, never heard much about this place before coming the first time and I was pleasantly surprised at The White Lion as I got there.
Its a Very well kept Pub/Restaurant, Beautiful on the outside and Beautiful on the inside,
Great selection of food, Good selection of drinks, Staff were friendly and the organisation was good also as we reserved a large table for 8/9 of us.
The quality of the food was okay, going on feedback of everyone - Me personally I had the Carbonara and I wasn't overly impressed (having to drain your pasta before you eat it isn't quite what your paying for) BUT that said, there are a lot of good points to very minimal bad points.
The beer garden here I'm told is absolutely beautiful on a nice sunny day so that's the next time ill be going!
Looking forward to it! :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    39
    21
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch in a lovely garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Just had a lovely relaxing day in beautiful sunshine. Staff looked after us well but they weren't overly busy.

Food was very good and more than reasonably priced for the area.

Have been before and will definatly go again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Poor service and mediocre food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Have eaten there regularly, but each time, the standards seem to drop. Won't be back there in a hurry.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good place for a sunny evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Have been here many times as it is our local "ordinary" pub (not gastro etc) and often has vouchers for discounts (currently a 25% off mains). My favourite time is early evening with friends and children. There is a field for kids to run around away from the adults, but secure (you can still see them). Food is good and service usually excellent. Sometimes the bar is a little slow, but always an apology. The menu is pretty traditional and the kids menu is a good on (pasta, steak, gammon, fish ... More varied than most standard pubs).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckley, Flintshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Jeff.A”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I had Sunday lunch, really nicely done with home cooked food. Plenty of everything on a huge plate although took a little while to serve. Lovely atmosphere with lovely open fires, oak beams pleasant staff. Would recommend to everyone. Will certainly go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Lion also viewed

Knutsford, Cheshire
Frodsham, Cheshire
 
Frodsham, Cheshire
 

Been to The White Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.