We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable and Relaxing Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Courtyard Cheshire

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frodsham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Courtyard Cheshire
Save
You added The Courtyard Cheshire to your Saves list
Rake House | Lower Rake Lane, Frodsham WA6 0AL, England (Formerly The Courtyard Helsby)   |  
Hotel amenities
London, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable and Relaxing Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have just returned from a 5 night stay at The Courtyard for my father in laws birthday and all I can say is what a wonderful week.

The accommodation is outstanding very comfortable and very well maintained. We arrived at 4pm on the Monday afternoon and the owners were there to meet us which was lovely, they showed us around the accommodation and advised if we needed anything we should just ask.

There was lots of information on offer on the welcome table, showing us the local areas to visit and restaurants.

The cottage was very well equipped with everything that we needed. There was a utility room available with all amenities such as washing machine, tumble dryer and clothes rack if you wanted to do your washing during your stay.

The bedrooms were very spacious and like the rest of the cottage everything you required was available for you to use. All bedrooms were on suite which was fantastic as 2 of our party members were pregnant so as you can imagine needing to use the bathroom every 5 minutes could have become difficult.

I would highly recommend Netherton Hall Pub for an evening meal beautiful food, very helpful staff and highly relaxing.

We visited Chester Outlet Village also which had some fantastic bargains on designer clothes, this is only 5 miles away.

All in all our stay was very relaxing and I would recommend The Courtyard

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill M, Owner at The Courtyard Cheshire, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review of The Carriage Barn. It is such a lovely property and we're delighted to be able to share it with others as well - especially pleased that the two expecting ladies were comfortable too! We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes
Roger & Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    1
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
29
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We booked our immediate family into two of the Courtyard cottages and were very pleased with both. Comfortable, well equipped and attractively decorated, this was the perfect place from which to launch our youngest daughter into married life. Roger and Jill were remarkably tolerant as box after box of wedding paraphernalia was trailed into the Barn (including photographers on the day itself).
One fly in the ointment occurred the day preceding the wedding, however when bride-to-be lost her engagement ring. Despite searching high and low we couldn't find it and sadly concluded it had been dropped elsewhere.
But - way above and beyond the call of welcoming hosts - Roger and Jill had housekeepers search for the lost ring when we had departed and, incredibly, it was found behind the loo! What greater proof that this property couldn't be bettered (or more carefully cleaned! )?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill M, Owner at The Courtyard Cheshire, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your fabulous review. We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay here for such a significant family occasion. We were horrified when we learnt that your daughter had lost her ring for her big day but were thrilled when our housekeeping team found it and we were able to reunite her with it. Houesekeeping are delighted that you found it so clean!

Best wishes
Roger & Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I have just returned from my hen weekend in helsby and can't praise this place highly enough! We booked the carriage barn and the stables cottage as there was 10 of us and we all had a wonderful stay. The accommodation is very comfortable and furnished to a high standard so it felt really special. We loved all dining together round the large dining table in the carriage barn and chilling in the open plan lounge area together.

Roger & Gill were very welcoming, friendly and helpful and wanted to make sure that our stay was a good one. The cottages are ideally located for hopping on the train for Chester, being less than 5 minutes walk from the station. The train was an easy way of reaching Chester for very little cost and meant we could sample a cocktail without anyone having to drive!

We hired Sue Lowry catering for our Saturday night meal and had the most amazing 3 course meal cooked for us in the carriage barn. We were waited on and spoilt with wonderful flavours, just like dining out, but without worrying about taxis, umbrellas or sore feet in crazy heels in town! I would most certainly recommend Sue if you are a group staying at the courtyard and want the brilliant experience of a dinner party with no cooking or washing up to do!

I really hope to return with my soon to be husband and stay in the gorgeous looking loft for a cosy weekend together to start married life!

Thanks again gill and roger for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill M, Owner at The Courtyard Cheshire, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your fabulous review for your special weekend. Delighted that you found our location so good as well with the train station bein so close making Chester very accessible. We would like to wish you all the best for your wedding and look forward to welcoming you back to The Loft one day soon!

Best wishes
Roger & Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have recently spent a long weekend in 'The Loft' celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary. We were delighted at how comfortable and spacious the apartment was,beautifully decorated and very well equipped. The owners obviously have a real eye for detail, I also had a peek in two of the cottages and they were equally as fabulous. Definitely hope to return.
Many thanks

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill M, Owner at The Courtyard Cheshire, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review of The Loft. We're so glad that you found it the perfect place to celebrate your wedding anniversary too! Many congratulations for that and thank you once again for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again some time soon.

Best wishes
Roger & Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed in Number 1 in Helsby and had a wonderful time. The cottage was definitely 'home from home'. It was clean, tidy and warm. There was ample storage and space for our needs.
The kitchen was well equipped with a small garden at the back. The lounge and dinning area were comfortable and a good place to spend your evenings.

I really don't have anything bad to say about this place and I am a very picky traveller. Would stay here again and have no issues recommending to others.

Room Tip: All rooms in the cottage we stayed in were very clean and well equipped. You really can't go wro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill M, Owner at The Courtyard Cheshire, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review on your stay in 'No.1'. It is a very popular cottage and we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We've passed your comments on to the housekeeping team as they do do a great job in maintaining the high cleanliness standards for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed in the stables with our children and grandchildren and had a fantastic time. We returned in 2012 as a couple and stayed in the loft and found it to be a home away from home despite the wet weather will return for our xt trip home from Australia and will certainly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: There are different sized rooms and depending on the size of your party all are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill M, Owner at The Courtyard Cheshire, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thanks ever so much for your fabulous review. We are delighted that you enjoyed it so much to come back and pleased that you felt so at home. Look forward to seeing you next time you come back from Australia.

Kind regards
Roger & Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We are a family of 2 adults and 2 children, 2 year old and 4 month old. We stayed here for 3 nights. We stayed in "Number 1" in the Courtyard Helsby. Beautiful and very comfortable cottage. Plenty of room with all mod cons, perfect for a family with young kids. Great base to explore the Cheshire area. Close to Chester city and Chester zoo. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill M, Owner at The Courtyard Cheshire, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review of your stay. Really glad that you enjoyed staying in 'No.1' and found it so comfortable and that you found it very convenient for Chester, the zoo and all the other places you visited. There is so much to do from here as a base and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to explore some more!

Kind regards
Roger & Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Courtyard Cheshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtyard Cheshire

Address: Rake House | Lower Rake Lane, Frodsham WA6 0AL, England (Formerly The Courtyard Helsby)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Frodsham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Frodsham
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Cheshire has two locations in Helsby and the medieval market town of Frodsham. The Courtyard Helsby offers 4 stunning properties set around a 200 year old cobbled courtyard in the lea of Helsby Hill, making it a perfect place for you to escape to in a great location. The Courtyard Helsby is a 10 minute drive from Historic Chester, Blue Planet Aquarium, Chester Zoo and Cheshire Oaks Designer Village and a short hop to visit Arley, Tatton & Ness 3 of Cheshire's finest Gardens. The Courtyard Frodsham offers a two bedroomed heritage hideaway which transports you back in time but with all the modern day comforts. Quirky & fun and recommended by Sawdays Special Places. Both locations offer superb transport options of the train and bus to many destinations, Chester, Liverpool, Manchester and North Wales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Courtyard Cheshire Frodsham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Courtyard Cheshire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.