We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious room, good restaurant, convenient to airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza d'Epoca Pietra di Ponente

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residenza d'Epoca Pietra di Ponente to your Saves list
Residenza d'Epoca Pietra di Ponente
Via Doganale 14a, 00043 Ciampino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ciampino
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Spacious room, good restaurant, convenient to airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We were a family of 5 (2 adults and 3 small children) that spent one night here in order to be close to the airport. Due to changes in the road, the property was a little difficult to find, so if you are driving a car, be prepared with a GPS and a few detours.

Check-in was easy. Given this is a 4 star hotel, I think the hotel staff could be a little more proactive in helping their guests enjoy the stay a little more. I was very very pleased with the size of the room. We had a Suite Blu room, and it was plenty of space for the 5 of us. Everything seemed fairly new and clean. Maybe the TV could have been slightly bigger with a few more channels, but other than that, it was perfect for us.

We ate at the restaurant. The menu is small, but the food was good, despite a small hiccup in our order.

The only problem with this hotel is that there is nothing within walking distance, and the hotel property is quite boring. We did enjoy the outdoor seating on the terraces, but other than that, there is absolutely nothing to do here. They really need to put in a pool or a hot tub.

Would I stay here for a long period of time? No. But if you are heading out on an early flight from Ciampino, this is a perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: If you are a family of 4, I suggest a Suite Blu room. Very spacious with room for a crib too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    41
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
40
69
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

The location was not very convenient especially if you did not have a vehicle and what made things worse was having to call the hotel from a pee smelling phone booth when you arrived at the train station to be picked…they never wanted you to call ahead…annoying.

Restaurant needed to be advised that you would be needing food in advance. This was a bit annoying since this is not stated on our first day at check in so imagine how angry I got when we walked into the restaurant thinking we would be getting dinner

Other than these few hiccups the hotel was clean and the staff was very nice

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

When we arrived we were told that the restaurant was not open today, no explanation! We said we had just travelled from the Amalfi coast and were hungry, they offered to take us to a restaurant in 2 hours when they opened in the area, which they did do.

There were not a lot of facilities for a 4 star. No tea or coffee making facilities and no where to even get a packet of biscuits or a coffee. The shower room/ bathroom was very dark.

The bedrooms were furnished nicely. There was no atmosphere in the hotel it seemed very cold and isolated.

In my opinion it was a nice bed and breakfast but not a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, IOM
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

If you are flying out of Ciampino Airport and are looking to stay somewhere close by to avoid the rush from the City Centre then stop searching, you have found it.

We stayed for the last night of our 7 day trip to Rome in Sep 2011 and wanted something close to the Airport. Our taxi driver struggled a little to find it but once we did we weren't disappointed.

We got a good deal on a junior suite but in truth it was bigger than we needed, the rooms have been nicely converted from the original building and had everything we needed (including the quietest A/c I have ever heard).

The service was great, the room was great, the breakfast buffet was great and the free transfer to the Airport took the hassle out of everything - the only downside was that the restaurant/kitchen was closed on the night we stayed so we had to go to the nearest to the restaurant that was recommended by reception. We were given a free transfer but were disappointed with the meal and would have preferred to eat at the hotel or elsewhere.

Still a great stay though and i will be coming back if ever visiting Rome again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

What a wonderful relaxing place to unwind after a day of jumping around in Roma. Not a bad train ride (under 20 Min) Hotel always picked us up at the train station. Really good service. Food was pretty good. After we finished our day of sightseeing we sat on the patio and talked of our sights and the history. We never tried to wonder around. But were told the area was sketchy at night. I loved it here. Such a peaceful setting.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverness-shire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

we stayed here for one night and absolutely loved it - we called ahead and the shuttle was there to collect us from the airport - our room was lovely, a double with a single upstairs - clean and simple decor with lots of tradtional features which we really liked. We booked dinner and are so glad we decided to eat there - the food was simple but the flavours were superb - one of the best restaurants of our trip - the gnocchi with four cheese sauce was delicious, as was the lemon chicken with roasted potatoes, we also had the beef salad which was cooked to perfection. Breakfast was served upstairs which was a quaint touch, with a nice selection of pastries, eggs, ham, cheese etc with a nice toastie maker too. The hotel shuttle took us to the airport early in the morning and we felt refreshed and relaxed after our night here - watching the sunset from the terrace was a highlight and very romantic! I would recommend this hotel to stay at without hestiation and can't wait to return again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while visiting Rome. We were delighted with the location as we flew to Ciampino. It's so great to arrive there, and leave from there, and not to have to worry about getting to and from the airport.

The shuttle service is fantastic. The location is gorgeous - very much in the middle of the countryside and lots of birds and flowers everywhere. Quite a peaceful place. We expected to get a lot of sleep but each night there were dogs barking for long periods in a nearby house.

We found a lot of the staff quite difficult to deal with - not very friendly and making out that everything you asked was an inconvenience. We found this created a bad atmosphere... Others were very helpful though, but unfortunately they weren't there most of the time we were staying.

Food is a bit unreliable there. We arrived at 10:30 am after a very early flight and were told there was no food until dinner time. When asked again, we were given a few pastries which was great. We went to Rome for the day and came back for dinner at the hotel, but were told the restaurant wasn't open that night. We were directed to a local restaurant (L'Altra Trappa or something like that) which was gorgeous so it worked out well, but it's worth knowing that you can't rely on being able to get food at the hotel.

Overall I think I would stay at the hotel again, because of it's location near the airport and the lovely countryside location. A few small changes would make it a really incredible place to stay - a nicer atmosphere from the staff and more readily available food.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residenza d'Epoca Pietra di Ponente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza d'Epoca Pietra di Ponente

Address: Via Doganale 14a, 00043 Ciampino, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Ciampino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ciampino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residenza d'Epoca Pietra di Ponente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza d`Epoca Pietra Di Ponente Hotel Ciampino
Residenza D'Epoca Pietra Di Ponente Ciampino, Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza d'Epoca Pietra di Ponente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.