We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff makes the stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Treasure Cay Road, Treasure Cay AB-22134, Great Abaco Island (Formerly Treasure Cay Hotel Resort and Marina)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Buy 1, Get 1
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Treasure Cay
Fort Myers
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The staff makes the stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We hadn't been to this resort for several years and were pleasantly surprised upon our return. It is an older resort and the rooms could use some updating, but the staff was very responsive to our every request, including sending someone immediately to plane the edge of our entry door so it would open and close without sticking. Avis at the front desk went above and beyond to please us, and the "new" manager Steve knows what he's doing when it comes to customer service. It really is a convenient location with golf cart and bike rentals, restaurants, groceries, laundry and beautiful beach all within a short walking distance. The Tipsy Seagull is a great little bar on property with live music, right next to a large swimming pool. Coco's is a bar/restaurant affiliated with the resort but located right on the beach. They now offer lounge chairs gratis, but charge a minimal $10 for shade. They even have an inflatible water slide for "kids" of all ages. A major bonus for boaters is it's right at the marina and they provide shower facilites. All in all it's a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Marina view rooms have a great view of the boats and water
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    68
    36
    17
    9
See reviews for
31
107
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

If you're looking for a perfect spot for a honeymoon that is quiet and peaceful and amazingly beautiful, with a perfect beach, and I mean perfect beach!

The staff are amazing and super friendly! Avis and stedmond, Felicia and mark and everyone else really make sure you have no needs

We will definitely go back!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed for business, decent stay, no breakfast buffet but wifi included. Close to supermarket so you can buy some stuff for breakfast. Close to beautiful beach access. Nice kitchenette area. Needs improvement. Short drive to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Every single day you can wake up to chirping birds, eat conch at the Coco Beach Bar, walk the glorious white sand beach, swim in that clear and calm turquoise water, free dive for sand dollars, watch sea turtles paddle around the marina, chat with the fishermen at the fillet board or go fishing yourself, work your way through the frozen drink menu, dance to Chris "Da Burner" Russell or the DJ at the Tipsy Seagull Bar, and finish your day gazing at the stars. Treasure Cay is a remote community on a remote island, but there is always something going on at the resort and they know how to make their own fun. There is a weekly fish fry, a bonfire on the beach, a pizza night, and every evening you can listen/dance to music and watch sports on the TV's at the Tipsy Seagull Bar...and you'll be surprised by the amount of people who just show up out of nowhere for all of these events. During our last visit, over Memorial Day, the resort arranged for special entertainment including a fantastic warm-up band (I wish I knew the name of the group), a Junkanoo parade through the bar, and K.B., a rake-n-scrape and calypso singer of note who has a VERY entertaining way with words...the place was totally packed. We like to eat outside at the Coco Beach Bar and have enjoyed cracked conch and fried grouper, both are excellent, and the view of the spectacular beach and ocean makes it a very special experience. The resort property is also home to a well-stocked grocery store; liquor store; mini-mart; the Cafe La Florence Bakery where you can buy cinnamon rolls, bread, the daily special, and a different cake or pastry for every day of the week (Florence's husband confides that when he makes the rum cake it has more rum); a bicycle and golf cart rental and a hardware store that sells fishing tackle, among other things. Prices for food and most other items are slightly higher than what you would pay at home, but when you talk to the locals and hear about the logistics involved in bringing things to the island it doesn't seem that unreasonable. The property also includes a full-service marina where you'll see sailboats, trawlers and multimillion-dollar yachts and sportfishing boats. Everything mentioned is within easy walking distance. In general, this is a quiet, relaxing, laid-back resort geared around the truly magnificent beach and ocean (it's difficult to comprehend that the ocean really is all of those shades of blue, it seems impossible) with just the right amount of nighttime activities thrown in. This is not a fancy, trendy, pretentious place with crazy out-of-control partying; you're most likely to be vacationing with families, couples, boat owners and fishermen and their friends and crew, and other people who just enjoy the island life and hanging out.

All rooms and suites are in townhouse-type buildings that overlook either the marina or the gardens. The beach is no more than a five-minute walk away, unless you make a stop by the bakery to see what's just out of the oven! We have visited this resort twice and have stayed in a standard room and also a one-bedroom deluxe suite. The suite had a bedroom loft and also a fully-equipped kitchen that allowed us to do our own cooking; that came in very handy when we wanted to cook the fish we caught during our little expedition on the boat that we rented from the very nice people at JIC Boat Rentals, another vendor right on the property. No matter what accommodation you choose you will find at the very least a coffee maker, refrigerator, soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, fluffy white towels for the bathroom, beach towels on request, cable TV that includes some premium channels and a faster Wi-Fi connection than what I have at home. The rooms we have stayed in were decorated with tropical prints and rattan furniture. On the day of our check-out we noticed some rooms being redecorated with darker mahogany furniture that looked to have a more modern feel. Our rooms, including the bath and the kitchen, were always very clean and housekeeping visits daily; however, you are on a tropical island so you will probably run across some little sugar ants and lizards sunning on your patio. And because almost every day is a sunny day and there is very little rain you will not find lush green grass, but there are always some flowering trees and bushes and gardeners tending to the grounds.

We found everyone working at the resort to be friendly and helpful . Avis Miller is the extremely nice Hotel Manager and she made sure that everything was OK with our room and that we knew about all the activities. The kitchen at Coco's never denied me my daily fix of cracked conch even though one day they were busy getting ready for the fish fry! Service at the restaurant and bar was always prompt and it was fun talking with the servers. Employees were constantly walking the property, tidying up the place and preparing for the next event. Everyone seemed to enjoy their work and there was a happy rhythm flowing throughout the entire property.

We feel that this a very special place and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenKappelerGM, General Manager at Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hello Julie F,
Thank you for your recent Excellent Review!
Our friendly associates are very pleased to know that you found the best of Abaco and Treasure Cay with so much to do and see and enjoy. Truly no other resort offers the amenities and convenience in Abaco that our resort does. As one of the legendary out island original resorts, our warm Bahamian associates make the difference to any guest stay and Avis our Resort Manager is a legend herself. She is a Cacique Award winner, recognized for offering the highest level in guest service and training and we are proud of her unrelenting efforts to anticipate and exceed our guest expectations. A special thanks to you and the over 50 guest reviews that recognize her personally. We look forward to your next visit with us I see you are a repeat guest and we have a most exciting line up of special entertainment and events planned for this 4th of July and Bahamian Independence and a Lobsterfest Holiday Homecoming planned for Lobster opening season Aug 1. Looking forward to meeting you personally.
Thankyou,
Best,
Your Out Island Friend,
Stephen Kappeler, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gigantes, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This was our first visit in bahamas and we are happy we chose this place. We where amazed by the beautiful beach and the nice resort. As soon as we arrived we got an up grade on the room for our long stay, without expecting it. The room was spacious and fully equipped! Perfect kitchen to cook the freshly cuaght fish, big living room to feel comfortable and watch tv like at home, 2 bathrooms with everything you need to shower or have a relaxing bath after a wonderful day on the sea! We only can thank possitively to all the staff. Starting at the reception, where they have welcomed us with a big smile, to the house keepers, that always made shure that nothing was missing in the room, to the waiters and cooks of all the restaurants, that made our lunches and dinners delicious! We even got to know the manager who puts his heart and good ideas into this place to keep improving !
Thank you to everybody for this unique holidays ! We will be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Just back from Treasure Cay, and while we did not stay in the hotel, made great use of the Tipsy Seagull Bar and Grill at the resort. The food is good, simple, typical beach/marina bar fare, but what makes it better than average is the staff. Paula, the restaurant manager, Judi and Carolyn behind the bar, and the young woman who grilled everything everyday at the open air kitchen (sorry, didn't' get your name) were helpful, friendly and made us feel welcome every time we came in. If a marina-side pool, bar and grill where you can sit in the sun, have a dip and enjoy a burger are your thing, this is a good place to be.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Had a group. The accommodations were great. More than we needed but we are a laid back crowd. Very clean and tidy. If you are a 5 star kind of person, this won't work. Nice little guy from the grocery store carried our groceries to our room. We tipped him of course. Rented a car, necessary to get around the island if you want to check anything else out, since taxi is 85.00 there and back, plus fee with additional peeps. We walked everywhere around the resort and down to the end of the island. We rented a boat for 3 days and had it outside our units, to island hop and snorkel at will. This was great and the unique part for us. So very glad we did this. Lots of rum punch and lots of very friendly peeps. Great time!!

Room Tip: We had upstairs, I would request that unless it doesn't make sense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort

Address: Treasure Cay Road, Treasure Cay AB-22134, Great Abaco Island (Formerly Treasure Cay Hotel Resort and Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Abaco Islands > Great Abaco Island > Treasure Cay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Treasure Cay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 200 miles from Florida’s coast, the Bahamian island of Abaco is home to the village of Treasure Cay and our laid-back resort where more than three miles of sleepy white sand beach anchor a genuine Caribbean paced experience; reminiscent of a truly relaxed way of life. Served by multiple daily direct fights, our fun for all ages oasis operates a noted 150-slip marina and classic Dick Wilson golf course.Ocean-front rooms,fully airconditioned, free internet. Vacation at one of the most famous three mile long beaches in the world, according to NATIONAL GEOGRAPHICS. Swimming, boating, golf, tennis, watersports and much relaxation. Complete ocean-view pool- and beach-bar and restaurants. Available rentals: bikes, cars, golf-carts and motor-boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Treasure Cay
Resort Treasure Cay
Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort Bahamas - Abaco Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.