We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome resteraunt with view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ocotal Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ocotal Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Playa del Coco | PO Box 1, Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa Ocotal
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome resteraunt with view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Literally the best view in the area. I lived the amazing view and the service was good too. I didn't stay at the hotel just went for a sunset dinner and I gotta just say. THE VIEW IS BREATHTAKING. A must see if you are staying in the area

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat P, Owner at Ocotal Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hello!

Thank you for your comment!

We appreciate your visit and hope you can come and stay with us in the future.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    115
    63
    63
    43
See reviews for
92
119
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenlawn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The biggest problem I have with this hotel is that it is not a resort, but a hotel. There are very limited amenities and activities, and it's a rather lengthy walk to the beach. The included breakfast is good, not great, and it is a couple miles from the nearest town (Playa Coco). With all that being said, I would stay here again provided I have a rental car. The view from the hotel down to the water is absolutely perfect, there are iguanas and birds and coatis and bats all around. Playa Ocotal is a black sand beach and the hotel overlooks it. The wifi works very well and is free, there are many excursions you can take from here, the rooms are very clean and comfortable, and the infinity pool is clean and is in the perfect position to watch the sunset.

Room Tip: The 400s building is right next to the pool and the wifi works perfectly
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I would say this is more hotel and not a resort. When I think of resort I think of wet bar by the pool, activities during the day, music, fun atmosphere. There was none of that here. It is a nice quiet place with beautiful views of the ocean from the cliffs. There is a walking trail to the beach. The rooms and pool furniture could use an update seems pretty old.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We ended up staying here the night of March 29, 2014 due to issues with US Airways. The flight was cancelled and this is the hotel they put us up in for the night. Our room looked like it had not been opened in many months. There was so much dust, dirt and bugs that we were afraid to take a shower in the morning! Did not get to experience anything else about the hotel as we were there just to sleep for a night but I would never go back to find out. I am sure it is beautiful as it is on a cliffside however we had to drag out own bags up a very very steep graded hill to get to the lobby and back down again in the morning. I was not sure some of the elderly people on our bus were going to survive!

Room Tip: None, don't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The views and location are amazing. If you can live with the need for much more maintenance, this is worth a 3 star hotel price range. If you pay more or cant overlook the cracked concrete, leaves in the pools, Jacuzzis and fitness equipment that dont work etc, etc you will be disappointed.

I am staying now in the villa at the top of the hill. The views are fantastic looking out on the ocean from about 500 feet of altitude. We have a dozen howler monkeys, dozens of black vultures soaring up the cliffs and a large deck off our room with a very large (15') hot tub/ pool. The Jacuzzi doesnt work but that's ok because we prefer the cold water anyway. I had to fix the pump myself because there were no maintenance staff in sight but did so only so the filters would remove the leaves.. We had no hot water in the shower either but once again, I preferred the tepid water because I was usually showering off the hot air anyway. Stay away from the restaurant except the free breakfast since the prices are twice as high as down on the beach (really liked Father Rooster a short walk down the beach and several more over at Coco) but go for the sunset up on the deck.
The pro pictures on this site are all accurate and they even show the spot I am writing this from, but they are about ten years old. there seems to be no maintenance being done since then, so today, the pictures would show cracked deck boards and concrete everywhere. The gym equipment was broken and ancient and the main pool down by the beach showed a lot of fun had been had there in the past, but the swim up bar is now closed with cracked wood and the leaves in the pool make it hard to want to go for a swim there. Same with the tennis court. Just 20 minutes of maintenance would make it worth finding some rackets and playing a game, but with the leaves and drooping net we looked elsewhere. One of the fishing boats is up the ramp on a trailer needing lots of minor jobs that could be done in an afternoon and would make a world of difference but it is clear there is no motivation to do so. The rusty trailer with flat tires cannot move the boat anymore even if one did.

You can see it used to be fantastic and could be again, but not likely under this management. Owners: Please sell this former gem to someone willing to make it grand again!!!

PS sorry for typos, no spell checking because i'm off to see the sunset!!

Room Tip: we saw only one other bungalow being used. We asked for the best one at the top of the hill and got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We spent an enjoyable week at Ocotal in late February of 2014. Myself, my wife and our four year old daughter enjoyed ourselves very much. We (minus our child) had stayed at Ocotal several years prior to this visit, however this time around the difference was that we chose a Bungalow suite adjacent to the path traversing due north to the restaurant or a right turn 'Clyde' down to the tranquil and pretty beach area. Being that we were repeat visitors we had the benefit or perhaps disadvantage of being able to compare the hotel to what it had been in its past life. Without being too critical, it is fair to say that definitely the care and services element are now in many respects a thing of the past. In fact when I first set eyes on the main pool area this time around I was instantly disappointed by the lack of t l c and the apparent neglect and disregard for what was once a fun, service friendly and lively little pool scene. That is certainly not the case anymore as there is no longer a bar area, the pool was blatantly dilapidated and this could arguably detract from ones stay, since it is always nice to have both an Ocean and pool option when on your holidays. Not so now. Nevertheless without dwelling too much on the former glory days of the Ocotal, there are still many positive attributes beholden to this Hotel. The views are spectacular, amazing and beautiful. Everyone working at the Ocotal were friendly, top notch people, who catered as best they could to our every need in a polite and efficient manner. Nothing stuffy or pretentious here which is the way we liked it. So hats off to all the great staff at Ocotal and thank you for your hospitality. Breakfasts and dinners were perfectly fine and once again with the beautiful and expansive Ocean views, just gazing out at the big blue with far off topography on the horizon is something I have regularly missed since returning Stateside. Our bungalow room was fine, perhaps a little more light and improved feng shui on the furnishings might have enhanced our berth experience slightly more, but all things considered it was fine. There was a nice Canadian couple staying next door to our Bungalow and I believe they were a little less enamored with their humble holiday abode and they weren't overly critical people either so I can understand if some others might find the accommodation a little sub standard. I wanted to go diving, but since the on site shop had no other potential customers to sign up on the mornings I was up for it, I was told by the front office at reception that there were would be no dive boats going out on the two or three mornings I was interested in. In my previous stay here, the Dive shop was excellent, but on this occasion I never saw any life in the Dive shop. I was most disappointed on missing out on a few dives. We opted for a sunset/ snorkel tour, Crocodile River tour, jet ski escapade and these were all fun activities, especially the first two excursions. Father Roosters down the beach was always a nice oasis to grab some lunch and a few local brews in between dips in the Ocean.
I love Costa Rica. It would be difficult for me not to have a good time in this locale, but traveling with my wife and young child raises the stakes for a little heightened desire for luxury and Ocotal just about managed to be on the right side of that parameter. The real assets are the natural setting and serene location of the Hotel perched up on a cliff overlooking a charming beach area and this coupled with the friendly staff meant we were happy to stay here and sad to leave, a pretty good indication of time well spent in my humble opinion.

Room Tip: Being a family of three, we liked the spaciousness of the Bungalow and our own/ shared little plunge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat P, Owner at Ocotal Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hello!

Thank you for your comment.

We appreciate your stay with us, and hope to continue providing excellent service to all of our customers. We have taken note on your details and will do our best to continue being a great resort for couples and families!

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The photos do not do justice to the spectacular views that you see at Ocotal Beach Resort! The birds and iguanas are plentiful and add to the experience, so you will always want to have a camera handy. We found the breakfasts and other meals to be delicious, especially the seafood. Our servers, Alvaro and the others were a lot of fun, friendly, and always on task. This was a scuba diving trip for my husband and our friend. Although the water is cool (about 73 degrees) and visibility is limited, they had a great time and saw many large fish, rays and eels. I have to agree with other reviewers about the resort showing age and in need of some rehab. The plumbing fixtures in the bathrooms do not work as well as one hopes and could use updating. We would definitely go back because the area is so beautiful. Every night, we were spoiled with another fantastic sunset.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocotal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocotal Beach Resort

Address: Playa del Coco | PO Box 1, Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Ocotal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa Ocotal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocotal Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocotal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocotal Beach Hotel Playas Del Coco
Hotel Ocotal Beach
Ocotal Beach Resort Costa Rica/Playa Ocotal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocotal Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.