We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocotal Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ocotal Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ocotal Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Playa del Coco | PO Box 1, Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa Ocotal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This was a great place to stay! I was just there about 2 weeks ago and it was amazing. The views are beautiful! The service was great, the resort and beach was clean and the food was good. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    104
    57
    58
    36
See reviews for
86
109
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Once a great resort, the Ocotal hotel appears to be dying.  It is hard to believe that the only resort on the beautiful Ocotal beach has let go like this.  Maintenance of the facilities is not even corrective: things have been breaking here (pools, pool showers, outdoor lights, jacuzzis) and left unrepaired.  There is a constant sewer-like smell near the restaurant. The breakfast buffet, although waited by incredibly nice people, lacks quality and variety.  The room's white towels were brownish.  Management stopped caring ... what a shame.  Great beach, dying hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great time and experience need more than a week! Not your typical Hawaii or Mexico tons of adventure to be had do the zip lines sport fishing river cruises and don't miss the father rooster beach front restaurant we met a great guide Stewart Calderon the guy has Guanacaste wired! If you go hit me up ill give you his contact he will make your time there memorable

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in July 2012. This year I went there again with the whole family and we had pretty good time. The hotel was doing remodeling on some of it's rooms and it's their low season in June so there were not many people staying there. The rooms are very simple, nothing fancy but the location is amazing. We were in rooms 409 and 410 - right net to the infinity pool and I can not tell you about the sunset scene from that pool. I can see if I can attach some photos. Spectacular view. My wife was not very happy about the fact that the rooms were very basic but the location compensated for the rooms. The internet and the TV was down due to a bad storm just a day before our arrival. We stayed for 3 nights and we visited Coco beach, Panama beach and of course the beach of Ocotal which was the best one for snorkeling.
So, the bottom line is if you are very picky about your hotel - this is not for you (at least until the renovation is over), but if you don't mind a basic room with great view it the right place.

Room Tip: Building 400 has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were at Ocotal just last week and it was fantastic. We had a standard room, and were extremely happy with it, but we toured the property and saw all the rooms available. They are currently making some changes and renovating all the rooms. It is just a short walk down the hill to the beach and beachside pool where the dive shop is located, but they will take you in a vehicle if you prefer. There are 2 other pools available on the property and the top one is an infinity pool with incredible views. There is a hot tub there too. The restaurant is terrific and very reasonable, cheaper than the restaurants in the town of Playas del Coco and the food is better than most. The sunset view is absolutely amazing and the bird and other wildlife is wonderful. We were totally entertained at dinner by a family of little gray raccoons. Hospitality is definitely 5 star. I would return in a heartbeat. We frequently stay in 5 star resorts and maybe this doesn’t compare to 5 stars in the US, but definitely a winner in Costa Rica. The resort is just big enough without being too big like so many 5 star resorts. I can’t think of a better combination than the size, view, food, comfort and hospitality of Ocotal Resort plus the convenience of having their own fishing boat fleet and dive shop.

Room Tip: The Honeymoon suites are fantastic. If you are with another couple or traveling with family, get a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Overall it's a great hotel for its value. Service is great and very courteous. Views are amazing and the hotel is actually on the beach (a beautiful little bay). The pools are nice and clean and the rooms have nice a/c and tv with cable.


Breakfast is good and made nice by wildlife visits, however lunch/dinner at the hotel restaurant is expenseive and tasteless. I recommend taking a cab to coco beach (around US$6 per ride) and eating in any restaurant down there.

Mardigi tours has a desk in the lobby where you can book tours and ask all you want about them; highly recommend those!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We really liked being able to take a short cab ride (about $6 each way) to the nearby town Playas del Coco to experience different restaurants and shops. The resort has an excellent view and the black sand beach of Octocal is very nice. We paid a little extra to stay in a bungalo and would definitely recommend it. The bungalos are in between the breakfast/main lobby and the beach, which was convenient. We were in 210. We had a small private pool just outside our room with a nice little patio area that we enjoyed. The bungalos are also very spacious. The beds are comfortable and the air conditioning works well. This isn't a five star resort and we knew that going into it, so our expectations were on par with the resort. The bathrooms are not modern or fancy for example. The people who work at the resort are fantastic- very nice, helpful, and always smiling. The breakfast was simple but good. We only ate at the restaurant one other time and had a good pizza.
I would recommend this place for someone who is looking for something different than the all inclusive resorts. This gives you a nice option to experience the culture, town, and excursions during the vacation.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat P, Manager at Ocotal Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Sir:

We appreciate your comments and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

We look forward to serving you on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocotal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocotal Beach Resort

Address: Playa del Coco | PO Box 1, Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Ocotal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa Ocotal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocotal Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Ocotal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocotal Beach Hotel Playas Del Coco
Hotel Ocotal Beach
Ocotal Beach Resort Costa Rica/Playa Ocotal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocotal Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.