We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Top Rated All Inclusive on TRIP ADIVSOR-Sleeps 20

Back of Villa with Infinity Pool
Back of Villa with Infinity Pool
Back of Villa with Infinity Pool
View of Gulf of Papagayo from Terrace Seating Area
Front of Villa
Villa Pavillion looking back toward Villa
Villa Pavillion looking toward Gulf of Papagayo
Playa Ocotal
|
Rental Home – 
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheila685...
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Heavenly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010 for a stay in February 2010

My husband & I traveled with 4 other couples. This private home with its large staff was more than we expected. The home was elegant, spacious and fully equipped with 5 star amenities. The regional food was freshly prepared to our needs and elegantly presented. We could eat and drink all day if we wanted to! All food, beverages, liquor and transportation to/from the airport included in daily pp rate. We've traveled to many places around the world - one of our favorite places. We would go back. An outstanding destination with impeccable service.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
jenlmorg7...
Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best Vacation Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010 for a stay in January 2010

We have a group of friends that go on vacation every few years, and this was by far the best experience! We had 3 couples and 2 singles (no kids) and we are ages 30-50. I cannot say enough about how wonderful the staff is. JD and Diego were the best at giving us everything we needed. They coordinated all of our many activities and usually went with us to "streamline" the experience (it was nice to have them to communicate with the tour operators). We always received cool towels and the best Costa Rican lemonade everytime we came home from an activity. The chefs were excellent and prepared the best food that was so fresh, and we ate every meal overlooking the beautiful ocean. The villa is stunning and the rooms are so comfortable. If you had kids, the 8 person bunk room would be perfect. We had excellent spa treatments at the villa and were pampered in general all week by the staff. We were both able to relax with no worries and do fun activities easily because of the hard work of Diego and the staff. All the tours (snorkeling/beach hopping, ATVs, scuba diving, river tour, horseback riding/zip-lines/river tubing) were well organized, safe, and fun. If you go to Villa Estrella, it is really worth it to get the van. It's extra, but given the terrain of the area, it is a must if you plan on going anywhere! It will be really hard to stay at a resort again after staying in this private paradise. If you are wondering if it really IS that much better than a 5 star resort..it totally is!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
JEANNE_JO...
Amelia Island, FL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Villa Estrella, Playa Octotal, Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

Had a magical time. So beautiful.

Food was wonderful. We've never had such fresh food. I wanted to bring the chef home with me.

Staff and local people were extraordinary. Scenery was great. All the side adventures were exceptional, also.

The last night was my birthday and the staff did a party outside in the lower pavilion. Juan Diego (J.D.) did a flambé coffee service that was remarkable. Looked like blue flame pouring into the cups with sparklers going off. Plus, it was a full moon. Who could have asked for more?

All in all you have our highest recommendation. I can't think of enough superlatives to explain our wonder.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
TimeTrave...
Brooklyn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best kept secret.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009 for a stay in May 2009

I almost don't want to rate Villa Estrella too highly, 'cause I want to go back and I don't want it booked solid.... I just got back from a 5 night stay there, and I didn't want to come back. The service is better than the Ritz Carlton, and the views are second to none.
Complaints: Umm, they fed me too much? They could have had a zip line to the beach instead of the full-time private van to take us there?

4 of 5 stars Rooms 4 of 5 stars Location
5 of 5 stars Cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
sweetkids
bluffton, SC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Absolute Heaven at Villa Estrella”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2009 for a stay in December 2008

If you are thinking of an all inclusive resort for a family gathering in Costa Rica, please change your minds and stay at Villa Estrella! We were a family gathering of my father and his wife with two teen aged children, my husband and I with our four children ages 4-9, and my brother and his wife with my two year old niece. We thought of going to an all inclusive, and found the price was only a little bit more to stay at the villa, and we felt the service would be better, and the family togetherness would be easier to come by. We were so glad we made this decision. The house managers made all our arrangements, it was so easily taken care of. If our kids got tired at the dinner table they could jump in the pool and not bother anyone. The service from the staff was better than any Ritz Carlton on the planet. We had a van and driver, so we never had to negotiate the Costa Rican roads (not a lot of road signs there). The food was fabulous, the staff really loving towards children. We did a lot of fun activities, surf lessons, snorkeling/beach hopping, deep sea fishing, zip-lining, horse back riding, white water rafting, spa day at the villa, jet skiing, salsa lessons, Palo Verde Nat'l park...they were all each unique and wonderful. We all loved Costa Rica, it is a beautiful country, hard to express in words...still unspoiled for the most part. I would highly recommend this villa!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: beauty, staff, views, comfort
Liked least: nothing
Visit was for: Quality time with family
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
DAVALTrav...
Westerville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Alternative to a Hotel/Resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008 for a stay in November 2008

We just returned from a wonderful 7 nights at beautiful Villa Estrella overlooking Playa Ocotal in Guanacaste, Costa Rica during the week of Thanksgiving. This was for a family reunion (9 adults, 10 children - from 6 to 17) and we can't say enough about the experience. The villa is large and we never felt crowded or tripping over each other. The staff (of 6) really ROCKS!!!! They were always asking if we needed drinks, the food was great and the house was always clean (with fresh towels always being laid out by the pool. The kids shared a bunk room (can hold 8) and each bedroom has its own bathroom (the showers are huge with plenty of room). The infinity pool overlooks the ocean. They have a great pool table, have wireless internet and satellite TV (so didn't miss any of the football games on Thanksgiving day). Soledad, worked with us to make arrangements for special activities such as a great river cruise (lots of crocodiles, iguanas and monkeys - right up to the boat (and in it!); zip lining; surf lessons and fishing. They also had bottles of champagne to help us celebrate an anniversary and a birthday cake for someone's birthday. Truly an "all-inclusive" experience. Had a 19 passenger van that was available for local trips to town (extra charge for the week). Even though it is NOT cheap, we really felt it worth the money. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation with family and/or friends and looking to be catered to and treated like royalty, give Villa Estrella a try!

4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Luxury living at its best!
Liked least: Nothing!
Visit was for: Quality time with family
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$1,800
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Peace of Mind Protection
this property has payment protection
Owner
Robyn A
18179170705
Speaks English, Spanish
Listed since : Jan 2012
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 121 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing