We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Happens in CR - Stays in CR” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Vacation Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Ocotal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barefoot Vacation Villas
Save
You added Barefoot Vacation Villas to your Saves list
Playa Ocotal Costa Rica | Ocotal Pacific Ocean Costa Rica, Playa Ocotal 76049, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Playa Ocotal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“What Happens in CR - Stays in CR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Vacationing with 6 other couples at Barefoot Vacation Villas - Cascada was one of the most exhilarating and money well spent vacations my husband and I have taken in a long time. The professionalism of the staff was spot on. The American and Costa Rican dishes prepared by Ms. Elba and Ms. Lidia were absolutely amazing and plentiful. The bar tenders Renaldo and Gabriel kept the vacation live with their have it your way drinks; those guys make the best mango margarita, pina colada, and miami vice drinks to name a few. As a first-time visitor to Costa Rica and Villa Cascada, my expectations were merely based on my Cousin's experience and let me just say his review did not disappoint me. The rooms were clean and nicely managed by a gentle, soft spoken cleaning lady (sorry, forgot her name). I felt so pampered having my laundry washed, folded and back in my room on the same day. Relaxation and fun was my goal and I accomplished both; the sailboat sunset cruise was relaxing with an awesome view of the sun setting over the Pacific Ocean; a must-do again. Hubby and I will definitely visit CR again and stay at the Villas - Cascada. Thanks Pam and Guillermo for making our trip an easy one to plan and for providing outstanding service and staff whose focus is to please their guests. Keep doing what you do and your blessings will surely continue to flow.

Room Tip: Ocean View is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

We initially started planning our Holiday with Pam and had nothing but exceptional customer service; she was so prompt at responding to any questions or concerns we had and made sure everything was taken care of before we arrived.

Upon arrival we were in awe of the beautiful accommodations; private rooms and on suites as well as a beautiful deck overlooking the ocean with comfy lounge furniture. We spent a lot of time at the pool and beach which was only a two minute walk from the Villa.

All the staff were Amazing! The chefs prepared delicious meals, baretender served up great drinks; even none alcoholic ones for the kids. The pool was always clean and laundry was returned washed and folded within an hour of leaving it out!

If you want an exceptional, all-inclusive and relaxing Holiday this is the spot!

I look forward to visiting Barefoot Vacation Villas properties in the future.

"Pura Vida"

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

I can't begin to explain the amazing experience we all had at Villa Cascada! 28 people in total including a 5 year old all had the best time!!! The food, staff, weather, villa, and experience was amazing and extremely easy to plan. We had our wedding on the nearby beach which was absolutely incredible. The views were beautiful which made for amazing photos. Guillermo the coordinator at the villa was a pleasure to work with and made everything a breeze. A big thank you to Pam and Doris for making the planning stress free!! Wish we had a longer stay!! We are all going back without question!!!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

We all wanted to take this time to thank the owners and staff from the bottom of our hearts for helping us to create wonderful memories of our wedding/vacation that will last a lifetime! The Villa, the whole staff, delicious and abundance food, and of course great drinks were so awesome. Everything was taken care of perfectly from booking excursions, the transportation and just being so friendly The most important part was they created a memorable wedding for our daughter to her new husband was so beautiful. Barefoot Vacation Villas is 5 STARS, everything was perfect. We all had an amazing time experiencing Costa Rica and if you are planning a family reunion, wedding or just a large family get away you may want to stay in this fun filled, all inclusive villa, you will not be disappointed!

Bob and Diane
Dracut, MA

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

The staff members are amazing. Their level of professionalism, care, and high levels of customer service were amazing and impressive. Everyone we came in contact with - Gabriel our bartender, Elba and Lidia our chefs, the cleaning staff, the maintenance staff, Guillermo - they each take so much pride in their work and nothing was overlooked. We were treated like their own guests, welcomed like friends, and catered to like royalty. It takes true talent and passion for your job to create such an atmosphere and your staff knocked it out of the park with their approach. We all felt comfortable, relaxed, taken care of, and enjoyed every minute of our stay, thanks to them.

The overall quality and cleanliness of our villa was beyond our expectations. The beds, linens, towels - we felt like we were in a hotel with the constant housekeeping and towel service.

The FOOD was AMAZING! Elba and Lidia were incredible chefs and even paid attention to the little things. On the first day, Elba noticed that one of our guests removed the tomatoes from her salad, so she prepared a separate tomato-free salad for that particular guest at our next meal. Everything was delicious.

Gabriel, our bartender, took incredible care of us from the moment we arrived until the very moment we left. He not only prepared delicious drinks throughout our stay, but he was always there to answer our questions, provide guidance on how to get the most out of our stay, and help us to soak up all there was to enjoy about Costa Rica. As a bartender, he was amazing. He made drink suggestions, introduced us to Costa Rican drink specialties which were new to us, and he even remembered how each of us liked our drinks, our coffee, our tea, and made sure we always kept hydrated with water throughout our stay as well. As a host, he went above and beyond his role to ensure we enjoyed every aspect of our stay. He was amazing at his job, and seems to truly enjoy with he does, which made it that much more enjoyable to us to have had the pleasure of spending time with him during our stay.

We also got to experience Costa Rica in a way that I'm sure not many tourists get to. With the villa's close proximity to Ocotal Beach, various hiking options, and the short cab ride to Coco, we always had opportunities for entertainment and relaxation. And Guillermo, the villa manager, set up all of our tours for us so we didn't have to worry about a thing!

We enjoyed everything so much and can't wait to come back again!

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 7 only have doors to the outside... and those are the only two rooms with couches and ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We stayed at Villa Cascada in January 2015. The villa is well laid out with a large deck, games area, workout centre, pool, hot tub and cool pool. Food and drink service was excellent! The rooms were spacious but a little dated. The bathrooms could use a facelift. The location is good, only a five minute walk from the beach or a half hour walk to Coco Beach.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

The hardest part of writing this review is running out of positive phrases to describe it! The staff could not have been better, the food was very good, the villa was always immaculate, and weather was perfect!! If you don’t have one of the most memorable vacations ever at this villa, you must be doing something wrong. I highly recommend getting a message by the hot tub early in the week because you will want more and if you wait until the end of the week you won’t have that chance! Every event arranged by the concierge was perfect. Any request that was made was always accommodated. While we read on others report to make sure you bring bug repellant, we never used ours the entire week. One other tip (I might have missed in others reviews) they do the wash every day (or whenever you put laundry in the bag) and return it clean the next morning. So you can take less clothes than you normally would as a result. Thanks to all the staff for a great week and wonderful vacation!! We’re already planning a 3 year repeat trip for the group!!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Barefoot Vacation Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Vacation Villas

Address: Playa Ocotal Costa Rica | Ocotal Pacific Ocean Costa Rica, Playa Ocotal 76049, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Ocotal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Ocotal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All inclusive luxury resort style villas. Located within easy walking distance of a beautiful beach. Full Staff provides the best of both all worlds. You enjoy the privacy of your own villa without the expense of cooking or cleaning. Everything is taken care of by the staff. Large semi-private pool, private swim up bar, daily maid and laundry service included ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barefoot Vacation Villas Costa Rica/Playa Ocotal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Vacation Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.