We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barefoot and Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Vacation Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Ocotal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barefoot Vacation Villas
Save Saved
You added Barefoot Vacation Villas to your Saves list
Playa Ocotal Costa Rica | Ocotal Pacific Ocean Costa Rica, Playa Ocotal 76049, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Playa Ocotal B&B and Inns
Arlington, Texas
1 review
“Barefoot and Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Barefoot Vacation Villa was a fabulous vacation! Great view of the ocean from the room, dining hall, and even floating in the pool. Poolside drinks & meals were fabulous served by the greatest staff. Excursions were first class on boats with snorkeling, swimming, eating, and playing on secluded beaches. Summer visit is a must as the scenery is lush and as pretty as Hawaii - without the long trip to the Pacific!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Villa Cascada in Costa Rica was way beyond our expectations. The villa was nestled on top of a lush hill side, the grounds were lovely, the pool, spa, decks, rooms, and game areas were so clean, we'll stocked, airy and nice. The staff was exceptional, catering to our every need and the food was outstanding. It was by far one of the most wonderful vacations we have ever had. Our daughter was married there and the wedding ceremony, reception, decorations, food, and music was so outstanding...it could not have been more perfect! The location, the people, and everything provided made it a dream come true! We loved it!

Room Tip: All excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Our family just returned from an amazing vacation at Villa Cascada in Costa Rica! The Villa was absolutely beautiful and the views are breathtaking! I cannot say enough about the wonderful staff! They are there to greet you as you get off the plane and take care of anyting you need throughout the trip! The personal service given by the staff made our vacation so relaxing and memorable! The meals were fantastic and the excursions were incredible. Everything was planned and arranged by the staff, making things simple and fun for everyone! Our daughters are 6 and 8 and they also had so much fun on this vacation! They loved every minute of our trip and were able to join in for horse back riding, zip lining, sailing, riding ATV's in the jungle, snorkeling, and much more! We all couldn't get enough of the beautiful Villa Cascada pool, overlooking the beach and ocean. It was so beautiful, and the sunsets are incredible! This was a perfect family vacation and we can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Barefoot Villas in Costa Rica are above and beyond any vacation I have experienced. We had a large group of 30 to 35 guests ranging in age from from 3 babies under 1 year to 60ish. This included children, teenagers, single and married young adults and a few grandparents. Guillermo and the staff were incredible in that they arranged all the food, tours, transportation and handled all the payments. It was like having your own personal concierge. I have never had such an easy trip and with such a variety of babies, children and adults that was nothing short of miraculous. We were able to kick back and enjoy Costa Rica without worrying about anything. The villa was beautiful and the food was divine but its the staff that makes everything so personal. I wish I could take a Barefoot Villa and staff everywhere we travel. Thanks all of you!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have traveled the world and I have stayed in 6 star accommodations, eaten at the finest restaurants around the world, and seen some amazing sights. I have to say vacationing at Barefoot Vacation Villas in COSTA RICA is one of my absolute favorites. Its a stress free vacation. You get off of the plane and the villa staff are waiting for you and take your bags as you load into the air conditioned van. Its a short ride to the villa where you are greeted by the most amazing Costa Rican people you have ever met. All the drinks you could want, the BEST FOOD of any where I have been, and a staff ready to help and wait on you hand and foot! Not one of us has ever become ill because of the food or water (I always get sick when traveling in MEXICO). We like to eat and this villa will outdo any restaurant. We have been over and over and over because this villa has excellent service, great food, its safe in a gated community and a low crime country, and it has so much fun to offer couples and families. If you like adventure they offer excursions daily. Some are heart pounding and some are more relaxing, depending on what you are looking for in your vacation. EVEN my five year old son horse back rode, sailed the ocean, went down an unbelievable water slide, took a mud bath, played in the hot springs, four wheeled thru the country side, AND yes he a 5 year old zip lined thru the Costa Rican Jungle! I have a family of 6 and they beg for our vacation to be at Villa Cascada each year. They know the staff by name. The villa offers special night events for your group if you choose to book those as well- such as magicians, party dj's, karaoke, etc! My youngest son could not stop talking about all the chocolate milkshakes from Ronald (the villa bartender)! He was looking forward to seeing Ronald and drinking milkshakes, and once again the villa did not disappoint. They have had the same staff every year we have gone, which I believe says so much for the owners. Plus its like going back and visiting your international friends each and every year! This is our #1 pick for a vacation destination! Already choosing our date for Villa Cascada in 2014

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

AMAZING, FUN,FABULOUS !!!!
Best trip ever....traveled with six other couples to the all inclusive "Villa Cascada" in Costa Rica for the second time in less than 2 years. The staff was amazing,taking care of our every want or need. Our hat is off to the chef ... food was amazing. Excursions were great, my favorite being the sail boat and beach barbque. AWSOME , AWSOME TRIP ;)

Room Tip: We chose the room at the end of the villa where we could watch the monkeys from our balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our party of 6 stayed in one of the smaller villa's. It was a 4 bedroom 2 story piece of heaven. Our bartender Norvin and our cook Isabel went out of their way everyday that we were there to make our experience truly memorable. We took advantage of the many excursions that you can book through the resort. Congo Zip lining, sailing on the Seabird and the Palo Verde boat trip were all amazing and very well priced for the value. I would highly recommend this location for families, weddings and just down right relaxing. We will be repeat customers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barefoot Vacation Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Vacation Villas

Address: Playa Ocotal Costa Rica | Ocotal Pacific Ocean Costa Rica, Playa Ocotal 76049, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Ocotal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Ocotal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All inclusive luxury resort style villas. Located within easy walking distance of a beautiful beach. Full Staff provides the best of both all worlds. You enjoy the privacy of your own villa without the expense of cooking or cleaning. Everything is taken care of by the staff. Large semi-private pool, private swim up bar, daily maid and laundry service included ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barefoot Vacation Villas Costa Rica/Playa Ocotal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Vacation Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.