We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, friendly and great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alberdini Hotel Rural

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alberdini Hotel Rural to your Saves list
Alberdini Hotel Rural
Pago La Lomilla 85, Competa, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Competa B&B and Inns
Hythe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Quirky, friendly and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

We had a single night booked at the end of a week's holiday on the Costa del Sol and I trawled the net (booking.com) to find somewhere different and by is this different!

With the satnav working full blast it was easy enough to find. After a week of hot and dry weather it had started to rain as we got nearby and the switchback drive, about a 20% incline, was a nerve tester but we arrived okay.

We had room 5 which was €30 a night inclusive of B&B. The room is very small with a double bed and attached mosquito net. The room is also the nearest to the main part of the hotel. I think these rooms were once cattle pens (!) that have been tidied up and although small the tiny en-suite showerroom was clean and all the taps etc looked new.

We had lunch soon after arriving and then later dinner. The Gaudi-esque decor was pretty stuninng for a hotel and made the day and evening much more enjoyable.

As we stayed a Saturday night there was live entertainmant in the bar/restaurant. "By The Way" were an English three piece and very entertaining.

On top of this there are great views and in the dry there are plenty of outside tables to eat and generally lounge about on. The hotel also has free wifi for laptops and iPhones.

Altogether we had a great stay and I would thoroughly recommend the hotel for a stay or simply for a meal.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    22
    6
    1
    6
See reviews for
8
29
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

We were booked into this hotel for 2 nights in December. The location is stunning with gorgeous moutain and sea views. The bar and restuarant are cosy and the owner friendly.

Once we were shown our room (one of the bungalows) I was horrified. It look quaint and unusual on the internet but in reality it was a cold, damp cave with no feeling of cosiness at all and I immediately checked out - no questions asked. We had paid for the dearest room and would not return even in the summer!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

I have just returned from another memorable holiday being driven through Spain by a friend in his Black Defender which gave us access to some great places both on and off the beaten track. The trip which started and ended in Santander was planned to ensure a visit to Alberdini. Why? In late May with 5 friends, we visited Alberdini for lunch and returned 2 days later. I made up my mind that I would return, to stay as soon as I could. Again, why? Its different, memorable and special.
Lets start with what it isn't - its not luxurious, looking for marble bathrooms, wall to wall deep carpets, whirlpool baths? Look elsewhere.
Back to Alberdini, take the most amazing spot at the top of a hill, imagine taking Gaudi and Dali for a drink laden meal and brief them to design and decorate a simple but comfortable Home from home. The result a different and memorable hotel with 7 bedrooms and four "bungalows" using colours and tiles to create the unusual. So what is Alberdini? Comfortable, clean but basic accommodation with unconventional style. Great food eaten inside in a dining room/bar of character or outside on a spacious terrace enjoying fantastic views as far as the sea some 15 kms. away. A heated swimming pool. Great people running a business with pride and commitment. The Owners, Ines and Roberto are relaxed but miss nothing to ensure that their guests are happy. I was there for 3 nights and wish it could have been more, will I go again, yes and will I go out of my way again just to stay there? Yes. In summary, Great value for monney, great food, views and creating memories.
PS Joanna, I hope you enjoyed your birthday.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

The best view ever, the best staff ever, good swimming pool, only for the guest, but that is the best part, no boring locals. in one word: SUPER!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

went there for lunch with 2 young children , not very welcoming , children wanted to swim but were refused whilst the owner sat there sunning herself , we walked out in disgust,
obviously this place is not set up for families

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alberdini Hotel Rural? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alberdini Hotel Rural

Address: Pago La Lomilla 85, Competa, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Competa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Competa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alberdini es un lugar diferente en todos los sentidos. Hemos combinado lo local con lo internacional y a esto hemos añadido un toque artístico con el estilo de Gaudí. El resultado es la combinación de un bar, restaurante y hotel donde seguramente te sentirás a gusto. Desde nuestras terrazas tienes vistas preciosas hacia el mar, la sierra y el campo.Situated just outside the pretty village of Competa in the Axarquia region of Malaga province, Alberdini offers something different. The owners, Inez Leniere, from Belgium and Emmanuel Lopez Ruiz, from Competa, have combined the local style with international features and added a touch of Gaudi. The terrace provides stunning views of the Sierra Almijara and Tejeda with the sea glistening below. Guests will feel instantly at home in the warm, welcoming atmosphere of this beautiful hotel and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Alberdini Hotel Rural reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alberdini Hotel Rural, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.