We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel experience in Sicily” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare Falcone e Borsellino, 1, 92100 San Leone, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30%
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in San Leone
New York City
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best hotel experience in Sicily”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed here one night and was traveling as part of a tour group. There was no air conditioning in my room, but the front desk staff went out of their way to transfer me to a room with working AC. I was lucky to be situated next to someone who did not make much noise, as there is no sound proofing between rooms. The hotel is near the water, and there is a small beach nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    100
    83
    41
    20
See reviews for
58
135
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Spacious, clean and comfortable but very clinical and not particularly welcoming room with a balcony and no outlook. Good outside bar and pool area. Staff very polite and helpful. Location good, at the end of the promanade so it was easy to walk out in the evening to find a restaurant/bar to eat. Breakfast basic but OK. Would I return? Yes. But BEWARE the lifts!!! The doors are quick and vicious!

Room Tip: Look towards the Front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I stayed here in early May as paert of a group visiting Agrigento. Sadly it didn't really work. This is a bit of a barn of a place. While the rooms are a good size there is absolutely no sound proofing so I could hear everything that was going on in the neighbouring rooms. The food was average hotel fare, so all in all pretty disappointing. A saving grace is the terrace and outdoor pool, although I never had the chance to use it.
Adjacent to the hotel is a little seaside town with a few restaurants, some fellow guests reported back favourably on one of these.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishwoman Abroad
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

The bedroom was large and clean,with a balcony and the hotel is well situated for visiting the temples.
However,the public areas of the hotel are very odd. There is a cavernous bar area with a large glass dome which is covered up with tarpaulins, giving a subterranean feel ,and there are a few sofas and chairs dotted about ,rather like a furniture shop. On the walls there is an eclectic mix of paintings ,including one of a man being handcuffed by riot police!
We had to wait ages to be served with drinks by bored staff .
The outside areas of the hotel were a bit scruffy with weedy flowerbeds and the pool area was uninviting.




The food was edible but not good. At the entrance to the hotel is a petrol station with a cafe and bar attached which served really excellent food and drinks,with attentive staff.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w.mids
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

According to our tour company, with which we stayed in this hotel for three nights, every room boasts a balcony or a terrace...and this was true, although our balcony was constantly in shade and had no furniture as you would not want to sit and admire the wall and electricity cables that it looked out on.This seems to be the luck of the draw as others paying the same price got seaviews!

The room itself seemed fine apart from some really uncomfortable, overstuffed pillows made from foam rubber pieces..thought they had gone out with the ark!

The second night, I realised what other reviewers had meant about noise from adjoining rooms; it sounded as though the people in the bathroom above us were going to join us as the noise of running water and their talking was so loud.Later in the evening, they kind of joined us when the water from their bath started dripping through our bathroom ceiling.This had obviously happened before judging by the state of the coving in the bathroom, although when we reported it to reception, it did not reoccur the next night
.
Credit for comfy beds and free wi-fi.

Food; the choice and quality of food at breakfast was very poor and the orange juice was terrible. The evening meal gave you a choice to two starters and main courses and one pudding; quality also very poor and waiters style was "harrassed" . The hotel seems very geared to coachtours like the one that we were on and maybe they need to up the unit rate they pay.

Location; San Leone has a basic harbour and beaches with facilities largely for local holidaymakers, there are no shops to make simple purchases e.g. water near to the hotel and some of the shops are shut and quite run-down.

Overall; the location near the valley of the temples and other sites we were visiting made it tolerable but was very happy to move on. Hard to see how it gets 4 stars.

Room Tip: Request a room in advance and avoid room 142 unless you like indoor water features!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The hotel is situated in a pleasant area and our room was fine, clean and bright, with a decent view. We did not have an evening meal at the hotel but breakfast was pretty awful. Generally a poor choice of food and the restaurant was completely chaotic with several coach parties and few spare seats. This is really a transit stop for tours going to Agrigento and is geared up for large numbers, although not coping too well. However, fine for one night but improve the breakfasts.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Readington, New Jersey
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed here only 1 night - after a long day's journey - sadly with not much time to explore. We arrived as the sun was setting and this hotel could not have been in a better location to appreciate the splendor! The hotel itself was very clean - the room was comfortable - and the food was very good.
Should we make our way back to Agrigento, we would definitely consider staying here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel

Address: Lungomare Falcone e Borsellino, 1, 92100 San Leone, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento > San Leone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in San Leone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels San Leone
Nh Hotel San Leone
BEST WESTERN Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel Province Of Agrigento/San Leone, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.