We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for seeing the Valley of the Temples” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare Falcone e Borsellino, 1, 92100 San Leone, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30%
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in San Leone
Walnut Creek, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location for seeing the Valley of the Temples”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel is geared to tour groups. Restaurant was good for this type of hotel. Rooms needed maintenance. Bar was very limited in both availability of drinks and hours. Pool area was nice. Parking was available. Staff was very helpful. One server went out of his way to obtain something we had requested.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    100
    83
    41
    20
See reviews for
58
135
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a good 4* hotel. The rooms are big and spacious. Everything is very clean and looking good. The staff is friendly.
The swimming pool area is very nice, with a pretty view over the sea.
When we stayed there the hotel had free WiFi.
Breakfast is reasonable (but not excellent if you are expecting an european 4* hotel breakfast).
Good value for money. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I booked this hotel because it was very close to Agrigento and just in front of the sicilian coast. Complete and rich breakfast. Very good value for money. I will definitely repeat if I will be around Sicily.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel is fine, functional and clean. Staff efficient and helpful. Pool area is nice but no access direct to the beach from the Hotel. Best rooms on top floor with balcony - request sea view too.
Breakfasts really geared up for tour groups and consisting of mainly cakes, pastries etc. Based on breakfast, we did not try the dinners there.
Only worth staying here a couple of days to see the Temples which were amazing - Agrigento city dirty and poor. The area outside the Hotel not particularly nice (not unsafe), just not appealing. We had booked to stay for 7 nights, but cut short the stay because the area was not nice, and to travel anywhere took many hours as the roads were poor and busy.

Room Tip: Best rooms on top floor - ask for balcony and front sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The room was clean, spacious, comfortable and air-conditioned, and the other facilities in the hotel were also very good, as was its location. The big problem was noise: loud music from a wedding reception in the hotel began between about 10.30pm and 11pm and this could be heard throughout, making it impossible for me to get to sleep. I phoned reception, and was told that it would stop at midnight. At 12.30am, it was still at full blast, so I got dressed and went down to complain, finding another couple already there to do the same. The receptionist was indifferent, then rude and aggressive when I became more assertive, but he did follow me back to my room in a more placatory mood with some useless suggestions about how to ameliorate the noise. When checking out, I was asked if everything was OK, and when I mentioned the music, the member of staff looked a bit sheepish, as though this was a familiar complaint. Unless you can sleep regardless of very loud music booming throughout a hotel, or don't mind staying up till the early hours, don't stay here.

Room Tip: Choose a room at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherglen
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

If rated with a check-list I'm sure this is a 4 star hotel but not if you actually stay there. The rooms are well enough appointed and clean but the walls as so thin you can hear every word said in the rooms on either side! The public areas are well appointed and comfortable but the bar seems to close when the barman feels like it, we returned to the hotel planning to have a nightcap at 10.40 only to find the bar closed and the barman sitting behind the reception desk waiting for his shift to end.
Breakfast was OK but the same food for the two weeks of our stay and every day the adventure of tracking down missing cutlery, cups, saucers. Food was only replaced / refilled when guests pointed out the shortages, it never seemed to be anyone's job to check for shortages.
Clearly there is a massive need for staff training.
One of the reasons we chose this hotel was that it was a Best Western - we've stayed in a few before and always been satisfied with them - this one's a turkey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We found this a very comfortable and convenient place to stay while visiting Agrigento. San Leone is a lively resort about 10 minutes from archaeological site. Wouldn't normally choose Best Western hotel but we, 2 adults & 2 children, all liked this one. Fabulous pool overlooking Mediterranean. We ate at the excellent Trattoria Caico on Via Nettuno. Both hotel and restaurant reasonably priced. Overall very enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel

Address: Lungomare Falcone e Borsellino, 1, 92100 San Leone, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento > San Leone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in San Leone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels San Leone
Nh Hotel San Leone
BEST WESTERN Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel Province Of Agrigento/San Leone, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.