We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go out of season” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare Falcone e Borsellino, 1, 92100 San Leone, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Offers for every need
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in San Leone
Boston, Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Don't go out of season”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were touring Sicily by car and selected this hotel based on the price and seemingly good accommodation. The driving instructions provided were very poor and anyone attempting to find it in the dark could it difficult. It is part of the Best Western chain of hotels so one would expect all round good service, the reception staff were excellent and Giovanni was particularly helpfull. Unfortunately the rest of the experience was not as pleasant, our room was very nice with a balcony overlooking the pool and the sea but the walls must be paper thin as every sound including case zippers opening and both sides of telephone conversations could be heard, it was almost as if they were amplified. All the room amenities were good, no tea making but we knew this. The breakfast was very poor, we went down quite early for breakfast and there was hardly anything left, there was half eaten pastries left lying around the buffet area and no hot food at all, only after my husband complained to the reception did we see any restaurant staff who eventually replenished the eggs and bacon. Out of season this hotel is not a good choice as it is a huge place with no atmosphere whatsoever, we found one restaurant open near the hotel which was good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    103
    93
    41
    19
See reviews for
63
139
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Normal, Illinois
Top Contributor
397 reviews 397 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Located in the suburb of Agrigento and right on the shore of the Mediterranean Sea. Nice swimming pool. Clean and spacious but without coffee in the room and rooms are not sound proof. Not too far from the Valley of the Temples built 2500 + years ago by the Greeks.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Breakfast 4 star.
Dinner 2 star. non memorable.
Room was spacious with very stiff bed and terrible stiff pillows. The bathroom had a shower/tub combo but the water alternated between warm and very cold every 30 seconds. The room was very hot on arrival 30C and the AC could not cool the room to a comfortable temp. The coolest it got was 26C. Could not get the English TV stations that were supposed to be there. The room is 3 star with 2 star sleep quality.
Free parking. Free WiFi for 10min only. Helpful and friendly staff.
Lovely pool overlooking the bay. 10min drive to the valley of the temples.
It is tough to recommend this place due to the poor shower, hot room and stiff beds and pillows. It certainly is not befitting of a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a second key so you can keep the AC working while you go for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Surrey, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel was very comfortable - situated in a prime location in San Leone, near the beach, close to restaurants and only 10 minutes by car to the Valley of the Temples. Our superior room was very clean, well equipped and spacious; fortunately situated on the top floor on the West side of the hotel, where the panoramic view from the balcony was stunning - across the pool, over the bay and up to Agrigento and the Temples. Although the walls were quite thin, it was quiet, but certainly rooms on all other sides of the building would have been much noisier. The pool area was superb. The staff on the front desk and in the restaurant were very helpful. However the public areas were rather impersonal, catering for large numbers of coach parties that use the hotel at this time of year, and the breakfast was a rather mediocre cold buffet. Also, the staff in the breakfast area seemed rather miserable.
Given its ideal location and the need for quality hotels in the area we felt that there was great potential for making this hotel even better!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked this thorough Travel Republic on a Dinner Bed and Breakfast basis. We were not familiar with Sicily and ended up booking this hotel because of its proximity to the Valley of the Temples. It also looked reasonable based on web site reviews. When we arrived there was a wedding going on in true Sicilian style and was a revelation to watch. Would have loved to take some photos but decided this might be a risky strategy.
The good bits:
The bedroom was comfortable and air conditioned. Bathroom nice. Public areas were well presented and the pool is delightful on the edge of and overlooking the bay. One day we almost had it to ourselves. Staff generally helpful and polite. Location good due to it being only a 5 minute drive from the Valley of the Temples - which was well worth visiting even in nearly 40 degree heat. The pasta dishes in the evening was absolutely delicious
Bad bits:
There was very poor communication throughout. No info in the bedroom; dinner was broadcast as being in one place when it in fact was in another; we were staying for 4 nights so we asked for wine to be kept for next day - they lost it - twice. Lift often out of order with no explanation; wrong menus in the restaurant; breakfast was pretty poor - their egg and bacon offering being slightly grilled thin ham and lumpy scrambled eggs in a cold bain marie.
The environment around the hotel is fairly scruffy with rubbish everywhere (a common issue in Sicily) and it looked very down at heel as a resort. It is actually 2 kms from Agrigento on the bay. Finally the food in the evening was unremarkable and more geared to coach tours - of which there were a lot - apart from the pasta above.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We arrived in San Leone late afternoon to visit the valley of the temples the next morning. The receptionist with a big smile charged us almost double of what booking.com offered for the same night. Because we had problems with internet connection, we paid the sum of 160 Euro per night. This is what one pays for a room in the heart of Paris at this time of the year. Two (!) weddings were held in the hotel that night with loud music and people smoking under our room.

Room Tip: Breakfast was poor. Parking OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

On our visit to Sicily, we stayed overnight in this hotel. The pool looked wonderful, though we didn't have time for swimming =)
The rooms were very clean.
But the most important for us, was that the hotel was very close to the sea, almost cost line, and surrounded by nice restaurants. On of them - Trottoria El Pescatore, for sea food product lovers =)
We have positive memories of this place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel

Address: Lungomare Falcone e Borsellino, 1, 92100 San Leone, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento > San Leone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in San Leone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels San Leone
Nh Hotel San Leone
BEST WESTERN Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel Province Of Agrigento/San Leone, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.