We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zhero Hotel - Kappl

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Zhero Hotel - Kappl to your Saves list
Zhero Hotel - Kappl
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wiese 687, Kappl 6555, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kappl
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

A group of 8 of us stayed here in Feb 2014. The hotel was amazing. The rooms were very clean and modern. The spa is superb with a lovely pool, steam room and sauna. Food was great and the staff could not do enough for us especially Andrea and Patrick in the bar. The shuttle to the ski lifts were always available and the management even took as personally in his own car when i was late for the shuttle. In the evenings the bar had a trendy relaxed feeling with a live singer called Sahra Lee who was amazing. The hotel reminded me of a more exclusive boutique W type hotel. Add to the above an amazing ski resort with some of the best ski runs in Europe you get a great ski holiday. I stay in some of the top hotels in the world and i have never known a hotel where the staff try so hard. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: I had a standard room which was perfect but the suites looked amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    16
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
21
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a full week (off season) for skiing Kappl and Ischgl and we are leaving with mixed feelings. It is neither at the slopes of Kappl (2 min by car), nor Ischgl (10 min). To compensate, the hotel runs a shuttle service at no extra charge with up to 3 shuttle buses, yet we often had to wait up to half an hour for a shuttle to turn up at either location. But, in a few occasions the manager picked us up with his own car to drive us, a pleasant extra. And sometimes they showed up in only a few minutes, so you have to be lucky. Best to calculate half an hour for any transport to be on the safe side and avoid frustrations.

The hotel has a brilliant design, all in gold and black with discrete lighting everywhere: reception, bar, spa and rooms. But, the lighting plan could be improved, as sometimes it is far too dark e.g. to read in the chair in the room or to find something back in one of the wardrobes, which misses a direct light.

The restaurant serves an extensive breakfast buffet, including freshly prepared omelettes, as well as delicious dishes for dinner (be it rather expensive, count € 80-90 p.p incl. drinks). Unfortunately, the menu choices for the main dishes are rather limited (unless you like their specialty : open grill with lots of meat options). There is no daily menu or half board possible, which makes you move to one of the many alternative options in Ischgl rather quickly. The Lucy Wang restaurant in town is ran by the same owners (see separate review)

The spa is one of the nicest in the Austrian Alps with several sauna options (bio sauna, Finnish sauna and hammam) and a pleasantly sized pool, but it can become rather crowded when the slopes close. And at times it seems the staff can't keep up...

The rooms are small, but comfortable. The additional children's bed in a "room within the room" brings additional comfort for parents and child alike. The bathroom has plenty of amenities, which are replenished daily, but ours had an unpleasant and distinct, mouldy smell for the first few days.

The hotel has free WiFi everywhere (with a code for 4 devices per room, but they give you extra access, if needed). Unfortunately, the connection is very slow (which made me switch to 3G as a faster alternative a few times).

The in-house ski rental is an advantage if you want to ski both Ischgl and Kappl. The quality of the gear is OK with friendly service, but don't expect top notch ultra new material or expert advice, as we got used to elsewhere.

Usually, some of the staff deserve credit for outstanding service, but here, it's the manager that really does it's utmost to make you feel a welcome guest !

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelZhero, Manager at Zhero Hotel - Kappl, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your constructive and honest report, especially as I am personally mentioned. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Zhero Hotel even as we are not directly at the slopes as you mentioned. Please note that the location has been strategically chosen when the hotel was built two years ago. Many of our guest do feel we are perfectly located due to the following reasons:
- only 2 minutes from the Kappl ski lifts
- just outside of Ischgl and therefore quiet. Close enough to Ischgl to enjoy the nightlife however when you want to sleep you have peace and tranquillity.
- only 6 minutes to the Ischgl ski slopes. Considering that you would have to walk 5 to 10 minutes from the lift car park to the actual cable car or lift.
Our owner is glad to hear that you appreciate the special design effects of the hotel to what he has gone into great detail to make this hotel stand out from the rest of the hotels in Ischgl. We have take notice of your and several previous comments about insufficient lighting and have identified this areas. We just completed to ad reading lights to our beds and increased the lighting in and in front of the wardrobes. Also our free WIFI connection has increased a lot as we have doubled our Internet lines, capacity and speed.
The special parent - child rooms certainly not the biggest, however it is a very popular room type as parents can have there own privacy by closing the door between the child's and parents room without having to book a suite or a higher room category.
Nice to hear that you consider our Spa as one of the nicest in Austria! Especially the open fire place gives a nice cosy touch.
As you mentioned our restaurant is recognized for our meat specialities that are prepared over a open fire grill on a live cooking station inside of the restaurant and than cut and prepared by our meat sommelier at your table. Our chef Klaus Brunmayer who comes from a 2 Michelin-Star Restaurant is especially keen to use only the fines local products (most of them grown above 2000 meters).
With regards to the credit that I received in your report. As we have not only the Zhero Hotel but also the Chalet Alpin and the popular Lucy Wang Restaurant in Ischgl, I constantly move around this places and while giving our guest a lift between this locations, it is a great opportunity to interact and get some great feedback or share some local advise, tips and information.
We certainly hope to see you and your family back at the Zhero hotel next winter or already this sumer at our Zhero Hotel and Beach Club in Palma de Mallorca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stayed with my friends over the weekend in hotel Zhero because we wanted to go skiing in Ischgl. Honestly we didn't expect that the hotel would be that high-standard for the price we actually payed. The rooms were big, well furnished and they seemed to be quite new. There is also a huge variety on the breakfast buffet from salmon, bred, muesli, fruit, eggs (on demand and for free) and a lot more.
We enjoyed the huge spa area a lot as well that already opened early in the morning.
The best although from our experience in this hotel was the great Gatsby party on Friday night in the hotel bar! The were nice and good looking people, great music, and an amazing atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

New design hotel by Matteo Thun that opened in December 2012. Regardless of whether or not you like the black and dark design, the hotel is without question one of the most stylish design hotels you'll find in Austria.

Excellent rooms with great design furniture (especially the lamps); very good beds and bathrooms. However, rooms are rather hot and you cannot open the window completely (tilted window only).
Excellent breakfast with good value for money (18 EUR/person - normally not included in room rate).

Free shuttle transfer to Kappl and Ischgl - great!

However, the whole hotel makes the impression that it just opened a couple days ago: Construction defects are everywhere (we had water on the floor of the sauna, gaps are not grouted,...). The biggest problem is the staff: It makes a rather dis-organized impression and many seem to have no experience with the hotel industry and gastronomy at all: We had two breakfast waiters that didn't knew what an Earl Grey Tee is. Some staff members don't speak German (or even English) at all. Final bills for 2 out of 3 rooms of our party were not correct with items we didn't consumed.

Don't stay here at the "Party Nigths" (we stayed here during the "Great Gatsby Party") - it's impossible to sleep because of the noise!

To sum it up: In order to fully utilize its potential, the hotel needs to shape the whole concept (is it a hotel or a disco,...?), improve continuity with the hotel staff, take care for the construction defects, and add some more light to the whole building.

Room Tip: Avoid room with connection door to another room. Doors are not sopundproof and you hear almost any w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed for 6 days this January and had a great time. Staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the shuttle drivers. Hotel is just 7 minutes drive from Ischgl, shuttle service available from 8 a.m. to 11 p.m. Breakfast was excellent, spa very clean and with nice atmosphere. Our only complaint was the lack of reading light in the room. Highly recommended for couples, not really suitable for families with small children.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

What a fabolous hotel, different from all the other Austrian hotels. You can see that the design master has put all his effort to make a great place. Not for kids, but great for a romantic weekend. We really loved our stay at Zhero. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the 1st floor, can be noisy due to the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had excelent 7 days in Zhero. Design of the hotel is fashion, modern and luxury, very friendly and helpfull staff, shuttle service makes very easy to rich Ischgl and the stakes were delicious. We will return soon.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zhero Hotel - Kappl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zhero Hotel - Kappl

Address: Wiese 687, Kappl 6555, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kappl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kappl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Zhero Hotel - Kappl 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Zhero Hotel - Kappl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zhero Hotel - Kappl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.