We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best meal I've had in a French Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostellerie Saint-Jacques

Save Saved
You added Hostellerie Saint-Jacques to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostellerie Saint-Jacques
Le Bourg, 24470 Saint-Saud-Lacoussiere, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Kent
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Probably the best meal I've had in a French Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Please see my blog post about this fabulous restaurant: http://passionatefood.typepad.com/

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    8
    2
    4
    5
See reviews for
11
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Very pleasant service with an even better food during lunch and dinner.
If in this region (100km or less) it is more than worth the trip to enjoy a serious French lunch. And then stay for the rest of the day in their garden, hotel, room to enjoy also their dinner :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

The hotel is situated in a delightful small village. It is well appointed and has a lovely terrace and pool for summer months. The welcome was warm and our room, although a little dated in decor, was very comfortable, clean and well appointed. Dinner in the restaurant was quite an experience. The setting and candle lit atmosphere were very pleasant, the menu interesting, the food delicious, and the service very attentive. The surprise was the presentation of the dishes and little extras between courses and at the end of the meal, all of which was a little over the top! That did not detract from the quality of the meal, but they were trying too hard to be clever and different. Breakfast was the same - good quality but I have never seen so many different pieces of unusual crockery and different dishes at breakfast. Nevertheless, staying here was a very pleasant experience and trying too hard to please is hardly a reason for complaint.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We really weren't sure what to expect and probably didn't have very high expectations for our stay. Our stopover here turned out to be a highlight. The food was sensational as was the service and beautiful setting. We would love to return and regretted only being there for one night. Fabulous!

Mark
Geelong, Australia

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

The place was very nice, rooms unique and comfortable, staff very professional and kind and the meals - suberb!!! We had a nice afternoon next to the pool, a wonderful 4 course dinner - which in fact and in the end was a 7 course dinner with delicious and suitable wines recommended by the house - and a very good and special breakfast with homemade all kind of things you can think about.

Six star experience for us - please visit this place, have a dinner and you'll never forget it.

Sirpa and Kari Puronaho from Finland

Room Tip: Take a room with pool and garden view, enjoy a dinner and their marvellous wines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

The hotel had nice reasonably priced rooms, a heated swimming pool and an amazing terrace overlooking the garden for meals. There are flowers everywhere, it's really beautiful especially by candlelight in the evening. The service is excellent throughout and the whole staff is very welcoming. There are different priced menus for all budgets and the lunch-time menu is great value. The chef Thierry will sometimes come out to greet you on the terrace in the evening and even share his recipes with you.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

Received 2 night Cheque Cadeau present within Relais et Chateax collection and chose to stay there - inspired decision! A bit out of our way and the pictures on the website looked a bit of a fantasy but worth it, the reality does match up. Style laid back - had to go looking for someone to check-in but our welcome by Thierry who came to reception was friendly, efficient and helpful and the room we were shown into was spacious, attractive with bathroom and toilet concealed behind doors shelved as bookcases. No lift but only 1 floor up. Bed comfortable - only downside no air-con but there was a fan in the room which we used. The grounds are well laid out to cater for children not just adults with play areas as well as table tennis, tennis court and swimming pool where we chilled out for the intervening day. Car parking within hotel grounds.

We would love to return in the autumn/winter as the public rooms looked really comfortable but we really only passed through them. Not sure what to do in the area round and about though.

A key factor in choosing the Hostellerie was that it mentioned its chef (not that we knew his name) in the guidebook which we took to be a good sign food-wise. We dined off the residents' menu - 6 entrees, 6 mains and 6 deserts (+ cheese course and coffee) so plenty of choice - and several intervening tasters, amuse-bouche whatever! And a different wine with every course. The food itself was absolutely wonderful - arguably the best meals my wife and I have ever eaten anywhere (the same Thierry is the chef). First night we were candle-lit on the terrace the second inside as a thunderstorm was looming. Both beautiful settings and the service was as good as the food, plus friendly and unfussy. Breakfast very smartly presented and baking also done on the premises. So much to eat that we missed out lunch to ensure we could do justice to dinner on the second night!

Everything about the hotel was pleasing but the food was exceptional - if you'rea foodie then go!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostellerie Saint-Jacques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Saint-Jacques

Address: Le Bourg, 24470 Saint-Saud-Lacoussiere, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Saint-Saud-Lacoussiere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Saint-Saud-Lacoussiere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostellerie Saint-Jacques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Saint-Jacques Hotel Saint-Saud-Lacoussiere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostellerie Saint-Jacques, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;