We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel - it was worth finding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Rochers Hotel

Save Saved
You added Les Rochers Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Rochers Hotel
1 Place du Castillou, 65400 Saint Savin, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Saint Savin
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very good hotel - it was worth finding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We have expectations of 2 star hotels and this hotel exceeded them. We only found it by accident - using a map, not the GPS - and stopped in the village to stretch the legs. The hotel has excellent lounge areas, plenty of reading, games and toys for children. Outside areas are sheltered, tidy and inviting. The dining room is spacious, tables are set with real linen. WiFi available but works best in the lounge. Bedroom was a good size, the bed was excellent and the bathroom and shower much better than other 2 stars we have stayed at. Monsieur John provides a simple yet delicious menu each evening for 22E. A good continental breakfast costs 7.50E. The hosts, John and Jane, are courteous, helpful and provide a very high standard of service. Why not 5 stars? We had an issue with a limp, collapsed pillow, the TV that didn't work and a small housekeeping matter that we resolved with our hosts. Minor issues really when the overall standard is taken into account.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    13
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
39
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights over a ten day period in late June 2013, coming and going between walks in the Pyrenees. Very pleasant rooms and most beautiful outlook. Able to leave gear during our absences which was a great help. Food was really excellent - fresh, varied, well cooked. John and Jane were great hosts and we felt very well looked after. Highly recommended as a base for walking and cycling in the heart of the Pyrenees. Never found the church bell to be a problem! Liz & Peter, Melbourne

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is situated in the lovely village of Saint-Savin with its interesting buildings and church and great views. The public rooms are attractive and our bedroom was clean and comfortable. You can eat in the hotel or in nearby Le Viscos.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed at hotel round corner felt out of place and uncomfortable. Stumbled across Les Rochers one night and wish we had booked there.Spent 3 nights there in the company of John and Jane the hotel owners.Fantastic people great food and drink also called in one morning for a very welcoming full english breakfast which we were finding very hard to come by.During our visits we were made to feel like we were long lost friends. Recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We already had a reservation at another hotel but enjoyed fine hospitality from John and Jane over dinner, breakfast and multiple coffees. The food was fresh and beautifully cooked and very good value. The hotel has a welcoming atmosphere with great communal facilities, which was lacking at our hotel. Saint Savin is a very pretty village. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiryat Ono
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

we spent one night in this lovely place. Great hospitality with a home feeling, home cooking for dinner and breakfast, great service. The place is very nicely renovated and beautifully furnished and decorated. The place was a very nice surprise relative to a few other places in the area that we stayed in and were quite average.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We were so glad we decided to stay in this hotel. First of all the location is ideal on the fork between two great Pyrenees gems: Le cirque de Gavarnie and the Spanish bridge. The hotel itself is small but the rooms are quite spacious. The public spaces were designed to give a feeling of home ( even featuring Monopoly Totenham edition at the drawing room). The nice couple that runs the hotel John and Jane both are helpful and accommodating. John cooks every evening a gourmet meal. We traveled with kids and as we really wanted to eat his dinner he made a special kids meal for the youngest three.
Definitely would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Les Rochers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Rochers Hotel

Address: 1 Place du Castillou, 65400 Saint Savin, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Hautes-Pyrenees > Saint Savin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Saint Savin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a jewel...Hotel Les Rochers is nestled in the beautiful Pyrenean mountain village of St Savin, surrounded by spectacular unspoiled scenery. Visit our small family-run hotel and restaurant and you’ll discover a captivating area to explore with year round activities a plenty. Enjoy delicious food and wines in our restaurant with panoramic mountain views, relax in our charming and stylish hotel and experience friendly service and an intimate atmosphere. You’ll never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Les Rochers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Rochers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.