We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent position by the Loire” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Montsoreau

Chateau de Montsoreau
Passage du Marquis de Geoffre, 49730 Montsoreau, France
02 41 67 12 60
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 attractions in Montsoreau
Type: Castles
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Deux Sevres
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent position by the Loire”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This chateau is near the confluence of the river Vienne with the Loire. Inside the story of life on the banks of the Loire is told highlighted by sound and light. The story of the real Lady of Montsoreau, made famous by Alexander Dumas, is also told. There are fantastic views from the roof terraces, both of the rivers and the limestone cliffs with their houses built into the rock. This is not a furnished chateau but the way it's history has been presented make it a worthwhile visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    33
    18
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Poole
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not what we were expecting - but great exterior views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

On a positive note our first expectation when we arrived was a fabulous looking Chateau on the Loire and we were looking forward to learning more about the history and exploring the castle ....however unfortuantely once inside we were very disappointed as the interior of the Chateau was completely bare with the main focus in the rooms showing displays and models of boats covering the History of the Loire rather than the Chateau itself.
On a positive there was one room however which gave an interesting audio and visual story of the intrigue surrounding the Countess Montsoreau which we did find very interesting and enjoyable.
Also, the roof top terrace walk was great and you had fantastic views of the Loiure and surrounding areas and great photo opportunities too.
So to summarise if you are looking for a 'traditional' Chateau with history and fantastic furniture , paintings and history in every room then this is not the Chateau for you.
However, on the other hand if you want to spend a few hours in the beautiful town of Montsoreau + visit a Chateau for the excellent roof top terrace walk and views then this will be just fine !

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gutted”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Unlike most chateaux we visited with excellent historical interior, tapestries old furniture, etc, this chateau has nothing just a view boat models, the whole place has been gutted, £8.90 to see a few cheap wooden models!!! Avoid it!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great views and cobbled streets.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

the climb to the chateau was worth it although in some ways the surrounding streets were more appealing.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“A different type of chateau”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

From the outside it is easily recognizable as a chateau and its history is as you'd expect as well (i.e. marital affairs, conflict, French Revolution). It is what they've done inside that makes the difference.
There's a saying that government run chateaux have next to no furnishing while the private ones do; so, what they've done here is come up with some ways to make it more interesting.
For instance, there's a talking heads display that has something to do with a love triangle. I say "something" because the dialogue is in French, which is fine if you understand the language.
The next room has blank dummies onto which are thrown images of clothing through the ages. We thought that was very clever and enjoyed it, as we did access to the roof, from where you can get expansive views over the Loire Valley.
The gabales (wooden river boats) display was colourful but I thought a little disappointing. I felt it would have been better it they had a full size one where they used to come in; this chateau being the only one that you could float a boat into.
The staff and facilities were excellent and overall it's worth a look.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau de Montsoreau also viewed

Breze, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 

Been to Chateau de Montsoreau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Montsoreau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chateau de Montsoreau to your Saves list