We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Bastide Saint Christophe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Le Bar-sur-Loup
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Bastide Saint Christophe
Save
You added La Bastide Saint Christophe to your Saves list
260 Avenue des Ecoles, 06220 Le Bar-sur-Loup, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Top notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My wife and I spent a week here recently in the studio at the top of the property. Absolutely perfect for a couple. The building is obviously much loved and the quality of the fittings and decor is first rate. Lots of nice little touches and extremely well equipped. Lovely views, superbly comfortable bed, fantastic pool, friendly and helpful owners, easy drive from Nice airport. I could go on and on. Le Bar sur Loup is also a lovely village with a couple of good restaurants. Grasse is nearby. We actually preferred Vence though which is a little bit further in the opposite direction. It has a beautiful old centre and is a bit more "arty" than Grasse. Quite honestly, you would be lucky to find anywhere better in this neck of the woods.

Room Tip: If its just the two of you, go for the top studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We recently stayed in the Olive grove apartment which forms part of the Bastide Saint Christophe, run by Art & Millie. When we first arrived after our long drive, we found the place easily enough using the satnav. We were welcomed by Millie and shown the accommodation. Well to say it was impressive would be an understatement. The very large 2 bedroom apartment had everything we needed, whilst we are a small family of 3 this apartment would certainly meet the needs of a large family, up to 5 or 6 easily i would say. The bedrooms are very nicely appointed and the whole place as spotless & clean. The decor is eclectic and reflects the mixed influences from the owners family and life. The Kitchen is the most well equipped we have ever seen in a holiday rental, and compared to more expensive places in both Sardinia and Corsica it wins hands down.
The pool is great with fabulous views across to the coast, the toys and games were welcomed by the kids of all the families staying. We had many many water fights.
We were left to our own devices and Art & Millie were perfect hosts, helping when we needed it but otherwise not to be seen, other than going about their regular maintenance and upkeep.
The free wifi was great as this allowed us to stay in touch and suf the web.
The area and surrounding towns are villages are lovely, very hilly and the car is a must especially to acces some of the more remote hilltop towns. Generally we found it a little expensive but this close the coast it is to be expected. It is clearly an area with money as can be seen from the mansions and swimming pools adorning every hillside.
Cannes & Nice are only a short trip away. We used the park and ride for Nice getting on the tram at the top of town, this gave a great look at areas we would not have other wise seen.
We had great weather for the entire two weeks which did bring out the flies, but the locals told us that was unusual.
All in all a great holiday and the Olive Grove apartment was the perfect place to stay. We will certainly be back, perhaps next time for a spring or winter visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narbonne, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My wife and our three children (ages 8,9 and 12) had not been to this part of France before and did not really know what to expect.
We arrived tired from the drive from the UK but the welcome was very warm and the accomodation fantastic. The apartment was airey and light with a wonderful balcony and views. The Kitchen was very well equipped wanting for nothing. The swimming pool is shared, but is excellent, again with wonderful views.
Le Bar-sur-Loup is small, but has plenty of resturants and a family friendly pizzeria. There is bakers and shop all close by and a bar at the top of the hill. There are plenty of places to visit locally and the beach, though very busy, is a 30 minute drive away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heysham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our 6th visit to this area,and once again not disappointed.This was our first stay at La Bastide,we had the top appartment,which was home from home apart from the sunshine!!!.
Everything you will need for your holiday was at hand in a tastfully furnished appartment,
Excellent pool and the pool towels a nice touch,saves on luggage weight on budget flights.
The Rivieras famous coastal towns/cities are within easy reach,as are the attractions for the older children,Aquapark in Antibes,and the villages inland very pretty with good restaurants,no one will struggle to find 1 they like.Our recommendation would be Cafe des Arcades in Valbonne,15 mins drive away but Milly and Art will be willing to help with ideae of places to dine
All in all a wonderful place to stay to explore the Cote D'Azur

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham,Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My Husband and I have just returned after having spent a relaxing week in the Top Studio.The house is in a great location overlooking wonderful scenery and just a few minutes walk from a peaceful Medieval village with a couple of shops and three good restaurants.
The Top Studio is bright, tastefully decorated and extremely well equipped.
Art and Milly were kind and thoughtful hosts and were great fun to chat to.
I would highly recommend this property to anyone who is seeking peace and quiet and yet are still only a10 minute drive from Grasse and 30 minutes from the sea.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was my wife and my third time at La Bastide with the guarantee that it will not be the last. The first two times we stayed for one week. This time we stayed two weeks which was soooo much better, the only problem, it makes it that much harder to leave. One thing that you also have to be willing to leave behind is any stress that you brought with you when you first arrived! Being nestled in the quiet charming village of Bar sur Loup makes for a very relaxing peaceful experience. After a leisurely breakfast on the balcony possibly followed by a swim down below in the privacy of the well located pool, then off to your hearts delight, be it the coast in Cannes, Antibes, Monaco, the hills of Provence, no matter where, La Bastide offers the perfect location to easily reach them all. Then after your adventure is over how relaxing it was to get back "home" as my wife started to refer to the Lower Garden Apt., as it is comfortable, spacious, with a well apportioned kitchen, and very clean. Then if you are too tired to prepare your own dinner there are two exceptional restaurants within walking distance, Ecole des Filles and The Chateau. But we can't rave about our stay without mentioning Art, Milly, Sophie, and Lucy. They really care about your stay; always available to make sure you have what you need, all with a smile that's not for show. They really are the perfect hosts, just a real nice family; they are part of the reason why we come back! Believe me, you won't regret staying at La Bastide Saint Christophe!

Room Tip: Lower Garden apt has the largest balcony offering great privacy making it ideal for cozy moments wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zlin, Czech Republic
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We spent a wonderfull week in Upper garden apartment. It is very well equipped, clean, there is a lot of space inside and outside and beautifull view of the valley from balcony and garden. There is everything for comfortable family stay including perfect privacy, enough usefull informations, entertainment and very good spirit.
A few minutes walk away are two great restaurants, but if you cook by your own, you can use well equipped kitchen and enjoy dinner on garden. We made several trips to the area - we very liked Gorges du Verdon, Grasse, Antibes, Gourdon (nice hiking around Le Bar sur Loup).
Milly - the owner gave us very good care and I'm sure to return there once more.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Bastide Saint Christophe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide Saint Christophe

Address: 260 Avenue des Ecoles, 06220 Le Bar-sur-Loup, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Le Bar-sur-Loup
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Le Bar-sur-Loup
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated between the mountains and Mediterranean coast, La Bastide Saint Christophe is a few minutes walk away from the medieval village of Le Bar sur Loup, on the Cote d'Azur in the south of France. The Bastide is set in a centuries old olive grove with uninterrupted panoramic views. We offer spacious, well equipped and high quality accommodation, which is furnished with care in a comfortable Provencale style. The fabulous 12 metre long swimming pool is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the view ! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bastide Saint Christophe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.