We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and not very welcoming” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de la Rue

Save Saved
You added Chateau de la Rue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de la Rue
Fleury | Suévres, 41500 Cour sur Loire, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Kildare
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Overpriced and not very welcoming”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

We travelled the Loire Valley from Angers to Bourges. We stayed in about eight different B&Bs in the course of the trip. All were for the most part excellent. However, Chateau de la Rue was a major disappointment for a place which looks so good on its website. On initial contact by e-mail we asked for the best offer available. We were offered a room at the 'special price' of €150 per night or accommodation in an adjoining gite at €100 a night. We booked two nights (unfortunately) in the gite which proved to be an attic type room which was sparsely furnished and had no wardrobe to hang up clothes. The toilet facilities were down some cold stairs - not very pleasant at any time but particularly in the middle of the night! We made our views known, very politely, to the owner and were subjected to what could best be described as an incoherent 'rant' about her personal woes and made us feel that we were, to say the least, being troublesome. The Chateau itself and the grounds are the worse for wear and in need of maintenance.
We were glad to see the back of Chateau de la Rue!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    3
    7
    1
See reviews for
9
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Beautiful country estate in an excellent location. Great for visiting the chateaux de la Loire. Charming rooms and delicious breakfasts. Not cheap but you're paying for the charm. The owner is a Baronesse and acts like one too so it's good to know that upfront.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

we went to this chadeux with nerves. but it ended pretty well in our france trip. highly recommed to people who want to explore this loire vally. the room is amazing, the owner is incrediablely friendly and nice, and the country life over life will make you wanna stay longer . .. the price is reasonable,,,:P

  • Liked — anything
  • Disliked — no internet srvices
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2007

We booked this chateau last-minute in August, after having contacted many other chateaus that were all full. Based on the nice conversation with the owner rather than the website we decided to go to this chateau. The experience has been wonderful. We stayed two nights in the room called "Mme de Segur" (the smallest room of the chateau) and two nights in the "Cassandra", the most luxurieus room of the chateau.
Both rooms were very nicely decorated, tasteful and it the atmosphere of the chateau. The Segur is small but cosy. Small negative point is the shower which is in the bathtub and does not have a shower curtain, which makes you wet the whole bathroom. The Cassandra is royal and beautiful, has both a bathtub and a shower (private toilet in the hall next to the room) and beautiful views.
The breakfast included in the room price was served in the dining room at a time of choice and was generally nice. The first morning we did not get eggs and yoghurt, but after we got this the second morning we realised that we could ask for this (standard bread with homemade jam was provided).
The owner is very nice and attentive and made it a habbit to pass by all guests during breakfast to see if they needed any advise on what to do during the day. She would advise which chateaus to visit, which winecellars and would indicate a scenic route to take, as well as nice restaurants to go to.
It is also possible to have dinner at the chateau, which should be requested 24 hours in advance. We had a lovely dinner with starter, salad, main, desert and cheese, an apperative and wine for a very decent price. As I don't eat meat, it was no problem to have a meatless dinner (in principle the dinner is fixed).
The garden around the chateau is nice and there are plenty of seats to sit outside in front of the chateau. There's also a swimming pool but thanks to the disappointing weather we did not make use of it.
The chateau is nicely located not too far from the Blois and the Chambord Chateau. Amboise is about an hour drive.
All in all we had a lovely stay at this very styleful chateau, and we would certainly recommend it!

  • Liked — The beautifully decorated chateau/rooms and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — The shower in Mme de Segur
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau de la Rue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Rue

Address: Fleury | Suévres, 41500 Cour sur Loire, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Cour sur Loire
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cour sur Loire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take time out in a beautiful 18th century country retreat, nestled between the Chateaux of Blois and Chambord in the heart of the Loire Valley. Relax in the peaceful surroundings of our parkland and enjoy the gourmet preserves made from the fruits of our protected orchards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Chateau de la Rue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Rue Hotel Cour Sur Loire
Chateau De La Rue Cour Sur Loire, France - Loire Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de la Rue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.