We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of le Chabrot

le Chabrot
8 rue Gambetta, Riberac, France
0553912859
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 21 Restaurants in Riberac
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: an excellent restaurant , i think it has only been open a few weeks
Bouteilles-Saint-Sebastien, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The food and the service were excellent. The place was nicely decorated and had a buzzing character.

The soup was really nice and was a novelty that we enjoyed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    19
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great restaurant for lunch or dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We have visited Le Chabrot twice this year and have enjoyed our meal on both occasions. The menus offered include a 22€ menu, a 36€ menu or a la carte. We have chosen the 22€ menu on both occasions and have not been disappointed. The signature dish, soupe de canard Chabrot comes with a small glass of red wine following an age old tradition which they will explain to you. They offer an 'amuse bouche' before the entree. The food is good and nicely presented and some of their desserts are delicious.

Service is good and the waiting staff are very friendly. Reasonably priced wine list and pleasant ambiance. A good find!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great value for weekday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Excellent three course lunchtime menu for 12.50 euros with a bit more attention to detail than usual at this sort of price. Knuckle of ham was mouth-watering and strawberry dessert was delicious. Nice house wine for a reasonable price too. The small restaurant has a warm and friendly ambience, a real gem in a rather unexciting town.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Thank you for accommodating so many!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

What a fantastic place! Accommodating a very hungry group of 20 people and offering us some wonderful food and service. My ribeye was top draw and friends who opted for the duck said that this was delicious too. Thank you. We'll be back the next time we come to Riberac for some wine tasting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Down Memory Lane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We discovered this restaurant on a trip back to Riberac after 30 years, we were looking for the Hotel Du Commerce where we had had a memorable meal which included a large tureen of soup, we wondered if this was the forerunner of the Soupe de Canard Chabort now served in this delightfull restaurant which is housed in the building where the Hotel du Commerce used to be. We had lunch there on 3rd May, it was the set lunch and was delicious and very good value for money. We received a warm welcom and did our best to speak stunted French to the very helpfull young lady who served us. If you are in Riberac this is a must and deserves its No.1 position

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed le Chabrot also viewed

 
Riberac, Dordogne
Riberac, Dordogne
 

Been to le Chabrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage le Chabrot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.