We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new ownership” 5 of 5 stars
Review of le Chabrot

le Chabrot
8 rue Gambetta, Riberac, France
0553912859
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 18 restaurants in Riberac
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: an excellent restaurant , i think it has only been open a few weeks
surrey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“new ownership”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

the meal was excellent, unhurried and cost 78.50€ inc aperitifs and wine. Limited - hence sensible - though more than adequate menu, well prepared and served by the new, young owners. Vaut le detour

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    31
    9
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming, friendly and great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

We spent a lovely evening as a large family group including four small children. The food was delicious. We were so well looked after made to feel very welcome. I would recommend it wholeheartedly. As it us a small restaurant i would suggest making a reservation. It was a lovely way to spend our last evening in Riberac.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Super little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I returned to Riberac last week for the first time in 12 years. There were never any decent restaurants, apart from the Hotel de France, which has now closed down. I was delighted, therefore, to find Le Chabrot. It has only just opened and is being run by a young couple; he cooks, she does everything else. I had the lunch prix fixe menu, at 12 euros. The starter was an astonishing Capuccino de carottes. It was sublime and I simply cannot work out how it was made. This was followed by wok fried beef with vegetables; beautiful beef but perhaps a little lacking in spices. Pudding was a raspberry smoothie. All in all, a perfect lunch for a hot day. There are a few tables outside. The service is charming. There are children's options available. I would very happily go back there.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic French evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was one of the best dining experiences I have had in France. As party of 7, we arrived at 19.00 to a friendly welcome and beautifully prepared table. When the restaurant was closed it didn't seem very appealing but now it was very attractive. We decided on the 'discovery menu' for 21 euros - what a good decision that was! I judge food on flavour and not quantity and this restaurant certainly delivers on flavour; the quantity wasn't bad either. In addition the service was exceptional with a delightful waitress. Give this restaurant try - you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Most under rated restaurant in Pergord! Why? You may ask? The food is cooked by the owner!!! Now you understand?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Le Chabrot is a chef owned family restaurant owned by a young couple who have poured their hearts into their product! We has the plat de jour... Which was reasonably priced, exquisitely prepared duck breast with vegetables an entree of gaspacho and a brilliant parfait of walnut for desert.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed le Chabrot also viewed

Riberac, Dordogne
Riberac, Dordogne
 
Riberac, Dordogne
 

Been to le Chabrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage le Chabrot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.