We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely surprise at the end of the day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Lac

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge du Lac to your Saves list
Auberge du Lac
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Le Ternay - Savas, 07100 Saint-Marcel-les-Annonay, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A lovely surprise at the end of the day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Beautiful room, lovely terrace across the road for the evening meal (if you wish - you can dine inside the hotel), stunning terrace for breakfast with views across the lake. Yes, the road is close to the hotel but the level of traffic on the road is fairly light - or was this Wednesday. Maybe I did not hear it so much as I was around the back of the hotel but I am a light sleeper so I am surprised (if it is as bad as others have said), that it did not wake me! Our evening meal was very good and the maitre d' was more than happy to translate some of the dishes we were not familiar with. The wine was perfectly acceptable and breakfast was lovely with more than enough choice of breads, pastries, yogurt, fruit and beverages. Yes, it was slightly more expensive than other hotels in the area but in my opinion, it was well worth it. Didn't get the chance to use the infinity pool - next time maybe!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    23
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
19
37
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tortola
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Very nice hotel right on the small lake that takes about one hour to walk around. Lovely setting and nice, well-decortated and equipped rooms. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was great with mulit-jets and italian shower-head. The views from the pool and the upper terrace were beautiful - a bit too cool to enjoy as we were there in October but can imagine how nice they would be in summer. The restaurant is closed Sundays, the night we were there, but we had breakfast (12 E per person) and it was very good - very nice breads and pastries, fruit salad, orange juice, yogurt... Great value for the rate and friendly, helpful staff. It was a nice surprise for us as we hadn't planned a route or accommodation. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont-ferrand, France
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

I have been really disapointed by the place.
It is quoted as 4 stars or 3 stars sometimes it is a 3 stars.
People are not real nice, rooms are really average (old furniture, poor bed).
Swimming pool is very nice
Restaurant is average but expensive
penny wise ! would not replace your shampoo !!!!
room is over 130€...
So if you do not plan to use the nice (but small, do not plan swimming) swimming pool with a very nice but just over the road (you hear cars passing by frequently) do not go !
The only interesting thing with the place is the location, next to the lake, good for jogging

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uzes, France
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

We booked this hotel for a night away. We live about 2 hours to the south of here. We are professionals in the hotel business and understand completely what is required of a good hotel

Many of the comments are absolutely true and there are very good points ( more later). However there are 2 serious issues which you must consider before booking. First and most important. The hotel brochure and web are misleading. The hotel is absolutely NOT on the edge of the pretty lake! It is right on a busy and noisy road which is between the hotel and the lake. There is no more than a couple of metres between bedroom windows and the trucks and cars which use this road. OK it is not constant but about 2 a minute in the day reducing to a few an hour at about 2300 and revving up at about 0400. Rooms are double glazed and there are shutters but rooms are mostly on the first floor and face the road ( and then the lake) and the noise is very noticeable and enough to disturb your sleep. Now we were there in May, there is "underfloor cooling/heating" but no A/C and I wonder if the rooms will be hot and stuffy in summer. You could absolutely not sleep in the room with open windows. I am surprised the other commentators did not mention this road , it is very significant.

Second point is that the food is not great, in fact on our stay it was poor. The Menu in early May should be full of the wonderful spring time produce such as asparagus and strawberries . Instead we had a tired menu d 'hiver ( winter) which was full of things like game, chestnuts, mushrooms. Hearty dishes fit for a winters day but inappropriate in warm May. The food was pretentious and not good, Lots of twiddly things on the plate, lots of garnish and foam etc but the basic ingredients lacked flavour and were not well cooked. and were often under generous to the point of being tiny. We complained about monkfish which was undercooked t and nearly raw and watched the waitress take the dish to the scruffy manageress,/ maitre'd who waved it away with a shrug and said nothing nor did anything. That is unacceptable. She also hassled us abouti breakfast when taking our dinner order Where would you like it ? what time 7.8,9 AM She got very stroppy when we said we would like to relax and , as in most hotels, come down when we felt like it but objected to being pinned down before we have even had dinner! When we eventually saw the breakfast which was a basket of toast and croissants, a glass of packet orange juice and a small bowl of tinned fruit we declined it and saved an expensive 12 euros each for which we might normally have expected a reasonable and varied buffet. Wine list was overpriced with just 2 of each colour below 30 euros and most well into the 50 euro mark We had a Chablis for 35 eur which retails in Carrefour for 8. That is Michelin star level mark up for what was a mediocre wine and it was not cold!

OK Thats the bad news. Good news, rooms right up to standard, clean and comfortable. Roof terrace and pool spectacular.

We wont be back because of the road. Beware!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aubdulac, Directeur général at Auberge du Lac, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Google Translation
Madame, Monsieur,

Nous tenons compte des avis donnés par nos clients, mais il faut noter une grande différence entre les clients vraiment contents, ceux vraiment mécontents (souvent pour les mêmes choses) et ceux vraiment "perpétuellement insatisfaits".....
C'est d'autant plus incompréhensible quand ces clients sont eux mêmes gérants de chambres d'hôtes.
Les différences à ce jour entre un hôtel et une chambre d'hôtes se sont les frais de personnel, les charges et taxes diverses afférentes à l'hôtellerie et pas aux maisons d'hôtes qui pourtant pratiquent des prix souvent prohibitifs...
Alors que penser de quelqu'un qui dénigre pour le plaisir de dénigrer !!!
Cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

The auberge is overlooking the lake and we had a wonderful view from our room (we booked a room with a terrace overlooking the lake and worth the extra!). Local people use the path around the lake for walking, cycling and jogging - takes about one hour to stroll around the lake and worth doing - early in the morning or evening for great views and tranquility.
Room comfortable and the restaurant had a very good menu. The highlight being the new infinity swimming pool and sun deck - the ideal place to relax at the end of the day, overlooking the hills and lake.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

This wonderful Hotel is on the banks of a lake with stunning views to the mountains over the lake., each room is decorated in the theme of flowers and are large, airy and spotlessly clean. It has a large rooftop terrace and in July there will be a pool which looks out over the lake. The dining room is large and airy and the food is creative and excellent. The staff are welcoming and polite. There is a secure parking area. The area is peaceful and the only sounds are of the birds and wildlife, a fabulous find. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

We had a fabulous night at Auberge du Lac. This was our second visit, as a stopover en route to the South of France. The hotel is right next to the lake and the hotel have bikes that you can rent for free to explore the lake and the surrounding area. We enjoyed a delicious meal on the terrace next to the lake. The staff were warm and welcolming. The rooms were spacious and clean.

We loved this hotel and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Lac

Address: Le Ternay - Savas, 07100 Saint-Marcel-les-Annonay, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Ardeche > Saint-Marcel-les-Annonay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Marcel-les-Annonay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Auberge du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Lac Hotel Saint-Marcel-Les-Annonay
Auberge Du Lac France/Saint-Marcel-Les-Annonay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge du Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.