We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and super food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostellerie du Chateau

Hostellerie du Chateau
La Pomarede, France
+33 4 68 60 49 69
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Hostellerie du Chateau is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $37 - $294
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Aude
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and super food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was our second visit after a gap of two years and once again we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. which was part of a gastronomy promotion with one meal being free! Excellent quality and value for money.

Decoration is rather sombre, which affects the overall ambiance. This is counter-balanced by the friendliness and efficiency of the staff.

Would recommend and will visit again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    16
    10
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leominster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We visited this restaurant today for Sunday lunch. This was our first time of visiting and it certainly didn't disappoint! The food is amazing with lovely touches throughout, service impeccable and setting superb. Exactly as you would expect from a MIchelin starred restaurant, beautiful presentation of food and super flavours. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting an outstanding, relaxed meal, just make sure that you are hungry!
We could not understand previous comments regarding "over-attentive" service, the service is that of a Michelin starred restaurant, unobtrusive and impressive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Cheese & Ham Toastie - Amouse bouche Michelin star style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is one of the best restaurants that we know in the region. It has delicious food, great wines and a wonderful ambience - a combination that is rare to find in this part of France. The service is impeccible and with recent additions of perfect English speaking stuff, it is even more of a must to visit if you are in the region. Butter offered as if it is a selection of cheese, treats accompanying coffee include nougat and marshmallows etc. And of course the setting is incredible.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mountain, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

What a tasty memories ! Everything is high class level in this restaurant, except the check at the end. We've chosen the "tapas menu" at 99 and 139 wines included. We've spent a wonderfull moment overthere. The staff is very helpfull and nice. We staid almost 2 hour and a half and we did'nt even noticed it.
We would like to go back as soon as possible.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outskirts of Toulouse
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Delicious menu tout compris €39”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My friend and I enjoyed a very pleasant lunch at La Pomarede last week. The food was a very high standard, but there is no choice on the market menu, it does offer a good rapport qualite prix when you consider there is an apero, and two glasses of wine included as well as coffee. I wasn't a huge fan of the main course of rouget with red wine, but the other dishes were very good, particularly the seafood starter.The service was impeccable but is very, very formal and that is why I don't eat at the restaurant as often as I would like as I do not feel relaxed there. The room could use a few rugs or something to deaden the sound of the staff walking past constantly, wheeling the cheese and bonbon trollies past. Also putting on gloves to fold our napkins that had been placed on our chairs when we left the table seemed a little OTT. I have eaten in restaurants with more etoiles and found the service less stuffy, but I suppose it adds to the drama and theatre of dining. I really do like this restaurant but I would like it more if the ambiance was more relaxed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hostellerie du Chateau also viewed

 

Been to Hostellerie du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostellerie du Chateau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.