We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An overpriced disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Agustin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Agustin to your Saves list
Hotel San Agustin
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   San Agustin, 18, 38430 Icod de los Vinos, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
South Petherton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“An overpriced disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had 4 nights here in October 2013 and were very disappointed. Icod itself had little to offer and it was difficult to find a restaurant open on 2 nights. The hotel was very difficult to find since only the San Agustin name is used on signs, and we eventually needed a motorcycle police escort to get there! Parking in the public car park down a steep street is just too far away and difficult even though the hotel arranges it free for guests. The main street makes loading and unloading the luggage a very rushed operation. The staff in reception and cafe were very friendly and helpful, though it took 2 days to replace a light bulb in an already dark bathroom. We were given a choice of room overlooking the courtyard or street and chose the latter because the other was very small and dark with only a very small window. The room 2 was also a bit dark but a decent size with a large comfortable bed and although it overlooked the street the noise was actually not a great problem, just the odd bit from about 7.00am. The WiFi was good and we appreciated the daily bottle of water and chocolate bars. But the room had no safe, fridge, wardrobe or cupboard. The shower was too low for either of us (both under 6 feet) to stand under, the head would not hold its angle and fell off when touched; there were no hooks or shelves in the bathroom. Towels were changed every day with no choice of using twice. Breakfast was adequate but there was no choice in cereal, yoghurt, bread, ham, cheese, jam, fruit and fruit juice. This was easily the most expensive hotel of the 4 we used in tenerife and was the least enjoyable by a long way.

Room Tip: Get a larger room over the street and risk noise or a small, very dark but quieter room overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_San_Agustin, Gerente at Hotel San Agustin, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you very much for your helpful review. Please find below the answers to the matters that have made your stay not as enjoyable as it should have been:

- the city: Icod de los Vinos is a truly Canarian town, being the main commercial centre of the northwest of Tenerife. Although there are not many restaurants downtown, there are plenty in the upper parts of Icod, where typical Canarian food can be enjoyed in a local setting. In addition, at Icod's beach (5 min by car) there are plenty of restaurants. We are sorry you did not find any open restaurants during your stay. On the other side, Icod is a mid sized town (ca. 25,000 inhabitants), and has a beautiful historical centre, one of the longest volcano caves in the world, plenty of hiking trails, and is a good base to explore the island due to its ideal location;

- signs to the hotel: in the main streets of Icod there are signs which help our guests find the hotel, which is located in the main commercial street of the city. In addition, there is a loading/unloading parking place located in front of the main entrance of the hotel, for exclusive use of our guests. Again, I apologise if you could not make use of it;

- parking: the parking offered by the hotel is secured and free of charge for our guests. There is a pedestrian walkway to reach it, which just takes around 2 minutes from the hotel and is not very steep. Of course, guests are free to park on the street if any parking spaces are available and are not obligued to use the free parking;

- light in the rooms: the building where the hotel is located was built in 1736 and is protected as part of the historical heritage of the island. Therefore, at the time of its restoration, the size and number of the windows had to be respected, which justifies that the rooms may not have the same level of daylight which could be found in a new building;

- room installations: there is a safe free of charge to be used by our guests at the front desk, and an open wardrobe to hang the clothes in every room. In relation with the height of the shower head, I am sorry that it was not high enough for you. We will have a look at it in order to improve this point; and

- breakfast: guests can choose from a wide variety of high quality products, and, of course, with no restrictions on the amount of the products served at breakfast. For example, guests can enjoy fresh bread and croissants, freshly squeezed orange juice, freshly made milk shakes, fruit, a wide assortment of yoghourts and cereals, tomatoes with olive oil and bread, etc. I am sorry to hear that you considered that there was not a wide choice.

Once again, thank you for your comments, and it was an honour to have you as our guest.

Kind regards from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    5
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terceira, Portugal
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We read a lot of positive comments about this property, therefore we decided to stay here for 1 night. Well, there was nothing that we really liked here, and in our opinion former guests just overrated this little hotel.
The hotel itself looks lovely with its small, quiet garden and café in the middle of Icod's very noisy main street. Reception staff was friendly. There is no elevator to bring your luggage to the first floor. There is no nearby parking and you can not even park your car in front of the hotel for 5 minutes. They offer you a free garage, but it is far from very close by...
The room (number 1) was ok, comfy bed, but tiny window and therefore the room was dark. No minibar as far as I saw... The bathroom was okay. The weakest point is the location. Yes, it is in the heart of Icod. But nobody can imagine how loud this main street is! It was impossible for us to fall asleep. People are walking around downstairs until 4 in the night and makea lot of noise, many of them are in groups of 4, 6 or 8 people, they are shouting, laughing or just walking home drunk.
We were very upset to have chosen to stay here. The rate was 15€ higher than what we paid at Grand Hotel Mencey in Santa Cruz de Tenerife. That one is a REAL Grand Hotel at a fair price. Hotel San Agustin is much too expensive for what it is and offers, and the noise all night long was a nightmare to both of us. We slept in 15 different hotels during this trip (visiting all 7 Canary Islands). This one was the one we liked least. The website promises a romantic, sweet and quiet rural accomodation. In reality it is romantic, it is sweet, but it is noisy like hell. And Icod as a place is much less beautiful than all the books and booklets let you expect. You can visit the sights within 2 hours and then turn back to a place which is quiet and lets you sleep...

Room Tip: For sure not number 1 if you like quiet accomodation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_San_Agustin, General Manager at Hotel San Agustin, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We always appreciate any feedback from our customers to improve their and future guests' experience.

We are extremely sorry you did not have a good night's sleep at our hotel. As you mention, the hotel is located right downtown Icod, on the main commercial street of the town. During the week when you stayed at the hotel there were the main annual celebrations of Icod taking place, which explains the voices or groups of people walking on the street at night. These last for a week, in which concerts and fairs are organised. The rest of the year, the street is very quiet from the moment the shops close. Obviously, we would have been pleased to offer you a room facing the inner Canarian courtyard upon your request. These rooms are very tranquil and peaceful.

In relation with the parking, we offer it free of charge to our guests at a nearby secured parking facility. The building where the hotel is located was built in 1736, and, therefore, lacks of a parking. However, there are often parking spaces available on the streets surrounding the hotel, which are closer than the free parking offered to our guests.

Finally, Icod is a truly Canarian town, being the commercial centre of the Northwest part of the island. As such, if offers our customers the possibility to experience real Canarian life away from the main tourist resorts. Apart from the old historical centre, the Dragon Tree, and the San Marcos beach, there are many other sights nearby, such as one of the World's longest volcano tubes ("Cueva del Viento"), the forests beneath the mount Teide, or the villages of Garachico, Los Silos and Buenavista.

Once again, thank you for your helpful review, which will allow us to improve the experience of future guests.

Kind regards,

The Management + Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amiens, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Cathy & i stayed for 3 nights from the 17th to the 20th of march 2013, our stay was just wonderefull. The whole place has been restored with love & tradition, the rooms are beautifully furnished and very comfortable, the bathroom also, the breakfast was fantastic ( wow for the orange juice ) and served in the interior courtyard amongst the trees, flowers, fountain & koi carp, even the sunshine reaches this lovely area. The wifi works very well everywhere. The rooms over looking the courtyard are quieter than the two on the street side. There is one room on the 2nd floor with a roof top terrace, perfect for getting a tan ! The staff were always smiling & helpfull. There is no lift but stairs only. The hotel is right in town, on a vibrant little shopping street ( one way & no parking ) If you drive there you can park for free at a nearby car park, the staff will advise you when booking. Make sure you tell the car park guy that you are staying at the hotel otherwise you get charged !
On the 1st floor above the small reception & in between the two front bedrooms is a lovely lounge area for a drink, or a wifi session and free little chocolate bars !
We loved the place and hope to go back there on our next visit
Peter & Cathy Frost, Amiens, France

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_San_Agustin, Gerente at Hotel San Agustin, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Mrs. and Mr. Frost,

Thank you so much for your positive review. All of us at the Hotel are thrilled to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is our biggest and major reward!!

We are looking forwards to seeing you again at our Hotel, and please let us know any wishes you may have for your next visit!

With kindest regards from all of us at the Hotel San Agustín.

The Management + Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel San Agustin for the first week of February 2013. The rooms are full of character, with old wooden floors and ceilings, and a nice bathroom, with powerful, hot shower. The beds are comfortable, and there is free Wi-Fi in the rooms. The courtyard where you have breakfast is a lovely, peaceful space, with ferns, large earthenware pots and a small fountain, surrounded by a beatiful wooden balcony. Our room faced onto the road, and it can get a little noisy at night (with cars running over the cobbles); so if you are not a deep sleeper I would recommend that you ask for one of the rooms overlooking the courthard, which are much quieter (if a little smaller). There is a communal 'reading room' where guests can meet to chat; a steady supply of chocolates and coffee flavoured sweets are left out for you; which is a nice touch. The staff were polite and pleasant. Icod itself is an authentic Canarian town, with cobbled streets, and houses with huge wooden doors; apart from daytrippers who mainly come to see the Dragon tree the place is not really geared up for tourists, particularly in terms of evening entertainment, although there is still a reasonable selection of cafes and restaurants, and it is nice to see 'normal' Canarian people going about their everyday business. Surprisingly few people speak English in Icod. The town is very quiet on the weekend, particularly Sunday. We hired a car for the week, and free, secure parking is provided at the Car Park el Drago, which is an underground car park a 3 minute walk from the hotel - when arriving at the car park you need to collect a ticket for the barrier to lift and let you in, you then take this ticket to the hotel, and they stamp it; you take the stamped ticket back to the car park and they ask you to fill in a form, then they give you another ticket which you can use free of charge for the remainder of your stay, which saved us a lot of money and was really convenient. We struggled to find the hotel and car park at first, so my advice would be to be better prepared than we were, and get clear directions (and perhaps a map) from the owners before you arrive, if you are driving there. The local beach, at Playa San Marcos, is a pleasant enough little cove (even though some of the buildings look a little ugly); you can walk there from the hotel in maybe 20 minutes via a road which is supposed to be closed off to traffic and pedestrians due to a danger of falling rocks, but along which people still walk (climbing a couple of easily-negotiated barriers); or you can drive there in around 5 minutes; there is also a regular bus service from Icod. There is a nice selection of restaurants here, and it's nice to sit by the beach and listen to the waves lap against the shore. In summary, Icod is a nice, relaxing place to stay and the hotel is lovely; but it's advisable to hire a car (which you can easily don from the airport) if you are staying there for more than a couple of days, as there is so much more to see and do within an hour's drive of Icod (Los Gigantes; Tiede; Puerto de la Cruz, Punta del Teno (on the NW tip of the island) to name a few).

Room Tip: The beds are comfortable, but if you are a light sleeper, ask for a room overlooking the quiet court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_San_Agustin, Manager at Hotel San Agustin, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your detailed review of our Hotel and the city of Icod. It is always a pleasure to hear that guests have had a good time at our Hotel and have enjoyed their stay, which is always our main goal.

Icod is in fact a very Canarian town (really different from the tourist resorts in the southern part of the island), and we, as "icodenses" (locals of Icod) have always seen the town like a small "gem". We are all happy to see that you have liked it.

All of the Staff at the Hotel (Zulay, Judith and all the others) hope to be able to greet you someday again.

With our warmest regards,

The Management + Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Icod is not a town crowded with tourist, it is small and fairly quiet, and it has Hotel San Agustin.

This is a Bed & Breakfast, not a hotel, which I prefer. There are only eight rooms, so it's not too crowded with people, and you have ample space. The rooms are delicate and spacy, the breakfast area is superb, the staff are helpful (and beautiful). You absolutely get your money worth staying here, and I would go there again.

There are some flaws, but they still deserve 5/5.
-Our hot water tank could have been bigger
-There were public loud speakers in the street playing music during the day (annoying)
-The duvets were not made for people taller than 1,60.
-They could offer some vegetables (cooked or not) and salt/pepper for breakfast

Room Tip: Rooms toward the street will have more noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_San_Agustin, Manager at Hotel San Agustin, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in our establishment and that you were satisfied with our rooms, service and staff. We will pass along your praise to the entire hotel staff. That you had a good experience with us is our greatest satisfaction and what we work for every day.

We really appreciate your comments on the flaws you have experienced. This will help us to improve and provide our guests with the best possible experience. Following your review, we have (a) adjusted the temperatures and size of the water tanks; (b) included in our breakfasts the option to order some vegetables; and (c) discussed with the City Council the switching off of the speakers on the street (we have been informed that the music will be turned off in the following days as per our request).

We would be delighted to be able to welcome you again in our Hotel.

With warmest regards,

The Management + Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valladolid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We travelled to Tenerife having booked only a hotel for the first two nights, and we were glad we did not book it for the whole duration of our stay at Tenerife, because if we had, we would have not found the jewel of the San Agustin hotel! We were on our way from Puerto de la Cruz to Playa de la Arena (on the Western side of the island), when we decided to stop by at Icod. When we "discovered" the San Agustin hotel, we just had to stay there! So...we cancelled our trip over to Playa de la Arena and stayed at San Agustin. What a great decision! The hotel is in the "casco histórico" of the city, at walking distance from the sights and the cafés. The rooms are awesome...and so comfortable. We could watch satellite channels (my boyfriend was so happy he could practice some of his English) and I could read the newspaper on the iPad (there is free wifi in the rooms). Breakfast was excellent, and the hotel has a great atmosphere with all the old beams and the nice decor. Too bad we had to continue our trip! It was a perfect stop-over to get in touch with real Tenerife.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_San_Agustin, Manager at Hotel San Agustin, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your nice review. It is a real compliment to hear that you have spent such a great time at our small hotel and that you even changed your travel plans to be able to spent some time with us.

We hope to see you again at the Hotel San Agustín.

The Management + Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just stayed here for two nights (combining it with a two night stay at the Iberostar Mencey, in Santa Cruz) to experience the feeling to be in the middle of a quaint city (Icod) away from the "typical" tourist areas. The hotel has just opened (in August 2012, as we read on the web), and we were a bit reluctant to stay as there were no reviews on Tripadvisor (and this is my best source to plan my trips!). However, we gave it a try, and it is a good thing we stayed there!

This hotel is a sharp contrast with the Mencey, as it has just 8 rooms (the Mencey has over 200) and the building where the hotel is was built in 1736 (as we were informed by the staff). We felt just like at home from the very first moment we arrived, and here are my views:

(a) common areas: the common areas are really well kept. There is lots of wood all over, and you get the feeling to be in a typical Canarian mansion in the middle of the historic centre of Icod, next to all the stores and bars. There is cafeteria in the inner patio, where we had breakfast, and which is open also to non-guests. The water falling in the patio's fountain was a great backdrop when we were having breakfast. In addition, there is a common living room were we read overlooking the pedestrian street where the hotel is located, with comfy coaches;

(b) rooms: our room faced the street. It was pretty big, with high wooden ceilings and old wooden floors. The bathroom was modern, with cool "aloe vera" amenities. The beds were HUGE and so comfortable that we did not want to get out of bed! In addition, there is even a "pillow menu"!!! We did not see this at the Iberostar Mencey, so we were greatly surprised about this;

(c) breakfast: it is served in the inner patio, where the cafeteria is. There is wide choice of things (from freshly baked breads, to tomatoes to spread over the toast with virgin olive oil, coffees, teas...). Perfect for a great start in the day;

(d) staff: extremely friendly and professional. Can't remember the name of one of them (a blond young lady) who was extremely helpful providing tips!; and

(e) location: the hotel is in the historic city centre. We jumped over to the beach, which was a five minute car ride, and spend some time in the sand relaxing after a day travelling around the island.

Conclusion: I would definately repeat at the San Agustin Hotel if I return to Tenerife. When we left it was as if we were leaving our "home" on the island. We stayed at two very different hotels on the island (the Iberostar Mencey in Santa Cruz and the San Agustin), and both were PERFECT!! I usually don't give the maximum classification, but this hotel (as well as the Iberostar Mencey) deserves it! Can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Each room is different in its design...ours was great overlooking the pedestrian street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_San_Agustin, Manager at Hotel San Agustin, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having taken some time to write a raving review about our Hotel. We are thrilled you liked your stay. It is a big compliment for us to see that our guests want to come back and have felt just like at home.

All of us at Hotel San Agustín hope to welcome you again.

Best regards,

The Management + Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Agustin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Agustin

Address: San Agustin, 18, 38430 Icod de los Vinos, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Icod de los Vinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Icod de los Vinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Agustin 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Emblemático San Agustín has only eight rooms, all of them individually decorated, but with a clear common factor: prioritize the guests’ rest for them to relax. For this purpose, highest quality elements have been used, with fine cotton linens and a varied pillow menu for the guests to be able to personalize their experience at the Hotel. The Hotel has been restored respecting the traditional island architecture, being six of the rooms configured around a patio with clear Canarian style elements. The remaining two rooms have windows facing the main building’s façade, overlooking one of the main commercial streets of the town. In the Hotel’s patio is a pleasant cafeteria in which the breakfasts are served and, during the rest of the day, it is possible to have a light snack or enjoy a natural shake or a fruit juice. All the guests are welcomed with a drink. Everything is focused for the guests to feel just like at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Escapio and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel San Agustin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Agustin Icod De Los Vinos, Tenerife, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Agustin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.